Facebook

Kay C. (KaysCMAlbums) - Reviews

21 to 40 of 98 - Page:
Daughter of the Loom (Bells of Lowell, Bk 1)
Daughter of the Loom (Bells of Lowell, Bk 1)
Author: Tracie Peterson, Judith Miller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 8/17/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Good story. Interesting to read how hard the women worked when the looms were introduced in the U.S. Great character development.


Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 1)
Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 1)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 107
Review Date: 10/29/2008
Helpful Score: 5


This is a light read with a slightly different twist on vampires. They have come out of the coffin, so to speak, in an attempt to mainstream back into society, at least one of them. But when Sookie falls in love with Vampire Bill, she finds it quite different from any human boyfriend she might have had. Well, you can just imagine. Its a good story, not too deep, and a fast read. Sci-fi with mystery and romance intertwined with the unusual life of Sookie Stackhouse who can read minds whether she wants to or not. Not a lot of character development to bog you down just downright fun and simple to understand. It does have its gory parts, but they are not overly graphic. Some explicit sexual scenes cause me to hesitate recommending for teens.


Dear John
Dear John
Author: Kim Vogel Sawyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 12/11/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Everyone should read this book. Great insight into the life of a young Down Syndrome man and the sister who is afraid to let him reach out into the non-disabled world.


The Divide
The Divide
Author: Nicholas Evans
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 213
Review Date: 2/23/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Nicholas Evans keeps you in suspense throughout the book. His mind must run in circles all the time in order to figure out his plots and his endings. Incredible writer.


The Dog Who Knew Too Much (Chet and Bernie, Bk 4)
The Dog Who Knew Too Much (Chet and Bernie, Bk 4)
Author: Spencer Quinn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 4/19/2013


Another great read in this series. Fun and entertaining. I just love Chet's voice! (He's the K-9.)


The Door Within (Door Within, Bk 1)
The Door Within (Door Within, Bk 1)
Author: Wayne Thomas Batson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 10/1/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Is this the most incredible book Ive ever read? Probably not. But do not despair; I must have loved it. I stayed up half the night because I just HAD to finish it before I went to bed! The allegory good vs. evil, light and darkness drew me into the depths of the story. The adventure kept me there. If youre a Fantasy buff, youll like it, too. If youre not into Fantasy, you might like it anyway! Give it a try. Who knows, you might just find a new genre, like I did, to put more books in your reading library! Interestingly enough, these fantasies are not exactly what I expected. Now I wonder why it took me so long to try one! Next, on to book 2, The Rise of the Worm Lord. Okay, I confess, I've already started it!!!


Drums of Autumn (Outlander, Bk 4)
Drums of Autumn (Outlander, Bk 4)
Author: Diana Gabaldon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 256
Review Date: 9/24/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Always spellbinding, never slacking, always suspenseful, this love story is one of the greatest of all time. You just cant put these books down. And it amazes me how much adventure Gabaldon can put in this story! She is one of the most incredible writers I have had the privilege of reading.


Eat, Pray, Love : One Woman's Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia
Review Date: 9/5/2008


I didn't care for the content of the book. The author is an accomplished and descriptive writer, but this one wasn't for me. The title says, "one woman's search for everything", but I don't think she found anything that actually changed who she really was. The end of the book for me was so much like the beginning as far as relationships go. But, I'll give her this, she had fun doing it.


Even in the Darkness (Lakeview, Bk 3) (Love Inspired Suspense, No 14)
Review Date: 5/5/2007


Great story, full of intrigue and suspense, the author captures drama and romance in fluid, fast-moving storytelling style.


Every Good & Perfect Gift
Every Good & Perfect Gift
Author: Sharon K. Souza
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 3/5/2012
Helpful Score: 2


Of course I cried at the end. You almost know what to expect, but the author embarks us on the journey that keep us wondering if we really know what is going to happen next. A wonderful account of faith and endless, enduring friendships; I started to wonder if I had someone in my life half as devoted as Gabby was to DeeDee. Then, with a sinking heart, I wondered if I could ever be that friend to another.

It was eye opening, and it has started me on a search that perhaps will never end. It makes me wonder how or why I just read two books addressing Alzheimers. God speaks to us in a myriad of ways and I believe he uses experiences and repetition to prepare us for what lies ahead in our lives. A close friend of mine is caring for her mother who is in the latter stages of this debilitating disease and it is becoming increasing more difficult for her and her family to care for their mother at home. Making the decision to place her in 24 hour nursing care is pressing heavily on their hearts as I write this. As Gabby prayed many times "God, please use me whatever it takes" I feel that I want to take this same step of faith, but Im afraid to. May He continue to work in my heart to prepare me for whatever lies ahead.


