Renee C. (steelergirl83) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 55 - Page:
Attracted to Fire
Attracted to Fire
Author: DiAnn Mills
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 12/14/2011
Helpful Score: 1


When it comes to romance Julie Lessman is queen, when it comes to fairy tales nobody weaves a tale like Melanie Dickerson but when it comes to suspense DiAnn Mills is your gal! In her latest Lone Star state romantic drama, DiAnn takes on the Secret Service and a killer with an agenda that could affect the state of the nation. With her trademark for writing a "good" bad guy and ability to keep a reader guessing Attracted to Fire is sure to please. I love her characters too but the hero prevented me from enjoying this story as much as I could have. Ash was too much of a jerk for me to like him anymore than a little even though he does improve by the conclusion of the story. The chemistry between Ash and Meghan felt forced. I think it would have been more natural for a friendship to develop rather than a full blown romance. If you're looking for a great romance you might want to pass on this but if you're looking for drama and an adrenaline rush I'd say this could be the book for you! Even though this wasn't an all-time favorite I still enjoyed it enough to recommend it to fans of the suspense sub-genre of Christian fiction books.

* I received my complimentary copy from the publisher in exchange for posting my honest review.*


Baby, It's Cold Outside (When I Fall in Love)
Baby, It's Cold Outside (When I Fall in Love)
Author: Susan May Warren
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 10/24/2011
Helpful Score: 2


When it comes to Christmas stories I'm a real Scrooge. It's not that I don't love the holiday but every single Christmas story seems to be so sugary sweet or too predictable, even more so than a lot of the romances I read. With her latest novel, Baby It's Cold Outside, Susan May Warren has made me change my tune. It's not sappy or saccharin in fact it's one of the best seasonal stories I've ever read.

Following World War II so many small towns like Frost, Minnesota, felt the loss of many of their loved ones especially over the holidays. Dottie Morgan, the widow on the hill lost her son in the war and vows to keep as far away from Christmas as possible. She has nothing to celebrate especially since God has abandoned her...or so she thinks. Her neighbor, Gordy, close friend of her son along with three other complete strangers show Dottie that there are so many reasons to celebrate the season and to embrace the love that's been following her ever since childhood.

I was glued to every word of this story. Warren has captured the spirit of Christmas while also keeping true to the feeling of loss and sadness that gripped the nation immediately following the World War II. Dottie's grief was so genuine. When she got the closure that she needed concerning her son Nelson it was most definitely a "Kleenex" moment. Dottie's friend Violet wasn't without her own sorrows. While most women served on the home front, Violet was in the WAACs and did "men's" work that gained her little appreciation among the members of her community. One couldn't help but feel her frustration about not being able to share her true self with her family and friends for fear of additional ostracism. This is definitely a book filled to the brim with raw emotion and internal conflict!

Baby, It's Cold Outside is an excellent way to start off your 2011 Christmas book collection. I have the feeling that this is going to be an annual holiday read for me and one to pass on and share with my friends and family. If you're a fan of Susan May Warren you won't be disappointed. Between this book and Heiress it's been a stellar year!


Carniepunk
Carniepunk
Author: Jennifer Estep, Rob Thurman, Rachel Caine, Seanan McGuire
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 7/12/2013
Helpful Score: 1


This is a collection of 14 short stories from some of the hottest names in urban fantasy and paranormal fiction, all who were new to me, some whose stories I loved and...well some not so much. I don't review a lot of it here, but I've always been a fan of the genre and have to say that this story collection was nothing if not interesting and super creepy to say the least! I used to love going to the local carnival when I was a kid but now I feel like I'll have to leave town the next time one comes through. :-P Thanks to author Jennifer Estep for instilling in me a genuine fear of clowns that I went through the first almost three decades of my life without. Shivers. This is one collection not for the faint of heart. There's definitely something for everyone -- mermaids, werewolves, vampires, druids, and of course, messed up clowns. As with all novellas, the ones with characters whom I enjoyed were too short while some of the stories just fell flat, however I can still recommend it for urban fantasy readers looking for a good scare and some spine-tingling suspense!

