Jennifer F. (SFmom) - - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
The 1990 What Color Is Your Parachute?
The 1990 What Color Is Your Parachute?
Author: Richard N. Bolles
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/27/2007


From Library Journal --
How does one explain the secret of a book's popularity? Obviously, it gives readers what they want. Parachute certainly seems to do just that. It has become the career-seeker's bible, and if it doesn't itself answer most of the concerns readers have about the job-hunting process it refers them to sources that do. The text has remained apppreciably the same over the years, with updates where appropriate. New material has been added--job hunting for handicapped workers, making use of career counselors, finding a mission in life--in response to changing times and to readers' comments and questions. Since the book has been reissued annually since 1975, there is a good chance your library has a fairly recent version. If not, this 20th anniversary issue could be considered. It should have a healthy life span.


The Conscious Bride: Women Unveil Their True Feelings About Getting Hitched (Women Talk About)
Review Date: 8/27/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This book was recommended to me as I was planning my wedding and I found it had some good insights and made me feel better about some of the issues I was dealing with (especially with changing my name...)

-- From the Publisher --
Those blushing brides deal with plenty of complex emotions before they make their way down the aisle. Anxiety over the planning of the wedding and stressful family issues, not to mention concerns about marriage itself, can make an engagement as much a trial as a pleasure. This frank look at a bride's inner life provides advance warning, support, and understanding for women getting married. Led by a counselor specializing in the issues of brides-to-be, a diverse group of brides share their true feelings about such issues as being given away, wearing a veil, changing their name, and closing the hotel room door only to find themselves suddenly - married. The author unravels the psychology behind common difficulties and offers practical advice for handling the fears and doubts that so often run amok as wedding bells take their toll.


A Cry in the Night
A Cry in the Night
Author: Mary Higgins Clark
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 100
Review Date: 6/4/2007
Helpful Score: 1


first one I read of MHG and still love it! great suspense!


Dixieland Sushi
Dixieland Sushi
Author: Cara Lockwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 103
Review Date: 1/14/2008


quick read - cute story!


The Everything Pregnancy Book: What Every Woman Needs to Know Month-By-Month to Ensure a Worry-Free Pregnancy
Review Date: 6/4/2007


comprehensive - nice sections at the end of each month called "Just for Dads" - nice section for post-partum too


Girl Talk
Girl Talk
Author: Julianna Baggott
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 8/27/2007


I liked it - so did others:

-- Glamour --
A smart, quirky chronicle of mother-daughter bonding and binding.


-- USA Today --
What really makes this book a good read is the way Baggott allows her readers to get into her characters' feelings....She kindly allows one to care about how each character reacts to one another.


Life of Pi
Life of Pi
Author: Yann Martel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3371
Review Date: 12/17/2011


I had a hard time getting into the first part of the book since I was so anxious to meet the Tiger! Once I did though, I loved it. I was slightly disappointed in the ending but it doesn't stop me from recommending it.


Madonna : Unauthorized
Madonna : Unauthorized
Author: Christopher Andersen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 6/4/2007
Helpful Score: 1


From the cover: Brimming with first-hand stories and gossip from Madonna's friends, family, lovers and associates, this steamy biography offers the first most important study of Madonna's life...her strict Catholic upbringing...her skyrocketing success--and what she has to do to achieve it--her torrid celebrity romances...her tormented Hollywood marriage. It's all here. Nothing is held back. And this time Madonna wasn't able to leave the most fascinating scenes on the cutting room floor.
{interesting read of her life up to that point (1991) If you are a fan, you will like it :-)}


Under the Tuscan Sun: At Home in Italy
Under the Tuscan Sun: At Home in Italy
Author: Frances Mayes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 491
Review Date: 3/27/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoyed the book overall but mostly for the parts about renovating the house. After that was done, the book got a little slow for me but still enjoyed the end. This was nothing like the movie.


The Villa
The Villa
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 569
Review Date: 6/4/2007


very enjoyable book


1 to 10 of 10