Facebook

Pamela C. (pj-s-bookcorner) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 579 - Page:
11th Hour Rose (Volume 3)
11th Hour Rose (Volume 3)
Author: Melissa Lynne Blue
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/9/2020


Historical (fiction) romance & mystery. Lilly is considered a spinster at 30 in late 1800's Charleston, SC. The war is over and her betrothed has not returned. She is studying law in hopes of beginning a lawyer in an era where women weren't considered capable. Her father is sheriff and the town is in the midst of several murders. U.S. Marshall Langston is assisting with the investigation and determined to keep Lilly out of his investigation as well as his mind. She, however, has other plans to help solve the murders. Mild sexual content.


13 rue Therese
13 rue Therese
Author: Elena Mauli Shapiro
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 4/20/2011
Helpful Score: 2


My rating of "did not like it" isn't entirely accurate. I started out enjoying the concept of the story. However, as it progressed it got increasingly difficult to keep track of which character was "speaking" and toward the end the book was just weird. Some may like it, but I found it hard to follow.


28 Summers
28 Summers
Author: Elin Hilderbrand
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 10/1/2020


"It's like a game of Would You Rather? Would you rather have perfect bliss for only three days or a solid but dull relationship all year long?" Mallory inherits a cottage on Nantucket from her aunt and her life as she new it changes. She settles and finds she loves the simpler life on the island. When her brother comes for a bachelor's weekend before his wedding, life changes. An interesting read....starts and the end and then tells the back story. Each chapter starts with a brief section for each year entitled "what were we talking about in....". Fun summer read!


Adventures of the Woman Homesteader: The Life and Letters of Elinore Pruitt Stewart (Women in the West)
Review Date: 3/16/2010


Combined with actual letters from Elinore Pruitt Stewart, author of Letters from a Woman Homesteader, this book chronicles Elinore's life and experiences in the Wyoming territory/state in the late 1890's thru her death in 1933. Wonderful insight to life during that time period, especially from a woman's perspective. Lovely glimpse into history!


After You
After You
Author: Jojo Moyes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 3/10/2018


Sequel to Me Before You. It's been awhile since her boyfriend Will died and Louisa has moved to London, joined a support group to help her to move on, and working a dead end job wearing an Irish folk costume. In her effort to escape her memories, she goes to the roof of her apartment and accidentally falls off - surviving. Her life struggles include her injuries, her effort to get on with life after Will, and his unknown daughter showing up on her doorstep. Lilly is a troubled teen and lends new complications to Louisa's life. Meeting a very special man - is Louisa ready to move on with love, take on a dream job, and leave her family? Good read - took a while to get into compared to Me Before You.


Agony of the Leaves (Tea Shop Mysteries, Bk 13)
Agony of the Leaves (Tea Shop Mysteries, Bk 13)
Author: Laura Childs
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 3/23/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Newest installment of the Tea Shop Mystery series. This was a quick read, as usual, but I really enjoyed this one more than I did the previous book. Theodosia is on the trail of the killer of her former boyfriend. All kinds of interesting events transpire in her quest to bring the killer to justice.


Ain't She a Peach (Southern Eclectic, Bk 4)
Ain't She a Peach (Southern Eclectic, Bk 4)
Author: Molly Harper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 10/7/2020


Quick, fun, quirky read for the next book in the series. Frankie finds herself embroiled in a battle of wills and personality with a teenager bent on breaking into the family's funeral home. Mix in the hunky new sheriff and tempers flare as well as the sparks between Frankie and the sheriff. Funny characters provide backdrop.


Alas, She Drowned (Stratford Upon Avondale, Bk 1)
Alas, She Drowned (Stratford Upon Avondale, Bk 1)
Author: Monica Knightley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/9/2019


Maggie is the owner/operator of Merry Wives Tearoom in Strafford upon Avondale - a town capitalizing on the Shakespearean theatre in it's midst. When the theatre critic turns up dead, though no one is grieving her demise, Maggie and her friend Gina decide to help the police clear her on again/off again boyfriend of all charges. When a second body is found, the police are convinced they have the right person. Maggie feels otherwise and is determined to prove his innocence.


Alaskan Holiday: A Novel
Alaskan Holiday: A Novel
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 1/13/2019


Light romance set in Alaska.


The Alchemist: A Fable About Following Your Dream
Review Date: 9/18/2014


A young Andalusian shepherd boy sets off on a quest for his Personal Legend. On his journey he meets a fortune teller, a king, an odd Englishman, and an alchemist as well as a young woman. Each will influence his journey and path. I enjoyed the book which is heavily based on symbolism and life philosophy. However, it wasn't quite what i expected.


All Adults Here
All Adults Here
Author: Emma Straub
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 6/1/2020


Never really got "into" this book. Only finished it because I rarely give up on a book. Cecelia is a 13 YO who runs into some trouble with her NYC classmates because she divulged one of their secrets to keep them from harm. Her free-style parents send her to her grandmother's in a small town to go to school. Astrid, grandmother, is a widow who is emotionally distant from her three grown children and now reassessing her parenting and her lifestyle. Strange, self centered characters. However, interesting character development of Cecelia and the angsts of a young teenager and all that's involved in growing up in recent times.


All American Boys
All American Boys
Author: Jason Reynolds, Brendan Kiely
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/27/2016


A current look at race relations in our country. A black high school student is brutally beaten by a policeman after assuming he was shoplifting from a corner store. A fellow student witnesses the event but is conflicted about what to do since he is a close friend of the cop's family. Lines are drawn at the school as well. What follows is an interesting look at decisions that are made - loyalty vs doing what is right and standing up for what is right. Some graphic language throughout, but interesting.


All We Ever Wanted Was Everything
All We Ever Wanted Was Everything
Author: Janelle Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 4/25/2014


Story of a very wealthy family - husband, wife, older daughter, teenage daughter. Living the very good life and about to move to an extremely good life with husband's company's IPO. Long story short - husband leaves wife, life unravels........ Don't get me wrong: we all make mistakes and the three female characters in the book make some REALLY bad ones. But to me the key is to learn from them and move on. Way too much whining, entitlement issues for me to care for this book. Actually did not finish it. I didn't want to make the mistake of wasting my time reading it when there are so many others I will enjoy. Sorry.....


The Aloha Quilt (Elm Creek Quilts, Bk 16)
The Aloha Quilt (Elm Creek Quilts, Bk 16)
Author: Jennifer Chiaverini
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 4/23/2010
Helpful Score: 2


Latest installment in the Elk Creek Quilt series - very good. One of the founders travels to Hawaii to assist an old friend in setting up a new quilting camp. Interesting look at new beginnings, forgiveness and friendships!


Always and Forever
Always and Forever
Author: Cathy Kelly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 7/7/2009


I thought the book was a little slow in the beginning, but really enjoyed following four women thru life's trials, successess and finding themselves to be confident, capable women worthy of love!


Always Looking Up: The Adventures of an Incurable Optimist
Always Looking Up: The Adventures of an Incurable Optimist
Author: Michael J. Fox
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 126
Review Date: 5/16/2016
Helpful Score: 1


Michael Fox delivers a poignant, funny recounting of his life with Parkinson's. While trying to balance his life and career, he also founded one of the top money raising foundations for research into this disease which robs sufferers of so much of their lives. Well written.


American Dirt
American Dirt
Author: Jeanine Cummins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 10/18/2020


I wasn't sure about this when I started and I will say it is not an easy read, but it wasn't intended to be. Lydia is a bookstore owner, married to Sebastian - a newspaper reporter, mother of Luca - 8 YO. When she discovers that a customer she has become friends with is the subject of her husband's ongoing investigation into drug cartels, her world changes forever. With the murder of sixteen of her family at one time, life becomes a series of nightmares and tragedies. Their flight to freedom is eye opening, heartbreaking, and inspirational.


The Amish Christmas Candle: Snow Shine on Ice Mountain / A Honeybee Christmas / The Christmas Candle
Review Date: 11/1/2017


This is actually three short stories in one book. Lovely, charming look into three Amish families and their upcoming Christmas season. Stories of hope, love and faith.


Antonio's Wife
Antonio's Wife
Author: Jacqueline DeJohn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 5/29/2012


First time I've tried this author. Loved the setting - early 1900's in New York City. Mail order bride from Italy with lots of secrets from her past. Really liked the story with its twists and turns. Characters were well developed. Based loosely on the author's family history. A very enjoyable read.


Apologize, Apologize!
Apologize, Apologize!
Author: Elizabeth Kelly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 5/19/2017


Mixed feelings about this one. A dysfunctional family encounters tremendous loss of a son. The eldest son then wanders through life experiencing survivor's guilt, uncertainty, and humiliation. I guess the overall theme is one of forgiveness and acceptance, but this was a so-so read for me.


1 to 20 of 579 - Page: