Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Sarah M. (surfin-sweetie) - Reviews

1 to 13 of 13
All She Wanted
All She Wanted
Author: Aphrodite Jones
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 10/15/2012


This was a great book that told an the in depth story of Brandon Teena. Aphrodite Jones is a great true crime author.


An Early Grave (St. Martin's True Crime Library)
An Early Grave (St. Martin's True Crime Library)
Author: Gary C. King
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 10/15/2012


This was a great book. I couldn't put this one down. I have always been interested in the Ten Binion murder case and this book was very informative. However, it was finished before the conviction was overturned so the book does not go that far. Personally I feel that is how it should have stayed because this book shows evidence of her guilt more than ever.


Casino
Casino
Author: Nicholas Pileggi
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 10/15/2012


This book was very informative of the real players that made up the movie Casino. I really enjoyed this book because I learned alot.


Darkness Descending: The Murder of Meredith Kercher
Review Date: 10/15/2012


I have read quite a few books on the Amanda Knox case and this was one of the better ones. It was very in depth and discussed the DNA in detail. It puts the forensic evidence in perspective. It talked more about Meredith and who she was which I enjoyed because she does seem to be the forgotten party in all of this. Great book.


Deadly Lessons
Deadly Lessons
Author: Ken Englade
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 10/15/2012


I never really followed the Pam Smart case but I love true crime so I try to read as many books as I can. This book was just ok. I mainly say that because this particular case is not all that interesting to me. Not a bad book though.


Fatal Error
Fatal Error
Author: Mark Morris, Paul Janczewski
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 10/15/2012


I watched the Lifetime movie on this called "Fatal Desire" with Anne Heche and even though that is a great movie it was not very accurate with a lot of the details of the case. This book really out the case in perspective for me which I loved. I got find out what was true and what was not in the movie. This story had a lot more to it. This was one of the book that I could not put down. Definitely a page turner.


For Laci : A Mother's Story of Love, Loss, and Justice
For Laci : A Mother's Story of Love, Loss, and Justice
Author: Sharon Rocha
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 100
Review Date: 10/15/2012


This book was wonderfully written. It brought Laci to life and brought her into your heart. Sharon Rocha takes you on her journey from start to finish in this book. When she talks about joy you feel joy, when she talks about pain you feel pain. It is rare to have a book that does that. It also answers any question you have about the case straight up and straightens out any rumors or inaccuracies that are out there. It is a great read and hard to put down once you start. For me personally this especially hit home because I live 10 minutes from Modesto where Laci was from. It is proof positive that monsters are everywhere.


The Fortune Hunter (St. Martin's True Crime Library)
The Fortune Hunter (St. Martin's True Crime Library)
Author: Suzy Spencer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 10/15/2012


Great read. A page turner. gets down to the point about the murder of Steven Beard and tells all about his greedy wife Celeste. This books tells everything about the entire scandal and puts the case and evidence in perspective.


The I-5 Killer
The I-5 Killer
Author: Ann Rule, Andy Stack
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 104
Review Date: 10/15/2012


For me this one was scary. I am familiar with a lot of the places this guy because when I was stationed up in Washington State I drove up there from California and I took I-5. I drove through Oregon and all the way up to Washington. This book was creepy to me. Aside from the personal feelings this was a great book that was really in depth about this case. Ann Rule also delve into Randy Woodfield's past to set the foundation for the book. She is one of the best true crime authors ever. I have yet to read a book of hers I did not like.


Lethal Guardian
Lethal Guardian
Author: M. William Phelps
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 10/15/2012


M. William Phelps is one of my favorite True Crime authors. Even though I was familiar with this case I was still on the edge of seat while reading this. He does a fabulous job keeping you in suspense wondering what wil happen next. A great read!


Lethal Lolita: A True Story of Sex, Scandal and Deadly Obsession (True Crime Library)
Review Date: 10/15/2012


Great book about the Amy Fisher case. I enjoyed it.


Lipstick And Blood
Lipstick And Blood
Author: John Kearney
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 10/15/2012
Helpful Score: 2


Really enjoyed this book a lot. Kept you in suspense and made you want to keep reading than put it down. That is a good book. It also provided a lot of great facts and details about this case. Great book for true crime enthusiasts.


Wiseguy
Wiseguy
Author: Nicholas Pileggi
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 10/24/2012


After reading this book I understand the movie Goodfellas ALOT better. The movie was pretty accurate. I am fascinated by the mob and this book provided me an inside look at the inner workings of the mob and the life on Henry Hill. He truly lived an amazing life and was involved in some crazy things. This book tells all. I also love how parts of this book talk about key points from the story form the points of view of Henry, Karen, and his mistress Linda. Great read!


1 to 13 of 13
Want fewer ads?