Facebook

Jennifer H. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 20
The 39 Clues Book 11: Vespers Rising - Library Edition (39 Clues. Special Library Edition)
Review Date: 8/27/2011


This book is just as good as the other books in the series! My 13 yr old son read this book in a day! I couldn't wait 2 get my hands on it. Once I did, I 2 completed it in less than a day! It's a book that u will gobble right up!! I enjoyed it so much....can't wait until the next one is published. You learn all about the background of Amy and Dan and learn a whole lot about Grace Cahill and her family of origin. Even if ur an adult, you will LOVE this series! So pick it up & read it so u and ur child can discuss it 2gether. U won't regret it.


Babylon Rising, (Babylon Rising, Bk 1)
Babylon Rising, (Babylon Rising, Bk 1)
Author: Greg Dinallo, Tim LaHaye
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 2/16/2011


I just finished this book and it is very interesting. It is a work of fiction but the main character draws u into the story so deeply that at times u feel as though ur actually a part of the story!


The Birthday Room
The Birthday Room
Author: Kevin Henkes
Book Type: Library Binding
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/3/2011


I LOVE this book! When I was teaching we read this book everytime a child had a birthday in our room. The bday child got to turn each page and follow the directions. It was a hit every year!! Kevin Henkes is a great cihldren's author. One of my favorites!!


Creating a Win-Win IEP for students with Autism
Creating a Win-Win IEP for students with Autism
Author: Beth Fouse
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/14/2011


I've had this book for several years and I really enjoy using it to write goals for my son prior to the annual IEP meeting. It really helps me keep my mind in order. Every goal I have written using this book as help, have been added to my son's IEP. It's a book worthwhile having in your home library if you have IEP meetings to go to. It's also a great manual if you are a teacher.


Don't Check Your Brains At The Door
Don't Check Your Brains At The Door
Author: Josh McDowell, Bob Hostetler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 2/27/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I bought this book for our 12 year old son but his father and I love it too. It is a book that really helps one to understand their faith in Jesus Christ & that b/c we have faith it doesn't mean that we are now clueless/stupid. God made us with brains so we need to use them in all areas of our lives~our faith included.


For Women Only : What You Need to Know About the Inner Lives of Men
Review Date: 2/26/2011
Helpful Score: 1


LOVE this book! Will definitely be keeping it 4 reference. I've been married for only 1 1/2 years but this book really opened my eyes to what is going on in my hubby's head. Thanks Shaunti!


Free for All Cooking: 125 Easy Gluten-Free, Allergen-Free Recipes the Whole Family Can Enjoy
Review Date: 4/27/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This book has it all!! We have a child with autism on the GFCF diet and I cannot eat soy. This book is the best I've seen for our diet!! Jules does a WONDERFUL job of providing options for all 150 recipes/ I check all books out from the library prior to purchasing them and this book I DEFINETLY WANT in my cookbook lilbrary. This book is great for those with the common food allergies....she lists substitutions and everything. BTW, it's 150 recipes not 125.


Joel
Joel
Author: Joel Sonnenberg, Gregg Lewis
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 9/29/2011
Helpful Score: 1


My son and I met Joel at a Family Retreat in PA thru Joni and Friends Ministry. He is an amazing young man who endured a lot. This story will warm your heart. He made us all laugh and cry and reading his book was icing on the cake. God is using Joel to spread His message throughout the world. Read this book~ Joel is an inspiring young man.


Just In Case You Ever Wonder
Just In Case You Ever Wonder
Author: Max Lucado, Rosanne Kaloustian (Illustrator)
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 3/1/2011


My son and I LOVE this book! He is now 13 and it is a book full of memories that we read together now. I used 2 read it 2 him every night when he was much younger. Max Lucado is a GREAT author!


The Lost Hero (Heroes of Olympus, Bk 1)
The Lost Hero (Heroes of Olympus, Bk 1)
Author: Rick Riordan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 115
Review Date: 8/27/2011


Rick has done it again!! Another series that grabs you!!! My 13 yr old son & I got it as soon as it came out in the bookstore and he read it in the morning and I read it in the afternoon! WE R READY 4 BOOK 2 NOW!!

SPOILER WARNING: When u get 2 the end b ready 2b angry!! I was so frustrated that the story ended where it did-what a CLIFF HANGER!!!!!

Another book series 2 read with your tween/teen so u can discuss it with him/her. In fact, this book is good enough 2 read more than once. Rick is a very detailed writer and the 2nd time thru uc so much more than u did the 1st time thru. ENJOY!!


The Mocktail Bar Guide : 200 Recipes for Safe and Sober Parties
Review Date: 6/14/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This book has some very interesting 'drinks' in it! I can't wait to make these for my son and our family during our summer cookouts. I know they'll love it and it's so much cheaper than buying alcohol to make the same drinks. It's a great book to have if you are into non-acalholic drinks....


My Sister's Keeper
My Sister's Keeper
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4042
Review Date: 4/3/2011


This book was so much better than the movie. Details that were glossed over on the screen were spelled out in details here. I did't want to put it down and the ending broke my heart! This book stayed pretty vivid in my mind for several days after reading it....there is so much that people take for granted and this book should tell all who reads it that no one knows the exact day or time they will die. Make sure you live everyday to the fullest. Really live your life!


One Child
One Child
Author: Torey Hayden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 172
Review Date: 3/7/2011
Helpful Score: 4


This book will make u cry and laugh. Torey Hayden is a prolific writer and caring teacher. This is the first book I've read written by her and though I couldn't put the book down once I started, there were many times where I had 2 close my eyes and cry as to the horrors done to this little girl. As I read, I thought back on the children I have taught. I pray there are more teachers out there like Torey who give their all for the children in their classroom each year and are able to renew that same love and interest each year. I know that I tend to fall in love with my children too and they all become mine as the year progresses....many times over I have wished that there was a way to get their parents the love and understanding that they need as much as their children. You will enjoy this book tremendously and it will definitely tug at your heart strings.


The Pact: A Love Story
The Pact: A Love Story
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1185
Review Date: 4/3/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Not as riveting as my sister's keeper. I actually couldn't finish the book. It didn't seem to be written as seamlessly and didn't have the flow that grabs my attention and hooks me into the story.


The Power of a Praying Parent
The Power of a Praying Parent
Author: Stormie Omartian
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 2/17/2011


I LOVE this book. It offers great details in how to pray for your child(ren). The prayers are wonderful starting off points to keep u focused on exactly what u r praying 4 and y.


Simply Romantic Dates on a Dime (Simply Romantic)
Review Date: 2/16/2011


Cute ideas-but u really can come up with these and many more on your own if you just sit down and talk about what u and ur spouse like 2 do~with your spouse!! If not, then this book is 4u.


Simply Romantic Tips to Romance Your Husband (Simply Romantic Tips)
Review Date: 2/16/2011


Some cute ideas in here but I found that studying my husband and learning what he enjoys is my best bet in doing small romantic things for him on a daily basis.


Slim Smoothies : Over 130 Healthy and Energizing Recipes Without All the Calories
Review Date: 4/3/2011


If u r looking fro a book with weight loss smoothies, I guess this is it. I didn't really like this book or the other ones in her series. Thank God I checked them out of the library first.


The Ultimate Smoothie Book : 101 Delicious Recipes for Blender Drinks, Frozen Desserts, Shakes, and More!
Review Date: 2/26/2011


I got this book with hopes of using it with my vitamix but there is really not much here. The best part 4 us was the part where she talked about fruits and what they can do for your body. Just got this and I think I will be re-swapping it back into the system. Perhaps someone else will enjoy it more~but I suggest you get it only if u plan on using a juicer. This book is basically a smoothie book for juicers....


Wrightslaw: From Emotions to Advocacy - The Special Education Survival Guide
Review Date: 6/14/2011


I love this book! If you have a child with special needs, this is the book to start with. I have fought many a fight with our child study team and used the pointers found in this book. It also gives you a website to go to so you can check out updated laws, etc. A MUST HAVE for a parent of a child with special needs!!


1 to 20 of 20