Forever Odd  (Odd Thomas, Bk 2)
Forever Odd (Odd Thomas, Bk 2)
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 106
Review Date: 11/26/2008
Helpful Score: 1


One cant help but fall in love with Odd. He is the kind of guy whose simple honesty and humility grips your heart. The character of Odd Thomas is an enigma to most who know him, but his unusual ability to see the walking dead gives such depth to the person of Odd that your heart will ache for him sometimes. Hed like to help them move on and leave this world. In this story, Koontz takes Odds gift and, unlike the first book, uses it to his disadvantage, or so it seems. He is pursued by a maniacal cultist who wants the power to conjure up the dead for her own gain. A gripping story of friendship and trust that leads to hours of suspense-filled reading. You wont put it down. Heartfelt and provocativea wonderfully rich and entertaining story.Chicago Sun-Times


God Uses Cracked Pots
God Uses Cracked Pots
Author: Patsy Clairmont
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 4/28/2006


Well, if you've ever read Patsy Clairmon, this should be on your reading list. Light, fun, comical look at everyday life from a very funny Christian lady. From the bookcover: "A Lighthearted Look at Life's Foibles & Fears."


The Guy I'm Not Dating
The Guy I'm Not Dating
Author: Trish Perry
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 7/20/2007


Pretty cool book. I like it a lot. Trish has a neat since of humor.


Half Broke Horses: A True-Life Novel
Half Broke Horses: A True-Life Novel
Author: Jeannette Walls
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 293
Review Date: 3/31/2012
Helpful Score: 2


This was EXCELLENT! Im glad I read it before The Glass Castle as it gave me insight into the history of who Rose Mary and Rex Walls were. Half Broke Horses tells the story of Lily, Jeannettes maternal grandmother, from Lilys perspective. It was like sitting in the parlor or under the stars listening to Lily tell us one short story after another in her own voice; stories off her childhood, teenage years on her own, and as a mother and wife who worked hard all her life. She was a range and cattle woman who loved life, horses, cars and airplanes, and as a teacher, did her best to teach children everything they needed to know. She admits that Rosemary (who changed her name to Rose Mary) was the only child she wasnt able to teach because Rosemary was a rambunctious child, inquisitive, and had a mind of her own. Incredible insight into the mind and heart of a woman, Lily Casey Smith, who became everything she ever wanted to be and didnt let roadblocks stand in her way. Highly recommended!


Heaven and Hell (North and South, Bk 3)
Heaven and Hell (North and South, Bk 3)
Author: John Jakes
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 6/29/2006
Helpful Score: 1


If you read the entire series, this is a fitting ending as the Civil War has ended. Almost like saying goodbye to a good friend (as with most long series). I really enjoy reading Jakes - he's an excellent writer.


Held Hostage: A Serial Bank Robber's Road to Redemption
Held Hostage: A Serial Bank Robber's Road to Redemption
Author: Ken Cooper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 2/22/2012


Excellent, excellent! As much as was possible, Ken Cooper gives us a picture of life behind bars in some of the most notorious prisons in Florida. His real-life experience says more than words. And he gives us just a glimpse of the criminal mind.

I thought the book was well written, knowing that volumes are enclosed in this small edition. With all the experience at his disposal I felt that Ken Cooper extracted enough of the necessary pros and cons of his double life and his prison families to prepare us for his redemptive story. But, oh, what he must have anguished over to narrow down and encapsulate the facts to just this miniscule account. God bless him, his family, victims of ALL crimes, and those who seek to help redeem the perpetrators who are prisoners of themselves, and usually a past, that refuses to set them free.


Home to Holly Springs (Father Tim, Bk 1)
Home to Holly Springs (Father Tim, Bk 1)
Author: Jan Karon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 12/18/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoyed catching up with Father Tim. Karon continues to entertain us with his wit and humor. Even though this is a little more serious than I remember the Mitford series being, this series appears to be another great one. This first book in the series was truly a pleasure to read and she writes so much into her stories. A great book; a wonderful family read, as are all her Mitford books. Fun and enlightening at the same time â and CLEAN! If you haven't read The Mitford Years series, you might start there, but it is not necessary. However, some of the characters in this new series are introduced in her first Mitford books. Enjoy.


Homeward
Homeward
Author: Melody Carlson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/25/2007


Good story. Interesting plot. I liked the setting and the characters. A good change of pace from my normal genre.


The Horse Whisperer
The Horse Whisperer
Author: Nicholas Evans
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 782
Review Date: 2/23/2008


Nicholas Evans is one of the most intriguing writers I've ever come across. He has an ingenious writing style and his books are full of life. The Horse Whisperer is everything the reviews say and more. One review said, "One of the most thrilling, heart-stopping openings to a novel that I can remember..."-The Sunday Age (Melbourne). Man, you'll be on the edge of your seat! Incredible writer. This is not as much about horses as it is the people who love them.


The Hunger Games (Hunger Games, Bk 1)
The Hunger Games (Hunger Games, Bk 1)
Author: Suzanne Collins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2312
Review Date: 6/1/2012


This wasnt anything like I expected. I didnt expect to even like it, but was amazingly impressed and almost immediately pulled into the story. When government anarchy reigns, the consequences of righteousness are unbelievably horrible. This is one such story, perhaps written in the extreme, but the point is well taken and presented in such a way that the reader cannot turn his back on it. I can hardly wait to read the second book and watch the author start to turn the tables on evil.


21 to 40 of 98 - Page: