Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Kimberly D. (lovemakesyoureal) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 20
The Bell Jar
The Bell Jar
Author: Sylvia Plath
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 356
Review Date: 6/2/2007


This book gets progressively interesting. At first it's hard to get into, but the story eventually drew me into Esther's plight. Sylvia Plath's writing is fantastic.


Cut
Cut
Author: Patricia McCormick
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 302
Review Date: 5/29/2007
Helpful Score: 7


Quick but good read about a teenager who cuts herself. We follow Callie's struggles as she reluctantly enters treatment and comes to terms with her illness.


Flash Fiction: Very Short Stories
Flash Fiction: Very Short Stories
Author: James Thomas, Denise Thomas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 6/28/2007


A quirky little collection of short stories. Enjoyable read!


Go Ask Alice
Go Ask Alice
Author: Anonymous
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 435
Review Date: 5/29/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Disturbing, but real. This diary follows the demise of a teenage girl, when she enters into the dangerous world of drug abuse. Sometimes hard to read, but very powerful.


Hula
Hula
Author: Lisa Shea
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/29/2007


Much of this book revolves around how two pre-teen sisters are growing up and coping with a war haunted father and an emotionally unattached mother. The book is sometimes surreal, drawing the reader into the imagination of the sisters as they make the emotional and physical transition from children to teenagers. There are some scenes containing sexual or violent content.


Kissing Doorknobs
Kissing Doorknobs
Author: Terry Spencer Hesser
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/29/2007


A realistic portrait of a girl living with obsessive compulsive disorder. A good read.


Ophelia Speaks : Adolescent Girls Write About Their Search for Self
Ophelia Speaks : Adolescent Girls Write About Their Search for Self
Author: Sara Shandler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 5/29/2007
Helpful Score: 4


Excellent compilation of the voices of teenage girls. Covers topics like eating disorders, parents, school, sex, etc. A powerful read.


The Perks of Being a Wallflower
The Perks of Being a Wallflower
Author: Stephen Chbosky
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 582
Review Date: 5/29/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Very touching. Made me laugh, made me cry. Charlie's letters are beautifully written, and expose his inner struggles during high school. Perfect for anyone who is a wallflower themselves...


The Phantom of the Opera (Puffin Classics)
The Phantom of the Opera (Puffin Classics)
Author: Gaston Leroux
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 5/29/2007


The Phantom of the Opera is a great classic! Both mysterious and endearing, it's a great read.


The Pirates! In an Adventure with Scientists
The Pirates! In an Adventure with Scientists
Author: Gideon Defoe
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 6/2/2007


These books are hilarious! I couldn't stop laughing. Incredibly entertaining, and highly recommended.


The Pirates! In an Adventure with Whaling
Review Date: 6/2/2007


These books are hilarious! I couldn't stop laughing, they're very entertaining. Highly recommended.


Running with Scissors: A Memoir
Running with Scissors: A Memoir
Author: Augusten Burroughs
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 527
Review Date: 5/29/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Augusten Burroughs' childhood was so incredibly unusual and bazaar. It's an entertaining read, but not for the faint of heart. I also agree with a previous comment...this book is a lot funnier if you have previous knowledge of mental illness or are familiar with the field of psychology. I was laughing out loud at some of the wacky psychology-related conversations in the book.


Skin Game : A Memoir
Skin Game : A Memoir
Author: Caroline Kettlewell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 6/2/2007


Caroline Kettlewell offers a more analytical approach to her struggles. She dwells on the question of "why" she cuts more than anything. Pretty good writing, though.


Speak
Speak
Author: Laurie Halse Anderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 529
Review Date: 5/29/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Poignant and saddening, this book is well written and an incredible read. This book is perfectly paced, slowly revealing Melinda's inner struggle. Highly recommended!


Stop Pretending : What Happened When My Big Sister Went Crazy
Stop Pretending : What Happened When My Big Sister Went Crazy
Author: Sonya Sones
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 5/29/2007


A collection of powerful poems, which capture the struggles a young girl encounters when her older sister is committed to an insane asylum. Highly recommended.


Thumbsucker
Thumbsucker
Author: Walter Kirn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 6/6/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this book! The movie was based on a small section of this book...a lot more happens in the book. Walter Kirn's writing is witty, funny, and very enjoyable. Highly recommended.


The Virgin Suicides
The Virgin Suicides
Author: Jeffrey Eugenides
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 781
Review Date: 5/29/2007
Helpful Score: 7


Through Jeffrey Eugenides' fantastic writing, I was completely drawn into the account of the demise of the Lisbon family. I could not put this book down. The language in this book is beautiful and haunting. Though be warned, the book does contain some sexual or violent content.


Wasted : A Memoir of Anorexia and Bulimia
Wasted : A Memoir of Anorexia and Bulimia
Author: Marya Hornbacher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 5/29/2007
Helpful Score: 3


"Wasted" is dark and intense. Her struggle is real, and effectively written. Overall, this is a great read, but don't expect a feel-good book.


The Westing Game
The Westing Game
Author: Ellen Raskin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 172
Review Date: 5/29/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Very clever! An intriguing mystery, and one of my favorites.


White Oleander
White Oleander
Author: Janet Fitch
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 353
Review Date: 5/29/2007


This novel follows Astrid's journey through a series of foster homes while her mother is imprisoned. Each foster home is unique and disturbing in a different way. We experience the physical and emotional changes that Astrid endures. The language of Janet Fitch's writing is beautiful and intriguing. An incredible read, much better than the movie.


1 to 20 of 20
Want fewer ads?