Facebook

Patty A. (gypsyvelvet) - Reviews

1 to 15 of 15
And the Shofar Blew
And the Shofar Blew
Author: Francine Rivers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 137
Review Date: 8/10/2012


This is one of the best books I've read lately. I was really frustrated by the main character for his lack of concern for his wife's needs. This and Leota's Garden are Ms Rivers best books yet.


Bark M For Murder
Bark M For Murder
Author: Chassie West, Virginia Lanier, J. A. Jance, Lee Charles Kelley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 9/22/2009


I really injoyed J.A.Jance and Virginia Lanier's contribution to this book. They are two of my favorite authors. The other two authors I had never read before, but their stories were good.


Dead Man's Walk (Lonesome Dove, Bk 3)
Dead Man's Walk (Lonesome Dove, Bk 3)
Author: Larry McMurtry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 83
Review Date: 2/17/2010


Although not as good as Lonesome Dove this book tells about Gus and Woodrow's early years in the Texas Rangers and gives a lot of historical info about the indian wars in Texas and Mexico. I did enjoy this book a lot.


Death in Bloodhound Red (Bloodhound, Bk 1)
Death in Bloodhound Red (Bloodhound, Bk 1)
Author: Virginia Lanier
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 8/10/2010


I love Ms Lanier's bloodhound books. The characters are wonderfully human, and the animals are wonderfully animal. Take a good ol' Southern gal, assorted bloodhounds, one very independent cat, an ex-prostitute assistent, a handsome policeman, then throw in an abusive ex-husband, and a wonderful cast of odd-ball neighbors, villans, clients, and drug growers, mix together with the swamp, mosquitos, and puppy eating alligators and you have very intertaining reading. I really wish Virginia Lanier would have written more books.


Hot Six (Stephanie Plum, Bk 6)
Hot Six (Stephanie Plum, Bk 6)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1964
Review Date: 8/15/2009


Stephanie Plum and Lula are at it again, and do not disappoint. They are sexy, funny and always in trouble. A really good funny book.


Like Dandelion Dust
Like Dandelion Dust
Author: Karen Kingsbury
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 194
Review Date: 2/17/2010


Typical Karen Kingsbury book, which means you need a box of tissue handy while reading it. The people in this book are believable, and it makes you wonder what you would do in this situation. Good Christian message!


The Little Stranger
The Little Stranger
Author: Sarah Waters
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 7/30/2010
Helpful Score: 4


Eerie book. Brings to mind Shirley Jacksons "The Haunting of Hell House". Madness,obsession, strange unexplained goings on. While reading this book, you catch an undercurrent of something not quite right, something evil. A very good read for a stormy night, if you don't want to sleep.


Mrs. Mike (Mrs. Mike, Bk 1)
Mrs. Mike (Mrs. Mike, Bk 1)
Author: Benedict Freedman, Nancy Freedman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 1/24/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I first read this book when I was 12 years old, and have been in love with Mike Flannigan ever since. I dig this out and read it about twice or three times a year. It is the best book I've ever read, and I have read a lot of books. I was very happy when I found out that there was a sequel written, called "The Search for Joyfull". Read this book, especially if you like books about the frontier, or the far north. You will not be disappointed.


Rewriting Monday
Rewriting Monday
Author: Jodi Thomas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 2/17/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I love the people in Jodi Thomas' books. This book lived up to my expectations. A really good read.


Sedona Storm
Sedona Storm
Author: Barbara Scott, Carrie Younce
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 2/17/2010


Excellant book about spiritual warefare. I've read this book several times, and enjoyed it every time. I wish these ladies would write some more books.


The Summer Hideaway (Lakeshore Chronicles, Bk 7)
The Summer Hideaway (Lakeshore Chronicles, Bk 7)
Author: Susan Wiggs
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 224
Review Date: 8/5/2010
Helpful Score: 2


I just finished this book, and loved it. I read it in 1 day. The characters are well rounded and believable. I loved the character of George Bellamy, an elderly gentleman who wants to see his grandson happy in love before he dies. I love the way Susan Wiggs recognizes the importance of family. I highly recommend this book. Have tissue ready.


A Thousand Tomorrows
A Thousand Tomorrows
Author: Karen Kingsbury
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 85
Review Date: 2/17/2010


You need a huge box of tissues to read this book. I love all Karen Kingsbury books, and this one delivers everything I hoped it would.


Thunderhead
Thunderhead
Author: Douglas Preston, Lincoln Child
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 292
Review Date: 5/22/2014


This is one of my all time favorite books. I have always been interested in the cave dwellings of the southwest and you add in Mr. Preston and Mr. Child's creepy imaginations, and you have the makings of a book full of action and suspense. The eeriness of the locale and and lore of the skin-walkers and this book may just keep you up all night reading. I highly recommend this book if you like creepiness.


White Fire (Pendergast, Bk 13) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 5/22/2014


I was a little disappointed in this book. I love the Pendergast books, but this one seemed to lack the creepiness of the other books. It was a good read, but I did have the mystery figured out by the middle of the book. It was a little run-of-the-mill for these two talented writers.


The Witness
The Witness
Author: Dee Henderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 219
Review Date: 8/15/2009


I was very disappointed in this book. I have read other books by Dee Henderson and really liked them, but this book seemed to start slow and really went nowhere. Sorry, but it wasn't my favorite Dee Henderson book.


1 to 15 of 15