Facebook

Brittni H. (venus) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 34 - Page:
Agents of Light and Darkness  (Nightside, Bk 2)
Agents of Light and Darkness (Nightside, Bk 2)
Author: Simon R. Green
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 170
Review Date: 4/26/2009
Helpful Score: 2


The second in the series takes you a step deeper. It still has all of the frivolities and unexplained oddities that either endeared someone to it in the first book, or made them put it down without finishing. Do not go into this with any expectations, Let the story trickle out, picking up speed as it goes along. It is not a book that is going to confuse you, or leave you trying to work out twists and turns so complex you almost want to write them down to get them straight. It's straight-forward, simple, and nearly impossible to read in more than five sittings.
The character is tough, and you are privy to all of his questions, doubts, thoughts, and concerns. It's also a interesting to see whom his very name will either terrify or taunt.
A bit transparent, this second one, but I found it did not deter me from finishing it. Indeed, it was the action, the way they reached the resolution, that drove me on. I'm sure if you're considering getting the second one, I don't need to tell you that already. You already know what makes this a crisp, quick, and great read, and if you don't, I suggest you start with the first one. It's a great introduction, and this is a simple, and great, follow-up. I'm sure I'll enjoy the next one, as well!


The Awakened Heart (Harlequin Romance, No 3339)
The Awakened Heart (Harlequin Romance, No 3339)
Author: Betty Neels
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 6/10/2009


The romance market is saturated with books that are all sex and fireworks. If that is what you are looking for, I suggest you skip this one. In this book, it is a meandering into emotion, not a headrush into a pile of silk sheets, that endears you to the characters.


Bad Moonlight  (Fear Street Super Chillers, Bk 8)
Bad Moonlight (Fear Street Super Chillers, Bk 8)
Author: R. L. Stine
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 6/10/2009


Light scare with a nice undercurrent of mystery and panic threading itself throughout the story. You wander along with Danielle as she finds out her simple life is not at all what it seems. Easy-breezey book that can be read in a few hours, and is great for a car trip!


Boy on the Cover
Boy on the Cover
Author: Phoebe Matthews
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/15/2009


This book is a simple read, and not a bad story in and of itself. It's not going to win any major awards, but it's great for a lazy afternoon or time away during the summer. Books don't have to be sweeping epic stories to have meaning or enjoyment. I read this over a decade and a half ago, yet still remember it to this day. It was short, sweet, non-graphic, and a good way to pass the time.


Children of the Mind (Ender, Bk 4)
Children of the Mind (Ender, Bk 4)
Author: Orson Scott Card
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 361
Review Date: 2/2/2008


I always enjoy OSC's sequels, because they take you places and get you heavily involved with humans and other species. It's interesting, and will keep you involved, particularly given the complex mental aspects of the books. Well worth it!


Cinderella's Midnight Kiss (Silhouette Romance, No 1450)
Cinderella's Midnight Kiss (Silhouette Romance, No 1450)
Author: Dixie Browning
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 10/2/2007


Cute book about an over-whelmed swan who mothers her evil step-family until, kicked out by her wicked step-sister, she's rescued by the speeding knight-in-shining-armor next door. The question is, does she want to be?


Dangerous Spaces
Dangerous Spaces
Author: Margaret Mahy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/2/2007


I've had this book since I was a child, and it's a very good book FOR a child who is interested in scary or mysterious books, but you might not want them jumping into Stephen King or Anne Rice just yet.


Dark Demon (Carpathians, Bk 13)
Dark Demon (Carpathians, Bk 13)
Author: Christine Feehan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 815
Review Date: 2/27/2009


I actually had no clue this was a romance/sex book until I started reading it. To me, it's humor was stale, the lead character was bitchy for little reason, and the story itself was so painfully strewn throughout the story that I finished this in a day or two. Not because it was good, but because I wanted to get it over with.
I love sarcastic, strong lead characters, but the one here seemed to not have a reason for her sarcasm or enjoyment of it. It seems more like an unnecessary and poorly executed attempt to infuse the story with humor.
I won't be reading any of the other books based on this one.


Daughter of the Night
Daughter of the Night
Author: Elaine Bergstrom
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 12/10/2007


This is a good read, and a bit graphic. There were some scenes I felt a little uncomfortable with, but it did not deter me from finishing the well-written story. It delves into vampires and the legacy of The Blood Countess. It's cold and cruel, which was the intent of the writer. Greatly imagined, with historical references and upkeep.


The Day I Met Him (Love Stories #5)
The Day I Met Him (Love Stories #5)
Author: Catherine Clark
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 11/1/2008


Not quite. It's easy to assume so by the summary, but Charlie is more like a hippy/artist. He has his own personality and the interaction between the two is very sweet as it builds from dislike to flirty. It's a good quick read for lazy days on the family boat.


Dead and Alive (Frankenstein, Bk 3)
Dead and Alive (Frankenstein, Bk 3)
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 256
Review Date: 8/14/2009
Helpful Score: 7


I loved the first two Frankenstein books. They came across as tightly formatted and carefully structured, which made me as a reader feel cared for and tended to. You felt the consideration that was put into a well-crafted story, and you were able to enjoy the books greatly because of that. The first two in the series did not have loose ends; every side story was lovingly rendered and came across with a depth, despite or because of their brevity, that was quite enjoyable.
You can imagine my disappointment when some of the side stories become loose threads in the third installment. Conflicting descriptions of the characters bloom in full form, leaving the reader flipping back through the pages of the earlier books in the hopes of having been wrong. The dialogue, where previously creative and enjoyable, is now tedious and uninspired. Situations are made mention of that never come into the story for resolution. Additionally, the hurricane is mentioned at the very beginning only, which had me wondering 'Why bother with it at all, then?' He had all the elements, but he did not do with them what he could have. The frustrating thing is you can see the promise in the story beneath the lack of attention.
The entire book shows Koontz simply phoned it in on this one, and I really expected so much more based on the length of time we had to wait for it to come out. He has left me feeling let down, because it lacked consistency and trumpeted the fact that he went this one solo. All this book gave me was closure, because it certainly lacked the heart and care to give me satisfaction as the previous two had done.


Dictionary of Superstitions
Dictionary of Superstitions
Author: David Pickering
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 10/2/2007


Excellent to have around for halloween, or to take on a long drive! Everything from baldness to pinching people for luck is explained in this book. Truly great coffee table material.


Dragon's Egg
Dragon's Egg
Author: Robert L. Forward
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 2/2/2008


Was not at all what I expected, and was very hard to get into. The style of writing is very disjointed and fails to pull you in to the story itself. It's more like reading science notes, and while I love science, it felt really lacking as far as depth and emotional involvement.


Dreamcatcher
Dreamcatcher
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 322
Review Date: 7/16/2009


Much better than the movie, as they always say, though the movie was a surprisingly faithful re-telling with a lot of the same spirit as the book.
This story is a prime example of King, and he does not disappoint. You can see his determination to create a world within world, exhibited by his dedication to creating phrases that sound natural in the character's speech, yet are unlike the typical phrases we repeat until they lose their impact. The friends in this story are all like pieces in a pizza, having their own edges and sizes, yet meeting in the middle to form part of something bigger.


Echoes of Valor III
Review Date: 7/16/2009


IF you can find it, this is a fantastic collection of stories. Each has a perfectly timeless quality about them, despite the time period they were written in. They use wonderfully descriptive language, and you find yourself ready to flip the page several paragraphs before you're even finished with the page you're on!


Firestarter
Firestarter
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 380
Review Date: 10/2/2007
Helpful Score: 3


A personal favorite of mine of King's. The story of a man trying desperately to keep his dangerously gifted young daughter out of the hands of the government. The well-shaped characters, as always, draw you not only into the story itself, but into the personal lives of those within the story. Like an incredible meal, he never fails to leave you yearning for more, yet oddly satisfied.


From the Corner of His Eye
From the Corner of His Eye
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 255
Review Date: 10/31/2008


I enjoyed the first half of this book, but by the 3/4's and 4/4's I was struggling to even finish it. I kept expecting more, and got less. I know some people truly love this book, and though I understand why, I don't agree. It leads to an ending that it doesn't deliver upon, leaving you feeling as though you were cheated of the proper climax. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone.


The Gift of Fear: And Other Survival Signals that Protect Us from Violence
Review Date: 10/15/2007
Helpful Score: 5


This is an incredible book. I've recommended it to many people, and I'm happy to ship mine to somebody in order to share it. It's key premise is not to be afraid of your own fear, but to utilize it, a lesson De Becker teaches well. Every woman would benefit from this book, as well as law enforcement officials looking to understand high tension situations better.


How to Kiss a Guy (Love Stories #3)
How to Kiss a Guy (Love Stories #3)
Author: Elizabeth Bernard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 11/1/2008


This story is good, particularly for a summer vacation and your daughter has nothing to read. I read it when I was about 13, and I've remembered it all the way until now. It was enjoyable, light-hearted, and addresses easily anybody who wants to change the way they are perceived. It's not the ya-ya sisterhood, or the traveling pants, but it's good in it's own right. This series of romances was much like Harlequin for teens, minus the sex.


I Know What You Did Last Summer
I Know What You Did Last Summer
Author: Lois Duncan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/2/2007


Always better than the movie, and always true, IMO.
The story hits far closer to home when we discover that it's a child, not an adult, in the original story that is hit by four marginally inebriated teenagers, which sobers them rather quickly at that point, but it's too late. We meet the little boy's sister after somebody begins sending cards and stalking the unspeaking quartet. As the sister cheerfully smiles, ecstatic at just having company, our hearts break knowing the tragedy that one moment has caused her family. The secret still remains, however, who is stalking the pact-holders? It's a question that kept me on the edge of my seat the first time I read this fourteen years ago. Will it do the same to you?


1 to 20 of 34 - Page: