Michelle A. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 66 - Page:
Above the Thunder
Above the Thunder
Author: Renee Manfredi
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 7/14/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This is a great book to read if you want to get lost in the book. The characters of this book are so believable, and I was always left wondering what was going to happen next. I had never heard of this author or book before I picked it up at a used book sale, but I loved it. I was very sad when I finished with it.


The Almost Moon
The Almost Moon
Author: Alice Sebold
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 336
Review Date: 4/19/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I really liked this book. The story is both shocking and suspenseful. I found the book hard to put down, and it kept me up late at night reading. The only reason that I didn't give it 5 stars was because the ending of the book left too much for my own interpretation, and I wanted a solid "this is what happened" ending. Otherwise, excellent book!


And Sometimes Why
And Sometimes Why
Author: Rebecca Johnson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 12/11/2010
Helpful Score: 2


So-so book. Not particularly deep or memorable, but also not a chore to read.


Annie Freeman's Fabulous Traveling Funeral
Annie Freeman's Fabulous Traveling Funeral
Author: Kris Radish
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 300
Review Date: 1/26/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Painfully boring book. I struggled through all 331 pages of this book.


Beachcombers
Beachcombers
Author: Nancy Thayer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 8/14/2011


I found this book not very engaging or interesting. The three sisters don't have a profound bond to each other or anyone else. They are each faced with different romantic situations, 2 of which I found fake and irritating. (1 has an affair with a married man. 1 gets involved with a man that she clearly finds beneath her and then calls it love???) I have read other Nancy Thayer books which I have enjoyed, but with this one, I wish I wouldn't have wasted my time.


Before You Know Kindness
Before You Know Kindness
Author: Chris Bohjalian
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 270
Review Date: 6/15/2013


I've always thought of Chris Bohjalian as a subtler, more sophisticated Jodi Picoult. He takes complex, controversial topics & writes novels centered around them. This is another of those books. At times, I was intrigued. At other times, I found the book tedious. Overall, a good read if you can find the patience for it.


Belong to Me
Belong to Me
Author: Marisa De Los Santos
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 185
Review Date: 12/11/2010


Great book! Marisa de Los Santos makes words flow together as she writes. The story was both endearing & surprising. The only thing that disappointed me was that some of the characters from the first book (Love Walked In) were barely mentioned in this one. I can't wait until de Los Santos writes another book!


The Birth House
The Birth House
Author: Ami McKay
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 159
Review Date: 12/11/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Typically, I don't like historical fiction, BUT I found this one interesting & entertaining to read. Makes you appreciate all of the comforts we enjoy today, both as a modern person & a woman.


Body Surfing
Body Surfing
Author: Anita Shreve
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 259
Review Date: 9/10/2008
Helpful Score: 1


One of the best books I've read in a long time. I'm surprised by some of the other reviews listed here because I thoroughly enjoyed this book from the first page to the last. The story drew me in quickly, and I was annoyed anytime I was interrupted from reading it.


The Book of Bright Ideas
The Book of Bright Ideas
Author: Sandra Kring
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 268
Review Date: 4/18/2010


Interesting book. Not the best book that I've ever read, but a good summer read.


Breaking the Silence
Breaking the Silence
Author: Diane Chamberlain
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 8/12/2012


Loved every page of this book. Very engaging story with lots of twists that I didn't see coming.


Britt-Marie Was Here
Britt-Marie Was Here
Author: Fredrik Backman, Henning Koch (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 1/9/2019


Britt-Marie is such a lovable, annoying character! This story continues her storyline from My Grandma Said to Tell You Thank You. It's a feel-good story that highlights her transformation and that of a tiny town she moves to.


A Can of Peas (Lake Emily, Bk 1)
A Can of Peas (Lake Emily, Bk 1)
Author: Traci DePree
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 83
Review Date: 12/11/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I stumbled upon this series accidentally, but I was so happy that I did. The characters are so simple-hearted that it just made me feel good all over to read this series. The plot lines were predictable and not very complex, which some readers might not like, but therein lies the beauty of this series.


The Center of Everything
The Center of Everything
Author: Laura Moriarty
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 179
Review Date: 12/14/2011


Disappointed by this book. It seemed anticlimactic and didn't go anywhere in the end. It was an easy read though, so I gave it 2 stars.


Coast Road
Coast Road
Author: Barbara Delinsky
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 7/2/2012


I didn't like this book. Boring, predictable storyline with characters that I felt nothing for. She has written other books that have been better.


Come Home
Come Home
Author: Lisa Scottoline
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 84
Review Date: 7/10/2013


I know a lot of other reviewers like this book, but I found the storyline clichéd and predictable. I didn't like the characters and found the writing somewhat immature.


The Courage Tree
The Courage Tree
Author: Diane Chamberlain
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 4/25/2010


Very suspenseful book. I didn't like the characters so much, but the suspense of the book kept me coming back for more. By the end of the book, I couldn't put it down. There are several secets woven throughout the book that I didn't see coming.


Driving Sideways
Driving Sideways
Author: Jess Riley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 2/25/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Quirky & fun! A good beach or airplane read! My husband got so tired of hearing all of the witty & quite cheesy sayings from the book. If you're looking for a deep, heartfelt book, then this is not the one. BUT...if you're looking for a fun, light-hearted book, then you'll enjoy it.


Evening (MTI) (Vintage Contemporaries)
Evening (MTI) (Vintage Contemporaries)
Author: Susan Minot
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 71
Review Date: 2/7/2011
Helpful Score: 2


I found this book hard to like, even after finishing it. The main character, Ann, is a rather weak woman who spent most of her life being defined by the men in her life and just flowing along with whatever they wanted. She takes no real responsibility for anything in her life, including decisions she makes or doesn't make. In the book, she is dying, and as she does so, she looks back at her life and focuses mostly on one particular weekend spent with a man who was engaged to someone else. What a sad thing for her to focus on instead of all of the other things in her life, like her children, whom she barely thinks about as she lays dying!


Eye Contact
Eye Contact
Author: Cammie McGovern
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 156
Review Date: 4/29/2012


I really liked this book...until I was about 2/3 of the way through. The beginning was very engrossing, and I wanted to find out what would happen. Then, about 2/3 of the way through, it seemed like the writing just crumbled. In the conversation with the author following the book, she writes that she kept changing and rewriting the book, including who ended up being the killer...and it felt that way when reading the ending. It felt like she kept changing her mind. So, overall, a nice book, but the ending was disappointing.


1 to 20 of 66 - Page: