Linda K. (lindakny) - Reviews

1 to 16 of 16
Adventures in Jewish Cooking
Adventures in Jewish Cooking
Author: Jeff Nathan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/2/2010


I like it but not my favorite cookbook


The Complete Passover Cookbook
The Complete Passover Cookbook
Author: Frances R. Avrutick
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/25/2010


A real oldie but goodie. It is a go to book for traditional Passover Cooking. Everything you need for the Seders and the rest of the Holiday.


Cooking Jewish: 532 Great Recipes from the Rabinowitz Family
Cooking Jewish: 532 Great Recipes from the Rabinowitz Family
Author: Judy Bart Kancigor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/17/2011


I liked this book but did not love it. While interesting as a book, the author has a note for each recipe and many memories of family members. I have not found many recipes that I actually want to make. Most are too heavy, with loads of butter, oil and even chicken fat. I know that was the cooking of the time, but not the kind of food I eat or feed my family.


Enlitened Kosher Cooking
Enlitened Kosher Cooking
Author: Nechama Cohen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/13/2010


This book is gret for diabetics or anyone looking to lower their carb intake. Every recipe I have made was great, but some were time consuming. The best part about it is that the food tastes so good no one will think it is "diet".


Gone for Good (Abridged) (Audio CD)
Gone for Good (Abridged) (Audio CD)
Author: Harlan Coben, Dylan Baker (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 6/13/2010


I really like this book. The story holds you but it is not too deep. Just a good read.


Healthy Helpings: 800 Fast and Fabulous Recipes for the Kosher (or Not) Cook
Review Date: 6/23/2010


Like all of Norene Gilletz's books this one is great. You will go back to it again and again. Simple to prepare healthy food that taste great. What more can you ask for.


Healthy Helpings: 800 Fast and Fabulous Recipes for the Kosher (or Not) Cook
Review Date: 12/19/2009


This is a great book for any cook, kosher or not. It has easy to make healthy recipes that everyone will love. I use it constantly.


Jeff Nathan's Family Suppers: More Than 125 Simple Kosher Recipes
Jeff Nathan's Family Suppers: More Than 125 Simple Kosher Recipes
Author: Jeff Nathan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/27/2010


i really liked the recipes in this book, Easy, quick and uses everyday ingredients. However, it still manages to let you make something different for dinner.


Julie and Julia: My Year of Cooking Dangerously
Julie and Julia: My Year of Cooking Dangerously
Author: Julie Powell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 163
Review Date: 2/2/2010


I liked it. It was a nice book, not too deep but I like cooking so that helped.


The Kite Runner
The Kite Runner
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5710
Review Date: 2/2/2010


Very powerful book.


Kosher by Design Lightens Up: Fabulous food for a healthier lifestyle
Review Date: 10/3/2011


I only gave this book 2 1/2 stars because even though I liked some of the recipes in tis book,it is not the book to get if you are looking for a low calorie/low fat cookbook. One problem is no nutritional information. I think any book that lables itself light should have nutrition facts. Also just reading the recipies I can see there is plenty of fat and calories in these dishes.

However, Ms. Fishbein does try to introduce some good healthier ides and foods to people who may be new to lighter fare. There are much better lowfat/ light cookbooks out there.


The Mermaid Chair
The Mermaid Chair
Author: Sue Monk Kidd
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 1470
Review Date: 2/2/2010


I really liked this book. It took me away to this wonderful island.


Promise Me (Myron Bolitar, Bk 8)
Promise Me (Myron Bolitar, Bk 8)
Author: Harlan Coben
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 490
Review Date: 1/30/2011


I like the Myron Boitar books. They are fast moving and interesting. It is the kind of book I like to relax with.


The Spice and Spirit of Kosher-Jewish Cooking
The Spice and Spirit of Kosher-Jewish Cooking
Author: Lubavitch Women's Organization
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/5/2011


This is a go to cookbook for kosher/Jewish cooking. It also has a wealth of inofrmation about Judisim.


State of Fear (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
State of Fear (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Michael Crichton, George Wilson (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 2/2/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This was a great book. I often mention it when the talk turns to scientific studies and/or climate control. It is a must read.


Winterdance: The Fine Madness of Running the Iditarod
Winterdance: The Fine Madness of Running the Iditarod
Author: Gary Paulsen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 10/24/2011
Helpful Score: 3


I loved this book. More than once I was laughing out loud. It was funny and informative. I went on a cruise to Alaska and wanted to learn more about the Iditarod. This book was so good I could not put it down and finished it in one day.


1 to 16 of 16