Lindsay H. (LindsayDawn) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 27 - Page:
Abundance, A Novel of Marie Antoinette
Abundance, A Novel of Marie Antoinette
Author: Sena Jeter Naslund
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 11/10/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I'm sorry, but I fought and struggled my way through this book and could not finish it. I got to the last little bit and just couldn't read it anymore. I wanted so much to like it but I felt the writing was too flowery and thick. I did, however, appreciate a view of MA that wasn't hateful and disparging. This book is not one that portrays her as a careless, frivolous, vain woman.
Despite not enjoying this book it did spark a huge curiosity for all things MA and I will be reading up more on her history and the history of the French Revolution.


Audition: A Memoir (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Audition: A Memoir (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Author: Barbara Walters
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 5/4/2009


I didn't listen to this book, but my grandmother loved it.


Blue Smoke
Blue Smoke
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 674
Review Date: 4/29/2009


Great! Classic Nora Roberts!


The Cabinet of Curiosities (Pendergast, Bk 3)
The Cabinet of Curiosities (Pendergast, Bk 3)
Author: Douglas Preston, Lincoln Child
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 471
Review Date: 8/11/2009


I really enjoyed this book. It's a fast-paced thriller that leads you through dark corridors, past creepy people and even creepier "collections". If you liked Relic and Reliquary, you'll like this book. I'll be reading more Preston and Child.


The Dark Lantern
The Dark Lantern
Author: Gerri Brightwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 5/5/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I grabbed the book randomly off the shelf, as I was drawn in by the cover and title. Not always the best way to choose a book, but I'm glad I did.
What a neat counterpart to the romance novels of the era. This book takes you through the dark, claustrophic world of servitude and attempting to better one's situation through whatever means it takes.
I liked how I was tossed between characters and plot-lines, it really kept the story moving. It's a very secretive novel and rather like the title suggests, the author wields her dark lantern with skill and verve. The ending is satisfying if not completely illuminating - and this, I think, is a big part of the book's draw.


The Everything Wedding Etiquette Book: Insights and Advice on Handling Even the Stickiest Wedding Issues (Everything Series)
Review Date: 5/4/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book was invaluable to me when I was planning my wedding. Funny tidbits, helpful hints and answers on the topics I knew nothing about. I reccomend it.


Everything's Eventual 1408: 14 Dark Tales
Everything's Eventual 1408: 14 Dark Tales
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 5/4/2009


I love Stephen King but sometimes he drowns me with words. It was nice to be able read SHORT stories by Stephen King and still get the "Stephen King Experience". Also, there's a great little story relating to The Dark Tower series in here.


Garden Spells
Garden Spells
Author: Sarah Addison Allen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 169
Review Date: 5/4/2009


Really enchanting book. Loved it.


The Icarus Girl
The Icarus Girl
Author: Helen Oyeyemi
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 3/29/2010


This book was very intriguing. I loved the premise and the author created a thoroughly believable eight year old girl, down to the odd little worries and habits. I loved the Nigerian aspect of it as well as the hint of mythology. My only complaint would be that I wanted to hear more about the mythology. Because 99% of the book is narrated by Jess - and she doesn't know the Nigerian mythology - we don't get that extra information within the story. Great book though, I highly reccomend it.


Innocent Traitor: A Novel of Lady Jane Grey
Innocent Traitor: A Novel of Lady Jane Grey
Author: Alison Weir
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 192
Review Date: 5/4/2009


I really liked this book about Jane Grey. It's a heart-breaking story but I was cheering Jane on throughout the novel. Such a hard society and time to be a woman...


The King's Pleasure
The King's Pleasure
Author: Shannon Drake
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 5/4/2009


Good romance novel.


The Lady's Tutor
The Lady's Tutor
Author: Robin Schone
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 71
Review Date: 5/4/2009


Loved this light erotica! Great story line, great sex, great ending. Definitely reccomend!


The Little Girl Who Was Too Fond of Matches
The Little Girl Who Was Too Fond of Matches
Author: Gaetan Soucy
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/5/2010


This book was nothing short of bizarre. I read it for the first time when I was about 16, I didn't get it but something about it clung to me. So I kept it on my shelf and read it again about 6 months ago (I'm now 23) and I'm so glad I kept it. It's a book with its own beat and you have to get into that groove to really appreciate the story. It's strange, fanciful and disturbing and I reccomend it to anyone who likes odd little books that leave you feeling as though you just fell from a great height.


Natural Born Charmer (Chicago Stars, Bk 7)
Natural Born Charmer (Chicago Stars, Bk 7)
Author: Susan Elizabeth Phillips
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 209
Review Date: 4/29/2009


This was a fun read. Light, witty, fast. A great summer, beach book.


The Nature of Monsters
The Nature of Monsters
Author: Clare Clark
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 5/6/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I really enjoyed this book and it's main character. It's at times disturbing, dark throughout, but has shafts of light that give hope. It shows and interesting side to the science and thoughts of the times.
It's one of the books that I will keep on my bookshelf for future re-reading.


The Night Villa
The Night Villa
Author: Carol Goodman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 8/20/2009
Helpful Score: 3


I loved this book. It was colorful, I could smell the smells, see the sparkle on the bay of Naples, taste the dust in the tunnels of the Night Villa. The ending was twisty and very satisfying. I'll be reading more Carol Goodman!


One Night for Love (Bedwyn Family, Bk 1)
One Night for Love (Bedwyn Family, Bk 1)
Author: Mary Balogh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 210
Review Date: 4/29/2009


Love Mary Balough. This one was great!


One Thousand White Women: The Journals of May Dodd
One Thousand White Women: The Journals of May Dodd
Author: Jim Fergus
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 683
Review Date: 6/10/2009


I absolutely enjoyed this book. I was skeptical since it was written by a man and it's supposed to be the journals of a 19th century woman but he pulled it off well. The story starts out on a walloping adventure and winds up into heart-ache and a satisfying conclusion. I found the characters very likable and believable. One can't help but be aghast at the way Native Americans were treated by the government during these times and up till the mid (even late) twentieth century.
Great book!


People of the Book
People of the Book
Author: Geraldine Brooks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 313
Review Date: 9/14/2009
Helpful Score: 4


I can't say enough good things about this book. I devoured it in three days and I will read it again. It's heart-breaking, gorgeous and gripping. I loved the archaeological feel to it as we learned about the book's past and met it's holders. The characters - even in the short chapters - are well rounded and fully realized. And the main character - other than the book itself - is likeable and tough; a strong woman whom I wanted to succeed.
All in all this was very enjoyable and educational reading. I agree with the other reviewer that the fact that this book had some basis in truth made it so much better. Read this book.


The Ruins
The Ruins
Author: Scott Smith
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 147
Review Date: 4/29/2009


I plowed through this book in 3 days. It was intense and believable despite who the "bad-guy" was. The movie certainly didn't do the book justice as so often is the case. Great summer reading... and as one review said, you'll never look at your house plants the same again.


1 to 20 of 27 - Page: