Margaret H. (mommy5) - , - Reviews

1 to 13 of 13
Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 3674
Review Date: 10/16/2009


I loved this book!! I couldn't put down! It kept me guessing and running along with the characters and OH what a ride. A good "who done it" is always my choice of reading and even better when your guess of "who done it" is way off. As you turn the pages your mind is discovering who is the real villain. I love a good twist. GREAT READ!!


Big Girl
Big Girl
Author: Danielle Steel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 91
Review Date: 4/16/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This was a simple read. I found it very predictable and a little repetative. It could've been about 8 chapters shorter. I wouldn't recommend if you really want to be interested in a book. IF you just feel like reading something, I would choose it.


Buffalo Valley (Dakota, Bk 4) (Large Print)
Buffalo Valley (Dakota, Bk 4) (Large Print)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/11/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book was very difficult to find. B&N didn't even know it existed. None of the used book stores had it in my area either. I ended up ordering it on line. It was nice to visit my Buffalo Valley friends. It was a very simple read and not as detailed as the earlier 3. Even though it was very predictable, it was fun catching up with the characters. It took a busy working mother only 3 days to read, so great weekend book.


Conflict of Interest
Conflict of Interest
Author: Nancy Taylor Rosenberg
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 9/28/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book was about a woman finding a new life after divorce and trying to balance being a mother and high powered lawyer. She also had heart which didn't allow her to give up finding the true killer and the love of her life. I enjoyed this book. I love when a book keeps me guessing. There was a part near the end that was a little "off", but it didn't ruin the book. I recommend it.


Eat, Pray, Love: One Woman's Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia
Review Date: 11/10/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book took me awhile to finish. I did get a little bored a little after the middle of the book. When I got interested in reading again I got right into it. What a great adventure! To me, Gilbert is brave. For a woman to travel without any set plans is very brave in my opinion. I would never have the guts to do what she did. Good thing she can write so well so I was able to experience her adventures, lessons and love through her. The people she met were beautiful and she makes you fall in love with all of them. Even the ones that should be slapped for their behavior. By the time you finish, you end up loving her as well. Totally recommend, just push through that one lull and you will get interested again.


Faithful : A Novel
Faithful : A Novel
Author: Davitt Sigerson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 7/25/2011


This is not my type of book at all. It was too erotic for my taste. I actually only read about 16 pages and I was done.


Glorious Appearing: The End of Days (Left Behind, Bk 12)
Glorious Appearing: The End of Days (Left Behind, Bk 12)
Author: Tim F. LaHaye, Jerry B. Jenkins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 338
Review Date: 7/27/2010


Some of this book is hard to follow because so much of it is in bible verses. What I like is that the verses are explained to the characters and in turn, explained to the reader. Amazing book. Fills me with the feeling of am I doing enough on this earth. I really don't think so. The gifts of the Lord and the reuniting at the end was fantastic. Great book.


The Guardian
The Guardian
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 411
Review Date: 4/16/2010


I enjoyed this book so much. It made me cry and I didn't want to set it down. Great!


Inside Angels & Demons
Inside Angels & Demons
Author: Dan Burstein, Arne de Keijzer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 11/12/2009


While I was reading Angels & Demons it was hard for me to determine what was in Brown's imagination and what was true history. I am currently reading this book and love the wealth of "real" knowledge. Some of the opinions of the contributors in this book really don't like Brown. They say his portrayals are inacurate and not true to the facts. With this said, we have to remember as readers, we are reading a fictional novel. It makes me enjoy Brown's reading that much more because his stories make you wonder which of his facts are real...I would've hated to be his mother when he was a teen...:)


Kingdom Come: The Final Victory (Left Behind Sequel)
Kingdom Come: The Final Victory (Left Behind Sequel)
Author: Jerry B. Jenkins, Tim F. LaHaye
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 8/4/2010


I don't feel the last book in the Left Behind series was the best written. It was nice to have the ending of the story, but the majority of this book was about a very small time period for all but two chapters. The last two chapters went through the last 900 years of the final time on earth. It would've been nice to have some of the rest of the other chapters condensed and spend more time telling about the rest of the character's time spent during this era. I would, however, recommend it to complete the end of a great series.


Losing it - And Gaining My Life Back One Pound at a Time
Losing it - And Gaining My Life Back One Pound at a Time
Author: Valerie Bertinelli
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 9/28/2009


This book reads as if I'm sitting down having a cup of coffee with Valerie. She just talks about her life, choices and experiences. Being in my 40s and reading about her encounters with different people during her teenage years brings back alot of memories. Enjoyable.


The Lost Symbol (Robert Langdon, Bk 3)
The Lost Symbol (Robert Langdon, Bk 3)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 1042
Review Date: 10/29/2009


Dan Brown wrote another great book! I couldn't put it down. I have read all three of the Robert Langdon series in a row and I'm exhausted!! The amount of information to absorb is mind exploding! As always, the ending I thought was going to happen, didn't, always a twist..... I think a good simple romance novel will have to be my next read.


The Wedding
The Wedding
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 674
Review Date: 4/16/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I didn't realize The Notebook continued. This is a story about the adult life and family of one of their children. It took place later in Noah's life but told through the eyes of one of his son-in-laws. I enjoyed it so much and found myself in tears once again with one of Nicholas Sparks' books.


1 to 13 of 13