Facebook

Alyssa (lysstwrt) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 100 - Page:
The Alibi
The Alibi
Author: Sandra Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 308
Review Date: 4/19/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Great fast read with lots of twists and turns. Really enjoyed it, and have enjoyed it more than once since.


The Alibi Man (Elena Estes, Bk 2)
The Alibi Man (Elena Estes, Bk 2)
Author: Tami Hoag
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 181
Review Date: 4/8/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Had to read in one sitting! Hoag has crafted a novel with many angles and twists that makes this book into a page turner! Sequel of sorts to Dark Horse, the Alibi Man once again tells the story from Elena Estes's point of view.


Always Time to Die (St. Kilda Consulting, Bk 1)
Always Time to Die (St. Kilda Consulting, Bk 1)
Author: Elizabeth Lowell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 128
Review Date: 4/8/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I love Elizabeth Lowell, but I could NOT get into this book.


Angels Fall
Angels Fall
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 498
Review Date: 4/8/2007
Helpful Score: 6


Great plot, loved the fact the main character is a chef, has a lot of foodie type information that I enjoyed.


Any Bitter Thing
Any Bitter Thing
Author: Monica Wood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 11/20/2007
Helpful Score: 8


Moving story told beautifully. The relationships are believable, and I found myself relating easily to the characters and their complex emotions. I found that there was surprising depth to what seems to be a simple story in the beginning. Very simply, read this book.


Astrid and Veronika
Astrid and Veronika
Author: Linda Olsson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 126
Review Date: 5/8/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Although I truly enjoyed the story of Astrid & Veronika's friendship, of their mutual healing of very separate tragedies, I never truly was taken in by the book. I probably could have stopped reading midway through and not felt too bereft of not finishing it. The book is poignant, however, and thought provoking, and well worth the read.


Atonement
Atonement
Author: Ian McEwan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 275
Review Date: 2/10/2008
Helpful Score: 12


I only wish I could call this book an easy read. To me, Atonement was a struggle, only because I knew such an emotional book could only end in heartbreak. I found Atonement hauntingly beautiful, and though I finished it three or four days ago, I find myself constantly thinking about the questions the book raises. My first Ian Mcewan, but definitely not my last. I am also planning on reading No Time For Romance, by Lucilla Andrews, whom Mcewan borrowed from to bring Atonement together.


Autumn Lover (Only, Bk 5)
Autumn Lover (Only, Bk 5)
Author: Elizabeth Lowell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 147
Review Date: 4/19/2007


As a girl from Northern Nevada, this book was especially interesting to me. Great story. You can never go wrong with Lowell historicals.


The Best Of Enemies
The Best Of Enemies
Author: Taylor Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 4/19/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Great thriller/suspense with a little romance mixed in. Really enjoyed this book.


Birthright
Birthright
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 282
Review Date: 4/19/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Pretty good murder mystery. The bad guy at the end really did surprise me!


Blue Dahlia (In the Garden, Bk 1)
Blue Dahlia (In the Garden, Bk 1)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1543
Review Date: 4/19/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Not my favorite Roberts trilogy, but okay.


Blue Smoke
Blue Smoke
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 563
Review Date: 4/19/2007
Helpful Score: 4


Great thriller/suspense/romance from Roberts. Highly enjoyed. About an arson investigator and the people and catastrophe that follow her as she grows up.


The Botany of Desire: A Plant's-Eye View of the World
The Botany of Desire: A Plant's-Eye View of the World
Author: Michael Pollan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 124
Review Date: 5/8/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Read for a botany class. Great read, informative but fun.


Calder Pride (Calder, Bk 5)
Calder Pride (Calder, Bk 5)
Author: Janet Dailey
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 85
Review Date: 4/19/2007
Helpful Score: 2


My favorite of the Calder series. Great characters that you can care about.


Carolina Moon
Carolina Moon
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 250
Review Date: 4/19/2007


My least favorite Roberts novel.


Case Histories (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Case Histories (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Kate Atkinson, Susan Jameson (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 6/10/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Spectacular book! The mysteries, at once self contained and broad sweeping, evoke strong emotion and visuals.


Castles (Crown's Spies, Bk 4)
Castles (Crown's Spies, Bk 4)
Author: Julie Garwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 406
Review Date: 4/19/2007
Helpful Score: 4


One of my favorites by Julie Garwood. Highly enjoyed, over an over.


Chesapeake Blue (The Chesapeake Bay, Bk 4)
Chesapeake Blue (The Chesapeake Bay, Bk 4)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 247
Review Date: 4/19/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Great finale of the Chesapeake Bay trilogy. Hard to see the characters of the first books after so much time, but also nice to meet up with them again.


Chill Factor
Chill Factor
Author: Sandra Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 581
Review Date: 4/19/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Predictable, but readable.


Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder (Hannah Swensen, Bk 1)
Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder (Hannah Swensen, Bk 1)
Author: Joanne Fluke
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 124
Review Date: 6/18/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Quick, entertaining cozy with the bonus of many more following it up and yummy recipes! Loved Hannah - great character.


1 to 20 of 100 - Page: