Facebook

Colann C. (Colann) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 30 - Page:
Review Date: 8/25/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This book is hysterical. A good look at how the mighty fall hard and then pick themselves up again!! Highly recommend!


The Boleyn Inheritance (Boleyn, Bk 2)
The Boleyn Inheritance (Boleyn, Bk 2)
Author: Philippa Gregory
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 290
Review Date: 12/16/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I thought this book was amazing. After reading many books on this time in history, I found it interesting to read Jane Boleyn's point of view. I haven't read much of her except that she was not highly though of by her husband or Anne Boleyn. Althoug the book is long, I read it in 3 days. Excellent writer! I would recommend all her books


Crown of Glory
Crown of Glory
Author: Rosemary Jarman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 12/13/2008


Great book, it does portray Elizabeth Woodville as a very conniving woman. Highly recommended.


The Daughter of Time (Alan Grant, Bk 5)
The Daughter of Time (Alan Grant, Bk 5)
Author: Josephine Tey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 146
Review Date: 11/30/2008
Helpful Score: 4


This book was one of the best I have ever read. Although it is fiction, it delves into an ancient mystery and uses history. I often wondered how a man like King Richard III changed so suddenly in his beliefs and morals to "murder" his 2 nephews. This book opened my mind to the possibility, and I believe truth, that the murder actually belongs to King Henry VII. Highly recommended!


The Goldsmith's Wife
The Goldsmith's Wife
Author: Jean Plaidy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/23/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Well written and highly recommended!!! The life of a woman who leaves her husband for a king. Interesting life woven into history. Interesting to read the authors version of this piece of history. Even more surprising to me, the lead character, Jane Shore, was an actual person.


Harem
Harem
Author: Dora Levy Mossanen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 7/29/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Very good book. Not at all smutty as the title would suggest


Katherine
Katherine
Author: Anya Seton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/7/2008


excellent book and an easy read


Lady of the Roses
Lady of the Roses
Author: Sandra Worth
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 6/18/2011


This is a great book about a couple on opposing sides of the War of the Roses, but still they found love. Highly reommend!


The Last Boleyn
The Last Boleyn
Author: Karen Harper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 1/17/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Excellent read! I have never read anything from mary boleyn's point of view. Very well researched and written. Tells mary's story from childhood, to her time in France, up until her sisters Anne death. Highly recommended!!


The Last Queen
The Last Queen
Author: C. W. Gortner
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 1/23/2012


This book is fantastic. This is the 1st book I have read about Spanish nobility. I have heard references of Juanita the Loca, this book tells her story very well.


The Last Wife of Henry VIII
The Last Wife of Henry VIII
Author: Carolly Erickson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 107
Review Date: 12/16/2007
Helpful Score: 5


Great book. Interesting on the way it portrays the woman who survived Henry VIII and how she helped shape the future queen.


Mademoiselle Boleyn
Mademoiselle Boleyn
Author: Robin Maxwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 7/22/2009
Helpful Score: 4


This was a good book. It centered around Anne Boleyn before Henry VIII.
It is nice to read a book where the author is trying to know who Anne was and how she got that way. Highly Recommended!


Nefertiti (Nefertiti, Bk 1)
Nefertiti (Nefertiti, Bk 1)
Author: Michelle Moran
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 8/27/2012


This was my first book reading about Egyptian royalty and I was not let down. This book caught my attention in the first 20 pages and kept me up for 2 nights until I was finished. I am looking forward to reading Michelle Moran's other books.

This is more a story of Nefertiti's sister, Mutnodjmet than of Nefertiti. The story transforms you back to a time where a Pharaoh and his queen attempted to change their people's beliefs from multiple Gods to one, Atum. This led to disaster for the country. The selfishness of these two people and the consequences to those around them are astounding.

HIGHLY recommend.


The Princes in the Tower
The Princes in the Tower
Author: Alison Weir
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 72
Review Date: 12/29/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Interesting book. A fact giving book about events of the murders of the two princes. I think you should be interested in the era and have a general knowledge of what and who the people were or it could be overwhelming. I would definately recommend reading it.


Princess
Princess
Author: Jean P. Sasson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 10/12/2007


This book is a true story and it is shocking how women are treated in Saudi Arabia. Very well written and interesting.


The Queen of Subtleties
The Queen of Subtleties
Author: Suzannah Dunn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 12/11/2007


Interesting book. More so about the confectioner's point of view on events surrounding Anne Boleyn.


The Reluctant Queen
The Reluctant Queen
Author: Jean Plaidy
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/26/2008


This book was really amazing. An entirely different look at Richard III through his wives eyes. Highly recommended!


The Romanov Bride
The Romanov Bride
Author: Robert Alexander
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 11/21/2010


This is the 2nd book by Robert Alexander I have read. He has extensive knowledge of this time period and does a great job of being historically accurate. Highly recommend.


The Secret Wife of King George IV
The Secret Wife of King George IV
Author: Diane Haeger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 4/2/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This was an excellent book. Very easy to read.


The Sisters of Henry VIII: The Tumultuous Lives of Margaret of Scotland and Mary of France
Review Date: 11/21/2010


Highly recommend this book. Most books about this period in time are monopolized by King Henry's marriage problems. Although they are addressed in this book, it mostly is about his sister's. More Margaret than Mary.


1 to 20 of 30 - Page: