Barbara C. (barbc) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 47 - Page:
Abduction: Human Encounters with Aliens
Abduction: Human Encounters with Aliens
Author: John E. Mack
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 6/27/2005


Book has some wear, but is intact. This book freaked me a bit, perhaps because I have an open mind about the possibility of 'others' being out there........ or maybe because I had a young child at the time and I kept imagining him getting abducted. :-) Really not a bad read, use an open mind and decide for yourself


Ahab's Wife: Or, The Star-Gazer
Review Date: 7/13/2005
Helpful Score: 2


This was one book I have read in the last few years where I actually felt like the main character was a good friend. A friend I did not want to leave..... or for the book to end.


Amanda's Wedding
Amanda's Wedding
Author: Jenny Colgan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 8/1/2005


A fun light read.


Back When We Were Grownups
Back When We Were Grownups
Author: Anne Tyler
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 105
Review Date: 7/14/2005


I really liked this book, as did my bookgroup. Anne Tyler has a way of writing about her characters where you feel you know them well. This no exception. A good easy read.


Backpacking: One Step at a Time
Backpacking: One Step at a Time
Author: Harvey Manning
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/5/2005


This book was originally published in 1972 so it looks a bit dated, but the cartoons are humorous and the information still valid. Sometimes looking at the older books you can find simpler solutions to problems that might come up, before all the technology they had to use something that worked! It is a Vintage Books edition from 1973 but looks a bit more modern.


BEARD ON BREAD
BEARD ON BREAD
Author: James Beard
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 6/18/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This is the book I turn to for basic breads. It shows ways a person can make them a bit fancier. If you want a good basic bread book this is it! You can find a great recipe for Biscuits, Basic bread, whole grain bread, and quick breads. Great book!


Better Homes and Gardens Homemade Cookies Cook Book
Better Homes and Gardens Homemade Cookies Cook Book
Author: Don Dooley (Editor)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 4/8/2007


A classic cookie book.


The Book of Questions
The Book of Questions
Author: Gregory Stock
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 124
Review Date: 7/15/2005
Helpful Score: 1


Great questions to start a converstation. Even at an evening with friends..... to see what they would say.


Captain Underpants and the Attack of the Talking Toilets (Captain Underpants, Bk 2)
Review Date: 8/5/2005


My kids loved these books..... silly reading goodness.


Catnap: An Interactive Lift-The-Flap, Pop-Up Counting Book
Review Date: 8/7/2006


A simple pop up book to help teaching counting to young children. A pretty cat shaped dangly on the cover.


Cause Celeb
Cause Celeb
Author: Helen Fielding
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 77
Review Date: 1/31/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Surprising book from Fielding. While Bridget Jones was fun, this had a slightly more serious slant. I enjoyed it as did friends who borrowed it.


The Cook's Encyclopedia of Four Ingredient Cooking
The Cook's Encyclopedia of Four Ingredient Cooking
Author: Joanna Farrow
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/26/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This is full of simple quick recipes. The recipes aren't simple because they require packaged food, just simple ingredients combined to make something even better. Great for when you aren't sure what you can make with what you have in the house. Also good for when you want to make a few recipes and not have a huge shopping list. A photo for each recipe.


Creapy Castles
Creapy Castles
Author: Christine Sotnak Rom
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/30/2005


Great Early reader non fiction book that will appeal to children.


A Dinner a Day : Complete Meals in Minutes for Every Weeknight of the Year
Review Date: 4/8/2007


This book drove me crazy with the recipe names, however the recipe are good and you can make a tasty dinner with a little planning.


E. T. The Extra-Terrestrial
E. T. The Extra-Terrestrial
Author: William Kotzwinkle
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 6/27/2005


Who would have thought of William Kotzwinkle writing the book for E.T.?! But he did. This is the novel that is based on the screenplay by Melissa Mathison.


Escape from Blood Castle (Usborne Puzzle Adventures)
Escape from Blood Castle (Usborne Puzzle Adventures)
Author: Jenny Tyler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/1/2006


A mystery written with lots of pictures to "help". A good way to encourage reading without letting on that you are doing exactly that.


Everyone Poops (My Body Science)
Everyone Poops (My Body Science)
Author: Taro Gomi, Amanda Mayer Stinchecum (Translator)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 1/1/2006


What a great book for kids who are toilet training, you know one always wants them to "get" that part.


Family Circle Cookbook:  New Tastes for New Times
Family Circle Cookbook: New Tastes for New Times
Author: Editors of Family circle
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/23/2008
Helpful Score: 1


My family absolutely LOVES the Peanut Butter Cake in this cookbook. It is a peanut butter butter cake with both Chocolate and peanut butter filling/frosting. I sometimes mix these up, but they all love it. This is the most requested Birthday cake at our home.

There are many other tasty recipes, good family food with clear directions.


Fast Women
Fast Women
Author: Jennifer Crusie
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 120
Review Date: 8/1/2005


A fun read.


Fat Girl a true story
Fat Girl a true story
Author: Judith Moore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 3/14/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This was an interesting read, not because of her self proclaimed fat girl status, but because she had such a neglectful and abusive childhood. It seemed patterns repeated themselves horribly. This is a quick read and Judith Moore writes well enough to make it an interesting read.


1 to 20 of 47 - Page: