Diana B. (AuntDi) - - Reviews

21 to 40 of 142 - Page:
A Companion to Wolves
A Companion to Wolves
Author: Sarah Monette, Elizabeth Bear
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 1/14/2009


This book seems to have come from one of the authors over hearing a man say that life would be simpler if there were no women, just men and their dogs. So we have here a story where the women are incidental, even the mothers, sisters and the mothers of their children. The significant emotional relationships are with the wolves and the significant sexual relationships are with other men. Interesting concept and interesting book, tough to read sometimes, the names and places are a Scandinavian derivative and unpronounceable. Most of the book dealt with the society and politics of the men, although after the first half there were some great battles. Some of the society didn't seem consistent. Sometimes they were a wolf pack and some times a bunch of dog breeders. Worth a read, definitely.


The Confession of Fitzwilliam Darcy
The Confession of Fitzwilliam Darcy
Author: Mary Street
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 3/9/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I'll start this review with my own confession, I haven't read Pride and Prejudice. I did watch the BBC mini-series, if that counts. (I'm guessing not.) In any case, I found this to be a really "delightful" book. It is fairly short at 263 pages and reads quickly and easily. The author did not turn the story into a bodice ripper, but allowed it to be a sweet romance. It makes me think I should find myself a copy of the original.


Cooking Up Murder (Cooking Class, Bk 1)
Cooking Up Murder (Cooking Class, Bk 1)
Author: Miranda Bliss
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 183
Review Date: 6/27/2009


First in the series, this is a so-so effort. Annie is an appealing sleuth, but Eve is hard to like. The motivations aren't bad, but the mystery itself was thin and unbelievable. The barely there romantic sub-plot was just wrong. I may pick up the next one if I stumble upon it, but I won't go looking for it and I would hope that Eve fades into the background.


The Courtship Dance (Matchmakers, Bk 4)
The Courtship Dance (Matchmakers, Bk 4)
Author: Candace Camp
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 185
Review Date: 3/1/2009


Books like this one are the reason I keep returning to historical romances. Nothing unique or surprising, but a good solid romance with characters that you care about. I even cried a few tears at the end. This is the last of a series of four books. It could be read as a stand alone, but if you read the other books first, you are really eager to see this couple get their HEA.


Crime Seen (Psychic Eye, Bk 5)
Crime Seen (Psychic Eye, Bk 5)
Author: Victoria Laurie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 329
Review Date: 6/6/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Wow, I don't remember Abby being such a ditz or Dutch being such a doormat. Abby was almost unlikable here, lying to and manipulating Dutch and being an idiot who really deserved to be shot. The dialogue between her and Candice was laughable at times ("I feel ya."). This has been an enjoyable series, but this book really disappointed me. I'll give her another shot, but if the next book is like this one, I think that will be all for me.


Curse of the Spellmans (Izzy Spellman, Bk 2)
Curse of the Spellmans (Izzy Spellman, Bk 2)
Author: Lisa Lutz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 113
Review Date: 2/9/2009
Helpful Score: 3


The second book in the Spellman series. I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The mystery elements of the story are secondary to the story of Izzy's relationships with each of her family members. Each character is well drawn and individual. They are funny and touching (in an odd kind of way) and a joy to read about. Kind of like a cross between Stephanie Plum and Seinfeld. I anxiously await book three, Revenge of the Spellmans.


Dark Curse (Carpathians (Dark), Bk 16)
Dark Curse (Carpathians (Dark), Bk 16)
Author: Christine Feehan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 206
Review Date: 3/20/2009


Of the three series that Feehan is writing now, I find that this one is the one that seems to be getting stale. This book is better than the previous few in that there is progress on the continuing story of the lack of Carpathian women and children. There is also some great back story about the Dragonseekers. The hero is a fine Carpathian man, much like the rest of them. The heroine is sometimes hard to like and understand. At the end of the book there is an appendix with Carpathian chants and a dictionary, only useful for a Carpathian fanatic.


Dark Light (Harmony, Bk 5)
Dark Light (Harmony, Bk 5)
Author: Jayne Castle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 234
Review Date: 3/10/2009


What an awful cover, this cover model has really, really bad hair. That said, this is another quick paranormal read from Castle in her Ghosthunter series. The suspense part of the story was better than average and the Elvis dust bunny is adorable. The romances in the series are slighted somewhat in that the couple forms a psychic connection when they first meet, so there is less of a build up to their togetherness. If you like this series, try Robin D. Owens Celta's Heart Mates series.


Dark of Night (Troubleshooters, Bk 14)
Dark of Night (Troubleshooters, Bk 14)
Author: Suzanne Brockmann
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 6/2/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Taken as a stand alone novel, this is a fine example of romantic suspense. Taken as part of the Troubleshooters series, it has it's ups and downs. We've watched Deck and Sophia for a while now and been teased and waited for their story. I am not necessarily against how it worked out, but it seems that there were drastic personality changes with Deck, who was apparently never that interested in Sophia, and Dave, (who has been a favorite of mine) becoming just as testosterone laden as the rest of the guys, and Tracey, who at one time couldn't work the coffee machine, now being the sharpest knife in the drawer. That was jarring. Overall I enjoyed the story, but was disappointed in the character changes. And Brockmann should just stick with straight up sex, she doesn't know what to do with anything harder edged.


Dead and Gone (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 9)
Dead and Gone (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 9)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 948
Review Date: 5/10/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Wow, lots going on in this book with very little time for Sookie to catch her breath. The weres come out, the fairies go to war, Bill gets all noble, Erik gets possessive, and not everyone makes it out alive. I love the series, but I think I would have enjoyed this book more if there were a little more down time to reflect and explain. At just over 300 pages, there was some room there. Some bad things happen, and I can't wait for the next one to see where it all leads.


Death Angel
Death Angel
Author: Linda Howard
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 206
Review Date: 5/21/2009
Helpful Score: 4


Admittedly this was a strange sort of couple for something that would classify as romantic suspense. They were both generally unsympathetic at the start of the story, but I have to say, the romance and the characters grew on me. In many ways very touching in the style of some of Howard's best romances and left you to feel that these two people were more nearly whole together than apart.


Deathwish (Cal and Niko Leandros, Bk 4)
Deathwish (Cal and Niko Leandros, Bk 4)
Author: Rob Thurman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 77
Review Date: 8/10/2009


I have always been a fan of the series, but this book was outstanding. The chapters alternate first person point of view between Cal and Niko. It was really great to see Niko from the inside and see how he understands that he is a better person for having Cal in his life, regardless of the troubles that they face together. It explains the Georgie situation in a different way too and I am beginning to see how Cal and Georgie don't fit together. Not to be missed!


Desire Unchained (Demonica, Bk 2)
Desire Unchained (Demonica, Bk 2)
Author: Larissa Ione
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 380
Review Date: 3/27/2009
Helpful Score: 2


The second book in Ione's Demonica series continues to expand on the fascinating world she introduced us to in the first book. Shade and Runa were introduced in the 1st book and their story is hot and sweet and has me hooked on the series. I'm looking forward to reading more about Wraith and Gem and Luc and the rest of the staff at Underworld General Hospital.


The Devil Who Tamed Her (Locke Family, Bk 2)
The Devil Who Tamed Her (Locke Family, Bk 2)
Author: Johanna Lindsey
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 96
Review Date: 2/7/2009
Helpful Score: 1


It's been a long while since I've read a Johanna Lindsey romance and I really enjoyed this. The heroine's "transformation" was somewhat abrupt as she just suddenly realized she had been mean and selfish and then felt really bad about it, but there were some nice emotional moments. This is apparently the second book in a series, but I didn't read the first and didn't feel that I missed anything.


Diary of a Wimpy Kid (Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Bk 1)
Diary of a Wimpy Kid (Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Bk 1)
Author: Jeff Kinney
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 176
Review Date: 3/22/2009
Helpful Score: 2


My 10 year old niece handed me this book and told me that I had to read it because it was so funny. I really didn't expect too much, but I have to say I laughed out loud. It's definitely for kids, but it's a quick read for adults and has a few really funny moments. I had heard that this was a popular book for boys, but I can't imagine any 9-12 year old not getting a kick out of it.


The Door in the Hedge
The Door in the Hedge
Author: Robin McKinley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 72
Review Date: 6/13/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This is a reprint of a collection of fairy tales originally published in 1981. The stories are magical and lyrical, often reading like poetry, painting lovely visual pictures and crying to be read aloud.


Double Enchantment (Relics of Merlin,  Bk 2)
Double Enchantment (Relics of Merlin, Bk 2)
Author: Kathryne Kennedy
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 6/27/2009


Second in a series set in an alternate Victorian England where there is magic and magical creatures, this is not quite as good as the first, but still a fun and enjoyable read. It is not necessary to read the series in order as there appears to be (after 3 books) little or no crossover between the stories.


Dragon Actually (Dragon Kin, Bk 1)
Dragon Actually (Dragon Kin, Bk 1)
Author: G. A. Aiken
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 248
Review Date: 4/11/2009
Helpful Score: 5


This is a romp of a romance. There is no subtlety or nuance, the good guys are good and the bad guys are bad and the bad guys get eaten, or beheaded. But the romances are hot and sweet and the characters are likeable. A recommended read for fans of Sandra Hill's Viking romances.


The Dragon Master (Dragon, Bk 3)
The Dragon Master (Dragon, Bk 3)
Author: Allyson James
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 85
Review Date: 4/19/2009


This is the third book in a series about dragon shapeshifters. The concept of this series is interesting, but James has really limited her world building, it hasn't expanded much beyond the main character couples of the books. It doesn't give the reader much of a chance to say "oh - I can't wait for so-and-so's story". This romance was not as good as Malcolm and Saba's, which I think is the best so far, and Carol and Seth are not as likeable as Caleb and Lisa, but it's still very readable. It is a good overall series and I will keep reading.


Ecstasy (Shadowdwellers, Bk 1)
Ecstasy (Shadowdwellers, Bk 1)
Author: Jacquelyn Frank
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 369
Review Date: 3/6/2009
Helpful Score: 6


This is the 1st in a new series set in the Nightwalker world, which I have enjoyed, but this one was a difficult book to get through. Shadowdwellers may be a breed of Nightwalker, but their politics and culture and physiology and everything about them is different and it was a lot to cram into one book and you're still left not really understanding things. The romance takes a back seat to the world building (that is somewhat clumsily done). I'm on the fence with this one, so I will probably read the next one to see if it improves.


21 to 40 of 142 - Page: