Facebook

Ruth D. (ruthless) - , - Reviews

1 to 16 of 16
Big Stone Gap (Big Stone Gap, Bk 1) (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
Big Stone Gap (Big Stone Gap, Bk 1) (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
Author: Adriana Trigiani
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 7/21/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Usually I just read/listen to mysteries but I really enjoyed this novel. The author reads the audio book herself and her nice mountain twang adds much to the book. A book about a 35 year old "spinster" looking deep inside herself after her Mother dies to find out that she is NOT a happy person.
She searches for her "blood" father. She has numerous adventures as the town pharmacist and member of the Rescue Squad in tiny Big Stone Gap, Virginia. Other citizens of the town are some very unique characters.
A book that kept my attention so well that I am ordering more of her books.


Comfort from a Country Quilt (Audio Cassette) (Unabridged)
Comfort from a Country Quilt (Audio Cassette) (Unabridged)
Author: Reba McIntire
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/7/2010


Reba's story in her own beautiful voice and words. She is a "good old country" girl and totally lovable.


Deathlands - Judas Strike
Deathlands - Judas Strike
Author: James Axler
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  ?
Review Date: 7/12/2009


This episode #54 continues with the companions still in the Marshall Islands trying to escape the depraved Baron of the area whose main commodity is knowing the formula for Gunpowder.

More mutated species including fork tongued humaniods try to destroy and devour Ryan and his group of very tired warriors.

There was enough going on and enough different species involved to make this second book still interesting.


Deathlands Savage Armada (Death Lands)
Deathlands Savage Armada (Death Lands)
Author: James Axler
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  ?
Review Date: 7/12/2009


Adventure #53 takes place in the Marshall Islands where even before the nukecaust of 2001, US government was experimenting with nuclear weapons. This episode is full of Pirates with sailing ships, PT boats full of secuity forces and giant spiders and other mutated species.

I like this episode for all the different characters that keep popping up, especially the giant spiders and giant flesh eating condors that just want the companions as a little snack.


DeathLands: Zero City (GraphicAudio - Unabridged Audio Cassette edition)
Review Date: 7/12/2009


This is another exciting episode where the companions actually find food, water and cover for a few days. But this place is guarded by mutants caused by the nukecaust 100 years ago. Dean is injured and can't be moved. Will they be able to hold out against the evil Baron who uses humans for fertilizer until Dean heals? Good action and lots of drama........keeps you awake and wondering while on the road.


Dying to Sell (Realtor, Bk 1)
Dying to Sell (Realtor, Bk 1)
Author: Maggie Sefton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 10/15/2009


I much prefer the knitting mysteries of MS Sefton. Perhaps it is the hectic pace of this real estate agent that puts me off. Anyway, the mystery itself is good and keeps you guessing as to "who dunit". Not sorry that I read it, jus prefer her other books.


Harvest Of Bones (ruth Willmartin, Bk 2)
Harvest Of Bones (ruth Willmartin, Bk 2)
Author: Nancy Means Wright
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 9/15/2009
Helpful Score: 1


THis is a good mystery but has a lot of characters to try to keep straight. Set in Vermont with the main characters being Ruth and Fay who are recently separated from husbands. Each is struggling to maintain a residence in rural Vermont on a farm or bed and breakfast. Nearby a "womens center" is also struggling to maintain their position in the community. In the midst of all, an old skeleton is discovered and many theories abound as to who it is and who did the murder.

I did enjoy the book despite all the over lapping characters whom I had trouble keeping identified. Some of them could have been developed a lot more to make the story easier to follow. I will read her other books.


How Smudge Came
How Smudge Came
Author: Nan Gregory, Ron Lightburn (illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 7/12/2009


This book is very tastefully illustrated and well written for the younger child. The story is realistic and ends happily for all. Puppies are lots of responsibility but wonderful companions. The young lady with Downs Syndrome appears to live in a group home setting and works nearby at a nursing home or care facility. Again very well written.


Miss Zukas and the Library Murders (Miss Zukas, Bk 1)
Miss Zukas and the Library Murders (Miss Zukas, Bk 1)
Author: Jo Dereske
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 87
Review Date: 10/13/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Kind of a quirky series with several unique characters. I enjoyed the first book and will be reading several more of these.


Pandora's Redoubt (Death Lands)
Pandora's Redoubt (Death Lands)
Author: James Axler
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  ?
Review Date: 7/12/2009


In episode #50 of Deathlands, Ryan and his companions take possession of the ultimate War Wag. This is a crude but effective tank that they return to operating condition. But an evil Lady Ward desires the tank for her own means of destruction and domination of the Deathlands in an area that was previously Ohio before the nukecaust in 2001.

Lots of action as always, most of it is shooting and revving of engines in this one. Do the good ones persevere or will this be their last journey? Stay tuned.


Rat King (Deathlands #51) (Unabridged)
Rat King (Deathlands #51) (Unabridged)
Author: James Axler
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  ?
Review Date: 7/12/2009


In Deathlands journey #51, the companion Dr Tanner is set to be processed as one of a six man brained computer. All the companions are taken prisoner in a redoubt that has functioned for the 100 years since the nukecaust isolated from the rest of the world. Needless to say they are a bit mentally challenged due to a very narrow gene pool.

Once again the companions use patience, perseverance and intelligence to overcome their enemies and survive in the USA after the nukecaust. This is one of my favorites


Say Good-Bye (Vet Volunteers, Bk 5)
Say Good-Bye (Vet Volunteers, Bk 5)
Author: Laurie Halse Anderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/7/2010


This is an excellent book for any animal lover. Written for 9-12 age and introduces volunteering with animals, therapy dogs and simple training of your dog. Excellent read.


Shadow World: Deathlands
Shadow World: Deathlands
Author: James Axler
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/12/2009


In Journey #49 invaders from a parallel earth arrive and Ryan is abducted through a time corridor to the twin earth. How will his companions rescue him this time?
I enjoy all the thought provoking audio books in this series. Keeps me awake and going on the road.


Vegetable Magic
Vegetable Magic
Author: Sheilah Kaufman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/16/2009


Over 60 receipes from Aspargus to Zucchini in a small 5 x 7 paperback book. These are quick and small number of ingredients in most of the recipes. Easy to read and yummy to enjoy recipes for Sweet Potato Pie, Fried Bell Peppers, Carrots Divine, etc.


Why We Love Dogs ABC/Limited
Why We Love Dogs ABC/Limited
Author: Unknown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/17/2010


I enjoyed perusing this picture book of black and white photos of dogs. THe author is a pet photographer in New York. Each picture is accompanied by a statement of why we love dogs, such as " because they have big ears"( with Corgi picture) or "because they smile" with a pointer smiling broadly. It is a nice little picture book for any dog lover.
It contains 150 pages with about 70 pictures. THank goodness the dogs are NOT wearing clothes just natural dogs doing dog stuff, many different breeds and mutts too.
Author and photographer Kim Levin's note says " Why we love Dogs is a touching tribute to the unique and endearing qualities of our beloved canine companions."

If you like or love dogs, give it a read.


Worms Eat My Garbage
Worms Eat My Garbage
Author: Mary Appelhof
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 6/23/2009


Tells what you need to know about getting started with composting kitchen garbage using red worms. A bit dry to read but author seems to know her worms.


1 to 16 of 16