Dixie K. (kona-dixy) - Reviews

1 to 19 of 19
Breathe: Creating Space for God in a Hectic Life
Breathe: Creating Space for God in a Hectic Life
Author: Keri Wyatt Kent
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 8/23/2010
Helpful Score: 2


Liked the individual stories of the crammed full, overly scheduled lives of people, many of whom are doing activities for their ministry. Very thought-provoking "exercises" in each chapter. A quick read - but the journaling or answering the questions require your time and honest introspection. Not only Christian lives are examined. "...pay attention...purposely...One of the keys to simplicity is mindfulness. Being intentional, paying attention. It's about being present in the moment but keeping the big picture in mind. Living mindfully means choosing carefully what you say no to and yes to, and knowing why you are doing so..." page 115


Deeper Than Desire
Deeper Than Desire
Author: Cheryl Holt
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/16/2019


A love story with the focus on more than one couple and competing secondary characters usually confuses and exasperates me. This story did not. Enjoyed how the storylines intertwined and eventually resolved.


Early Bird: A Memoir of Premature Retirement
Early Bird: A Memoir of Premature Retirement
Author: Rodney Rothman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 3/15/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Enjoyed the essays. This author is easy to read and has many humane and laugh-out-loud insights into his quirky co-retirees and himself. He brings into the story just enough of his memory of Florida-summer-vacation-with-the-retired-grandparents to enjoy its contrast with his present...predicaments.


Excuse Me, Your Life Is Waiting: The Astonishing Power of Feelings
Excuse Me, Your Life Is Waiting: The Astonishing Power of Feelings
Author: Lynn Grabhorn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 2/5/2012


Much better than the body-mind-spirit exercise book I expected.

In the same week I began reading this book, I watched an interview on TV where a man was explaining how his worries (thoughts) translated directly into his body as energy (adrenaline). His body's first reaction to worry was to charge out of the cave and kill the wooly mammoth out there, because his physical/chemical makeup hadn't developed like his mind had. So he did martial arts exercises instead of taking a club out of his cave.

The comment about the body translating thoughts into physical energy really resonated with me. This book wants to teach you to make this energy positive in order to bring joy (in all its forms) to your life.


Gold
Gold
Author: Dan Rhodes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/10/2011


Funny by page 21; sweet; poignant. A slice of village life where there aren't too many villagers to confuse you. The author keeps the focus on the main character, who's just one of us. After all, haven't you looked at a mounted fish, read the date on the gold plaque, and thought: "Oh, it's a Pisces, so am I!" (the author wrote something like that...;}


The Gold of Exodus: The Discovery of the True Mount Sinai
The Gold of Exodus: The Discovery of the True Mount Sinai
Author: Howard Blum
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 4/5/2009


Wow! This was a good, fast-paced, mystery-adventure book. It reads like a movie where each disparate group of characters are interesting and you can't wait to see how they will converge. The author quickly advances the momentum of this modern adventure. Mr. Blum lightly focuses on specific Bible history, modern military, spies, and politics which are pertinent to the search for the real Mt. Sinai -- this isn't confusing and adds to the intrigue. I'm keeping my copy, for now, to read again - it only takes a couple of sittings! The down side was, I treated this just like an "Indiana Jones" novel, as I felt it sometimes had a light or glancing touch on the scary situations. I also wanted to "feel" or "care" more for these two main fellows, but what they were doing was unethical and illegal; so, perhaps it is that I really do not identify or empathize with them.


I May Be Wrong but I Doubt It
I May Be Wrong but I Doubt It
Author: Charles Barkley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 3/13/2009


Easy-to-read essays; finished it in one sitting. I liked the feeling it left me with -- manage your own life, do good where you can, apply the Golden Rule. Learned that he respects others but likes to incite conversations about unfairness; does not expect everyone to speak up on issues or concerns; and seems to be an extrovert with a sense of humor who is continually able to question situations and offer up his opinions. Have never heard him speak so do not know if his personality translates well to paper.


The Informationist (Vanessa Michael Munroe, Bk 1)
The Informationist (Vanessa Michael Munroe, Bk 1)
Author: Taylor Stevens
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 3/4/2017


Fantastic thriller, well worth your time. Fast-paced read. Much of it takes place in an Africa that is unfamiliar but is still enthralling, even menacing. Reminds me a little of a Lara Croft movie without much of the scenes to get-in and stay-in shape; this book's characters have wealth and the abundance of gizmos for protection. The story has so much movement and action and a great deal of emotion and mystery.


A Long Way Down
A Long Way Down
Author: Nick Hornby
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 263
Review Date: 3/6/2009


XLNT read. Each character's "voice" is different. I like that the punctuation matches their personalities. The story is funny "ha ha" and funny "strange" -- not as involved a study as is "A Confederacy of Dunces" but not entirely lighthearted. Learned a few things. I feel I need to just accept each character - but maybe say a little prayer for them, just in case, you know?


Lover Mine (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Bk 8)
Lover Mine (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Bk 8)
Author: J. R. Ward
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 378
Review Date: 11/1/2015


This story is not written well enough to stand alone. The author did not give me enough emotional background about the main couple in order for me to care about them. There is a great deal of action but it is hard to understand the motivation behind the 2 main characters. The secondary characters interfere with the plot too often. The only other books from this series I have read are "Lover Avenged" and "Lover Unleashed" each of which is able to stand alone and each have more substance than "Lover Mine."


The Mistletoe Wager
The Mistletoe Wager
Author: Christine Merrill
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/26/2008


A regency romance that starts slow but gets to be a better read. Am more attracted to the funny, endearing second-tier characters than the lead couple!


Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore
Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore
Author: Robin Sloan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 10/9/2016
Helpful Score: 1


An entertaining, quick read. Liked the mystery, liked the friendships of the characters. As an older reader I was more interested in the bookstore than the computers and tech information. My book cover glows in the dark - that is really my favorite part!


My Life Behind Bars
My Life Behind Bars
Author: Jim Jung
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/22/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I almost kept this book just for the one-liners on Pages 32.5 through 72. Generally, this is a funny memoir-novel which is easy to read. If I was the editor, I would have sandwiched the couple of uninteresting character studies between the funnier ones and end the book on an upbeat note. Some of the author's writing is too sparse, as if it were a face-to-face conversation. There are mercifully short tips and stories on being a bartender and 10 pages of recipes -- the longest recipe only 4 lines on the page. My real enjoyment came from the better-written chapters devoted to characters that have peopled the author's life in the military, working on the railroad, and while a bartender on the beach in Hawaii.


The Next Mrs. Blackthorne (Bitter Creek, Bk 6)
The Next Mrs. Blackthorne (Bitter Creek, Bk 6)
Author: Joan Johnston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 153
Review Date: 10/7/2011


Worst book I've read this year.

Too many characters in one short story and the author did not get me to care about any of them like we could in a well-written saga.

Too many different main plots. The beginning plot belonged in a regency romance as it was too far-fetched for 2005 - the ambassador's daughter jumps in a Mercedes vehicle and drives over to a rich man's ranch. Once there she offers herself in exchange for the rich man to agree not to hurt her fiance's company any more. Please. She could have at least driven over in a Mustang since it was in Texas...


Pam of Babylon
Pam of Babylon
Author: Suzanne Jenkins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/31/2012


What an odd book. I felt compelled to finish it because the writing was such that it plays like a movie and travels quickly from scene to scene and there is mystery being uncovered. I wanted to put the story down and forget about it, because we are learning more about the dead Jack Smith than about the lively ladies that remain.


Riptide (FBI, Bk 5)
Riptide (FBI, Bk 5)
Author: Catherine Coulter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 421
Review Date: 8/23/2010


Starts okay, then fades to blah. Did the author lose interest? I did, but finished it anyway. A newspaper article reporting these events would have more emotion and life to it than the conversations between the too many characters in this book.


Roses for Harriet (Signet Regency Romance)
Roses for Harriet (Signet Regency Romance)
Author: Patricia Oliver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 3/27/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Great regency style, clever plot, twists and dialogue; likable characters. Not too many people to keep track of, thank you very much. I like the way the author leads us into the next scene at the end of a chapter. Yet, the start of the next chapter is a quick one paragraph re-do of the scene BUT from the other character's view point. Would pay the credit and re-read.


Sweet Life
Sweet Life
Author: Mia King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 1/9/2011
Helpful Score: 2


This was a quick, light read with a happy ending. It has potential, but the author does not give us any character development, only incidents. The book cover is deceiving because I don't think the main character ever goes to the beach with her child! To all authors: I love, love, love to read romance novels with the focus on ONE couple only. Do not make me keep track of seven (7) people - give them their own stories.


When He Was Wicked (Bridgertons, Bk 6)
When He Was Wicked (Bridgertons, Bk 6)
Author: Julia Quinn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 607
Review Date: 11/29/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Wonderful dialogue between all characters and great sense of humor. There is also this delicious tension continuing throughout the work -- we must wait for the hero and heroine to figure out and speak their truth.


1 to 19 of 19