*I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.*


A Case for Love (Brides of Bonneterre, Bk 3)
A Case for Love (Brides of Bonneterre, Bk 3)
Author: Kaye Dacus
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 3/14/2010


I loved both Stand-in Groom and Menu for Romance and was really looking forward to reading about Forbes who I absolutely love, in A Case for Love. I really enjoyed it! Kaye Dacus definitely has the knack when it comes to writing "real" characters. Forbes and Alaine, even though they are beautiful, successful people struggle with their faith, their families and their careers just as we do. The storyline is very interesting and I was pleasantly surprised at how interesting law could be, it helps that Forbes is a total hottie (sorry I just haaad to add that :-P) and would make a story about paint drying fun! The romance between Alaine and Forbes is so sweet, I love it! Kaye proves that single gals can write terrific romance! I will definitely be reading her next contemporary romance series, The Matchmakers, due out later this year!


Chasing Mona Lisa
Chasing Mona Lisa
Author: Tricia Goyer, Mike Yorkey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 4/8/2012


World War II set stories are some of my favorites to read. When it comes to suspenseful, adrenaline filled novels nobody crafts a story quite like Tricia Goyer and Mike Yorkey. Chasing Mona Lisa is a masterpiece that is sure to please every reader both male and female.

If you have read The Swiss Courier you will see some familiar faces in special agents Gabi Mueller and Eric Hofstadler but if you haven't yet had the chance to read it don't worry Chasing Mona Lisa can be read as a stand alone book. From the very first page I can almost guarantee that you will be hooked and have an interest in what happens to Gabi and Eric as well as some of the new faces. I'm not sure I've ever read a story that was as exciting and breathtaking as the opening scenes of this tale or a book with characters and a storyline that kept me guessing so much. That said the story does lag a bit in the middle but the quest to save the Mona Lisa from Nazi hands and rescue it from the French countryside towards the end is nothing short of nerve wracking! Without giving too much away I will just say I would never have had the guts (or the steady hands) to be caretaker of a priceless piece of art like the Mona Lisa.

This book is a really good example of historical fiction, suspense, and romance. Combined with an exciting setting in war-torn Paris I think it definitely appeals to all types of readers including those who don't normally read Christian fiction. Since it is a book set during a war there is some violence so it may not be suitable for the youngest readers.

*I received my complimentary copy from the publisher in exchange for posting my honest review/opinion of the book for this tour.*


The Christmas Wedding
The Christmas Wedding
Author: James Patterson, Richard DiLallo
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 157
Review Date: 10/24/2011
Helpful Score: 8


The Christmas Wedding is my first James Patterson book and I'm happy to say I enjoyed it. It's definitely a story to get you in the Christmas mood with family, snow, weddings and of course love! Although it's a full-length novel this reads like a novella. Each of Gaby's children are introduced and each have situations and struggles that they face that somehow get resolved right at Christmas so there's not much room for development. The romantic element is a little unbelievable--Gaby strings along three potential grooms and they don't seem to mind or question her, hence the three star review. I definitely kept wondering who the groom was going to be and by the end I was glad she chose who she did. However Patterson's ability to weave a story that's centered around true-to-life characters is, I'm sure, one of the reasons why he's a bestselling romance (and suspense!) author.

Be warned, there is strong language throughout but The Christmas Wedding is still a pleasant read just in time for the holidays!


The Colonel's Lady
The Colonel's Lady
Author: Laura Frantz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 8/14/2011
Helpful Score: 4


Nobody writes frontier romance like Laura Frantz! The Colonel's Lady is yet another example of Christian fiction at it's finest. This book is not simply a historical romance but a story of loss, hope, and the resilience of the human spirit. The beautiful and dangerous Kentucke territory has never been more alive to me and characters have never spoken to me more in any Christian book I've read. From the first shocking accident of an on edge militia to the tender ministrations and care of a lover to his beloved on her sickbed to the final shocking revelation, The Colonel's Lady will leave your heart topsy turvy. If Cass and Roxanna's unfolding relationship doesn't keep you riveted to the page nothing will. Be prepared to stay up long into the night even after the final page is turned thinking about all that happened, not just between the hero and heroine, but at Fort Endeavor and on the battlefield. Make room for The Colonel's Lady on your keeper shelf right beside The Frontiersman's Daughter and Courting Morrow Little.


Dead Reckoning
Dead Reckoning
Author: Ronie Kendig
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 7/9/2010
Helpful Score: 2


I have never really been a reader of suspense fiction, it just wasn't that interesting to me until I discovered author, Ronie Kendig. I first read her second release, Nightshade a few weeks ago and I LOVED it! She kindly offered to send me a copy of her debut novel Dead Reckoning and I finished it on one day, staying up till the wee hours of the morning.

From the first page I was hooked! Being a lover of history I've always had a respect for and interest in archaeology so it was easy for me to like underwater archaeologist, Shiloh Blake and her best friend Khalid Khan. There is also a hunky ex-Navy SEAL turned spy, Reece aka Brutus, who will give you heart palpitations! Did I mention that from the very first chapter there is enough "edge of your seat" action to give a body a heart attack? Seriously. It is so good!

A lot of the suspense that I've read has had one or two scenes that made my pulse race but Dead Reckoning does not let up, it's nonstop action from start to finish. Assassinations, kidnappings, nuclear weapons, spies, and terrorists all in the exotic setting of Mumbia, throw in not one but two romances involving our main character, Shiloh and you have a suspenseful and thrilling read that will knock your socks off! I highly recommend this book to anyone (guys that means you too) who loves a great story!


P.S. I think the author is like me and has a thing for all things fast, like motorbikes! This book's hero owns a Ducati and Nightshade's hero drives a Hayabusa! Yum!


Doctor Who: Who-ology
Doctor Who: Who-ology
Author: Cavan Scott, Mark Wright
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/20/2013
Helpful Score: 1


If there's one thing in the entertainment world I love more than Doctor Who I've yet to find it. I would have never have guessed that a boring night of channel surfing nine years ago would have led to the love affair that I have with the Doctor Who series. Since discovering the series in 2005, I haven't missed watching an episode and have even went back in the archives to watch the Classic Doctor Who that originally aired in 1963.

With 50 years of rich history it's easy to find something Who related even if you aren't near a TV. There are board games, video games, action figures, t-shirts -- and books! Yes! I mentioned the 'B' word! There are tons of books to keep a Whovian entertained for ages. With the 50th anniversary coming in November the BBC is re-releasing a set of 11 classic Doctor Who stories, one for each incarnation of the Doctor, with beautiful new covers. If that isn't enough, there are also several new books in the pipeline including a great book of Doctor Who trivia entitled, Who-ology. It's not due out until June 11, but I was lucky enough to snag a pre-release copy thanks to TLC Book Tours and BBC Books and I have to say it's a must-have for any Whovian worth their salt or anyone curious about the series.

Who-ology is a mish-mash of facts and figures from 1962 when the series was a twinkle in the BBC's eye to the current series's 2012 Christmas Special: The Snowmen. Ever wanted to know just how many times the Dalek's, the Doctor's archenemies, have shouted EXTERMINATE (469 to be exact, pg. 205) or just exactly what a "Timey - Wimey Detector is? These questions and more are answered in Who-ology.

At close to 400 pages this tome may seem daunting to non-readers but it's well organized and the table of contents make it easy to jump around to different chapters and to read small sections at a time. There are also some nifty charts and drawings for those who like visual aides. I sat down with this book almost as soon as I got it and couldn't put it down. Even I, a fan for years now, learned some new things. It is truly amazing just how many connections the show has had over the years and how many people have launched their careers on the series.

Who-ology: Doctor Who, The Official Miscellany is most definitely a book I highly recommend. I plan on passing it along to my younger brother who is a teen Whovian. It's great for almost any reader young and old. Kudos to the writers and BBC books for putting together this wonderful book and allowing us TARDIS-less humans to journey through 50 years of Doctor Who history. I hope there's a book like this for the next 50 years!


*I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.*


The Haven (Stoney Ridge Seasons, Bk 2)
The Haven (Stoney Ridge Seasons, Bk 2)
Author: Suzanne Woods Fisher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 8/29/2012


Sadie Lapp left home to be with her sister Julia and her brother-in-law but felt the pull to return home to her father and sister after only a few months. On her way home she finds something at the bus station that will change not only her life but her family's forever. Upon her arrival she learns that the rare birds her deceased brother loved so much have garnered attention from across the country so the Lapp farm is crawling with strangers trying to catch a glimpse of the falcons. Sadie's unsure of what to make of the handsome Englischer Will Stoltz, birdwatcher and caretaker or the sudden change in her old friend Gideon Smucker. As the summer goes on she struggles with family, community and friendship and must learn to come out of her shell or continue to be trampled on.

Okay so here it comes, I highly respect this author and love all her previous works but this book just wasn't for me. The story in and of itself wasn't bad but I did not like two of the three main characters and found myself almost wanting to skip over their parts of the story. Will Stoltz was lazy and whiny and Gideon Smucker was trying so hard to get Sadie's attention that it bordered on painful to read. Will did get a little better as the story went on but still not enough to impress me. I didn't really like or sympathize with either of these men. As a romance reader I feel you're supposed to like at least one of the heroines potential love interests.

I still loved Sadie's little sister, Mary Kate (aka M.K.) who was precocious as ever and her ornery Uncle Hank in this book. Hopefully The Lesson will bring these characters back, give us some answers about Sadie's love life and hopefully the men of that story I will like! As I said before I loved the first book in this series, The Keeper, and I loved Suzanne Woods Fisher's previous series, Lancaster County Secrets. The characters in those books were so full of soul and the emotion fairly oozed off the pages. I'm looking forward to seeing how this series ends and hopefully get some closure!

~ My Rating 2.5 out of 5 stars ~



*I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.*


Head in the Clouds
Head in the Clouds
Author: Karen Witemeyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 10/21/2010
Helpful Score: 2


Just when I thought I couldn't enjoy a book more that A Tailor-Made Bride, Head in the Clouds comes along and I devour all 350+ pages in a day. If you are a fan of romance, ranchers, and British nobility you will love this story. Not only that but if you like to be able to relate to a heroine I don't think you will be able to find another quite like Adelaide Proctor (at least I can't think of one!)

Adelaide is on the lookout for her storybook hero (aren't we all *wink*) and literally falls into the arms of a man who just might be her Mr. Rochester minus the crazy wife and "broodiness." Gideon Westcott aka Lord Mansfield (well almost, he's third in line for that title) formally of England is now a sheep rancher in Texas and is in charge of a young ward, Isabella Petchey. Of course there's also the danger of the Texas plains and hills, throw in a money hungry uncle and you have some heart-stopping moments.

With the skill of a seasoned pro, Karen Witemeyer has spun a tale that is sure to please the most romantic souls and those with a predilection for danger. ;-) If you're like me this book will stay on your keeper shelf to be read again. I can't wait till next year for her next release, To Win Her Heart!

*This book was provided to me through the publisher as an influencer for the author.*


The Healer's Apprentice
The Healer's Apprentice
Author: Melanie Dickerson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 9/17/2010
Helpful Score: 4


I am a huge fan of fairy tales and I really enjoyed this story that is loosely based on Sleeping Beauty. It has all the elements I look for in a story, not only is there a great plot, a swoonworthy hero, and an intelligent heroine there's a great message for girls everywhere about waiting for the right guy to come along. Rose, the heroine, not only has to deal with learning that her parent's aren't who she believed them to be but also deal with a very handsome young man who isn't who he seems to be. I'm sure that even though this story takes place centuries ago girls will be able to relate to the pressures that Rose faces in her life.

A lot of stories can get boring or tedious to read if they come across as too preachy but this is definitely not one of those books. Ms. Dickerson does such a wonderful job making the story romantic and entertaining while still maintaining a Christian theme. I know as a reader I like all kinds of books both general market and Christian fiction so it's great to see this book which kind of mixes the two. There's an evil sorcerer and black magic but also characters who rely on their faith in God to get them through rough spots and protect them from harm. The Healer's Apprentice is a great book for readers both young and old who love a good fairy tale! I would love to see the author do more stories along this maybe something like Snow White or Cinderella! Here's to hoping! ;-)

* I received my influencer copy from the publisher in exchange for posting my thoughts on the book.*


A Heart Revealed (Winds of Change, Bk 2)
A Heart Revealed (Winds of Change, Bk 2)
Author: Julie Lessman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 10/26/2011
Helpful Score: 1


"Drama, Drama, Drama in Julie Lessman's A Heart Revealed"

Are you surprised by the title of this post? Well you won't be since you now know that this is a review of Julie Lessman's latest novel, A Heart Revealed. If you are at all familiar with this series you know that drama is the key to each of these stories. If you're like me the more drama, the better and it comes in spades in this book.

Continuing the O'Connor saga is the story of Emma Malloy and Sean, the eldest O'Connor sibling. Each has a past that they let control their future and both must learn to give it to God for a chance at happiness. The unfolding story of Emma and Sean's romance is one that is sweet, passionate, and altogether frustrating. A friend asked if I threw the book across the room as I was reading, well let me just say that there are black and green spots on my wall where there once was only white paint. Emma is almost too giving and good. I wanted to throttle that girl if she tried to push Rose off on a certain character one more time and trust me I'm not violent in the least! If there's ever a series where you feel so connected to the characters it's this one! They come alive and one even has a cute quirk that will have you craving chocolate.

So grab a Snickers, a few lemon drops and a caffeinated beverage (you're gonna need it because you will want to stay up past midnight) and your copy of A Heart Revealed today. You won't regret it! If you haven't read a book by Julie I suggest getting to know the O'Connor family by reading the books in order starting with A Passion Most Pure, Book One in the Daughters of Boston series and going from there. Happy Reading!


The Heart's Frontier (Amish of Apple Grove, Bk 1)
The Heart's Frontier (Amish of Apple Grove, Bk 1)
Author: Lori Copeland, Virginia Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 4/8/2012


~3 stars~
We've all heard of Cowboys and Indians, cowboys and aliens and now it's time for cowboys and the Amish! With this latest book from the fantastic duo of Copeland and Smith two very different world's collide -- that of a peace-loving Amish family and the ruff and tumble life of a cowpoke. I have to admit I wasn't sure how this story was going to turn out but knowing these two authors I knew it was going to be fun and interesting to say the least! I wasn't disappointed and I bet you won't be either. If you 're looking for a thick, juicy read this isn't it but it you're looking for a sweet story minus the stop-and-make-you-think stuff this is your book! The entire story takes place over a week of riding the range with a herd of cattle so other than your standard cattle rustler bad guys there isn't a whole lot of drama. Luke and Emma's relationship never goes beyond a few heated glances for most of the book but the chemistry definitely lurked behind the scenes so to speak. I loved Emma's grandmother, she definitely provided for some fun moments especially when she overstepped her bounds with the camp cook, McCann by invading his "kitchen." All in all this was a cute story that I would recommend to readers of any age who like a sweet book.


Heart's Safe Passage (Midwives, Bk 2)
Heart's Safe Passage (Midwives, Bk 2)
Author: Laurie Alice Eakes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 4/8/2012


I'm a huge fan of pirate tales since reading MaryLu Tyndall's Legacy of the King's Pirates series. Even though that series was drawn to a conclusion a few years ago I still look for and enjoy tales that are set aboard ships. This book in The Midwives series is a fine example of everything I love about high seas romances. At first I was a little underwhelmed by the characters and the plot but as the story unfurled and the unpredictability of the sea and rogue privateers became a factor I couldn't put the book down.

There is no other word than tumultuous to describe this book. The relationship between Phoebe and Rafe (best pirate/privateer name ever) was so realistic. The arguments and the genuine anger didn't evolve smoothly into an easygoing relationship once they got to know each other but it was something of a constant battle not unlike a relationship today.

The secondary character's were fun too. Belinda, Phoebe's sister-in-law was so annoying and well...spoiled...that I almost wanted to skip the parts where she opened her mouth. I suppose that unlikable characters make the story though, don't they? Mel, Rafe's daughter is just so adorable and her canine friend, Fi will melt your heart. I hope Mel gets her own story, she deserves to grow up and get a happy ending! This book really had a great message of persistence and learning to forgive oneself so that, along with the good plot make this a book I can recommend to anyone who loves Christian fiction!


Hello, Hollywood! (Backstage Pass, Bk 2)
Hello, Hollywood! (Backstage Pass, Bk 2)
Author: Janice Thompson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 10/24/2011


There's just something about stories featuring big, close knit families that I love. Janice Thompson's Weddings by Bella series with the Italian Rossi clan was one of my favorites and I missed the chaos and fun of the series when it ended. I'm happy to say that if you liked that series as much as I did the second book in her new series, Backstage Pass brings back that same atmosphere of family and yummy food as her previous series. This time the family is Greek and quite possibly even more fun than the Rossi's! Did I mention that you might need a tissue--to wipe the drool off of your face from all the yumminess in the book? Baklava, gyros, and Mr. Tall, Dark, and Handsome...mmhmmm.

Every page is filled with humor and there are a few surprising plot twists that add just the right amount of seriousness. If you are afraid that your faves from Stars Collide are left by the wayside in this book I'm happy to say you're mistaken. Lenora and her pink Cadillac and Kat and Scott make more than cameo appearances and there are even a few big surprises for them!

Fans of fun fiction with a Christian message will enjoy this, I'm sure. There's a bit for everyone, even all you dog lovers. That cute pooch on the cover...well he causes quite the hubbub. If you're looking for a light weekend read Hello, Hollywood! definitely fits that category.


Highland Sanctuary (Highland, Bk 2)
Highland Sanctuary (Highland, Bk 2)
Author: Jennifer Hudson Taylor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 9/30/2011


If you're a fan of Christian fiction or romances set in the Scottish highlands and read them as often as I do you are always looking for new authors in the genre. Last May I discovered new author Jennifer Hudson Taylor through her sweet inspirational, Highland Blessings (currently free for Kindle download!) and I became an immediate fan. This time she once again takes us back to the Highlands with the second book in the series, Highland Sanctuary. You won't be disappointed and the great thing is you do not need to have read Highland Blessings to get this story!

First things first when it comes to this book--discussing the heroine. Yes, I always make it a point to say whether or not I liked the heroine and hero of the romances that I read pointing out things like character flaws, attitude, and whether or not they're unique. This time I can say that Serena Boyd is one of the most unique and interesting of any Christian fiction character I've "met." Sure, she has the spunk and faith of any romance lead but the fact that she does it all while suffering from the falling sickness (known today as epilepsy) gives the entire story a different twist. You can't help but feel terrified for Serena as she faces an entire village who is demanding she be burned at the stake to purge the demon they believe possesses her. And really what good is a romance without a great hero? Well you won't be disappointed in Gavin Mackenzie (although he's a ginger-haired guy I don't hold that against him). ;-) He holds his own against Iain, the lord of Castle Braigh in the quest for Serena's hand.

Highland Sanctuary is a great story of discovering that one's true home is wherever love is found. There are also some great lessons concerning faith and wolves in sheep's clothing that really make you think. If you're looking for a sweet escape to the lochs and glens of the highlands this book will do the trick!


Jane
Jane
Author: April Lindner
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 6/17/2011


Okay a retelling of Jane Eyre, cool right? Meh. This book had so much potential but some of the dialogue which was great in the original didn't seem to fit in this modern take but the author used it anyway. However, as a first novel it was pretty good. I thought it was really cool that Rochester, known as Nico in this book, was a rockstar because I always thought that Rochester was the rockstar of the classic romance heroes. Sorry Mr. Darcy I love you but you just don't have that kind of swagger. ;-)


Let Them Eat Cake (French Twist, Bk 1)
Let Them Eat Cake (French Twist, Bk 1)
Author: Sandra Byrd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 2/13/2013
Helpful Score: 1


I love sweets so when I first heard about this French Twist series a few years ago I was immediately intrigued. I'm so happy to have finally had the chance to read the first book, Let Them Eat Cake. Woven into the story are well-placed recipes for sweets and treats like coconut cake and "Boyfriend Bait" and that's not good if you're easily tempted to try these mouth-watering delights for yourself as I am! Reader beware, this book will not help your waistline one bit! Lexi is definitely a talent in the kitchen and I love how it's reflected with the inserted recipes.

I loved Lexi's journey from being stuck in a cubicle, to perfecting her recipes, to dreaming about a job in Paris. Even though it's Christian fiction this very much reminds me of the film Sabrina. If there's any romance for Lexi as it looks like there's going to be, hopefully it's just as sigh worthy as one of my favorite classic films.

Let Them Eat Cake ends with quite the cliffhanger. It will be interesting to see just how Lexi adjusts to her new life and how she copes away from her family and new found friends. Trust me, if you enjoyed her story as much as I did you will want to have book 2, Bon Appetit on hand to read immediately. Let Them Eat Cake is free on Kindle now through February 14, 2013, so if you want to take a chance on this great book you can!


*I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from the publisher/author. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.*


Lonestar Angel (Lonestar, Bk 4)
Lonestar Angel (Lonestar, Bk 4)
Author: Colleen Coble
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 11/2/2011


There's nothing I like more than a cowboy hero and Colleen Coble sure knows how to write 'em. With each book in the Lonestar series the characters just keep getting better and better and the romances are sweeter. Whether you're a fan of westerns or not Coble ropes you into life on a Texas ranch, so much so that you don't want to leave as it feels like you're abandoning old friends. There's no such thing as a slow beginning in any of the books of the series including this one. It's almost a guarantee that you will be turning page after page until you get to the end--in one sitting!

At first glance I thought that this wasn't going to feature a lovely cowboy (is that an oxymoron?) but some city slicker named Kent but I am SO glad one of Coble's famous cowboys soon came on the scene. From the first chapter on you can't help but want everything to work out for Eden and Clay and hope that they discover the daughter they never stopped loving in Bluebird Crossing, Texas. The sparks fly between the two in spite of how Eden left things when she ran out on Clay years ago. If you're a romance junkie who thrives on tension, you will be pleased. ;-) The foster kids who are guests at the ranch are so adorable and you will just love the ending of their story too!

Some parts of the story were slightly hard to believe for example, I couldn't believe a mother would ever give up hope of finding her child alive, especially if she was never proved to be dead but it was still a story I wouldn't hesitate to read again. If you're used to a ton of action and adventure this book is kind of low key in that aspect but there is a touch more suspense than your regular run of the mill romances. All in all I recommend this entire series including, Lonestar Angel to everyone who loves a sweet, not to preachy romance.

*I received my complimentary copy of this book through Booksneeze. I was not obligated to provide a positive review.*


1 to 20 of 55 - Page: