Facebook

Melissa B. (MJB) - Reviews

1 to 13 of 13
Edge of Danger (Edge, Bk 1) (T-FLAC, Bk 8)
Edge of Danger (Edge, Bk 1) (T-FLAC, Bk 8)
Author: Cherry Adair
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 285
Review Date: 7/16/2008
Helpful Score: 1


1st of 3 book series with Edge brothers. Wizards. Well crafted but the wizardry is a bit far-fetched, at least for my taste.


Elisha's Bones
Elisha's Bones
Author: Don Hoesel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 4/28/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Enjoyable. Reminded me of Indiana Jones, ie, the quiet professor becomes world traveler, adventurer, seeking Elisha's bones, with former girl-friend as sidekick.


Fun & Fancy Jackets & Vests: Folk Art Using No-Sew Applique
Fun & Fancy Jackets & Vests: Folk Art Using No-Sew Applique
Author: Patrick Lose
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 8/3/2008
Helpful Score: 1


As provided on the back of the dust jacket: "Fun, whimsical and cheerful - Patrick Lose's designs send a burst of happiness through everyone who sees them. Now anyone can use has charming patterns to make jackets and vests that are as inviting as the brightest smile. Fifteen fantastic projects feature a delightful array of his hallmark motifs - crooked stars, bold swirls, warm hearts and of course vibrant colors. There are holiday and seasonal fashions, too. These lighthearted garments are easy to make with a no-sew applique technique that uses fusible adhestive and dimensional paint with amazing results, or you can try traditional applique methods. Whether you make them to give as gifts or to add some pizzazz to your own wardrobe, you're going to love Patrick Lose's jackets and vests, featuring his distinctive style of contemporary fold-art whimsy."
144 pages, includes patterns to enlarge.


Hardball (V.I. Warshawski, Bk 13)
Hardball (V.I. Warshawski, Bk 13)
Author: Sara Paretsky
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 8/23/2010


One of the best of the series.


The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks
The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks
Author: Rebecca Skloot
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 246
Review Date: 2/4/2010
Helpful Score: 2


After reading the first six chapters yesterday evening ... this is an amazing book. Well written, reads like a novel, but is a true story of a woman and her family. She died never knowing that her immortal cells would do so much good around the world.
The history of HeLa ... descriptions of the treatments Henrietta received ... terrifying and noteworthy. Her legacy to us all is immortal. Mankind's debt to her bottomless.


Lie Down with the Devil (Carlotta Carlyle, Bk 12)
Lie Down with the Devil (Carlotta Carlyle, Bk 12)
Author: Linda Barnes
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 3/28/2009
Helpful Score: 3


Linda Barnes does not disapoint in this Carlotta Carlyle mystery with her little sister Paolina, her fiance Sam and former partner Mooney. Fast paced. A good read.


On Designing
On Designing
Author: Anni Albers
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 6/6/2008


This little book is written by a talented weaver/textile designer who trained at the Bauhaus. A wonderful book to inspire.


One Last Look (Look Book, Bk 3)
One Last Look (Look Book, Bk 3)
Author: Linda Lael Miller
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 110
Review Date: 6/30/2008
Helpful Score: 1


The third in a set. Interesting characters, humor, wise cracks and good story line. Probably the best series from Linda Lael Miller that I have read.
Stands alone but with the other two, read in sequence, characters will have more depth for the reader. Can't help but love 'em!


Principles of Knitting
Principles of Knitting
Author: June Hemmons Hiatt
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/21/2008
Helpful Score: 1


If you are serious about knitting and the technical how-to ... this is the book to have. I've thoroughly enjoyed this book. If you are a beginner, plan ahead and if you get a chance to get a copy, regardless of the condition, do not hesitate. Out-of-print but the good news is that it is scheduled to be republished, and will likely go out-of-print again.


The Shack
The Shack
Author: William P. Young
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 3067
Review Date: 7/21/2009
Helpful Score: 5


I received this book with great anticipation. The church I attend was planning a book discussion and I wanted to participate, which I subsequently attended.

I began reading the book and after the Prologue, began to doubt how I would like this book. That doubt continued throughout the reading of the entire book. And upon finishing, and even after attending two book discussions, I still do not like the book. I did learn how other people interpret what they read via the book discussions.

The style of the writing in the past-tense and passive, the naming of Mack's grief (The Great Sadness) which made it an entity into/of itself, his inability to provide what other members of his family needed because of his own grief, then the Wizard-of-Oz-like change from snow/dreary to technicolor springtime, the recreational attitude when he and Jesus walked on the water, God portrayed as a mother figure, the amazing finding of his child's body due to markings that professional searchers missed .... these and so many other elements of the book made it hard for me to like the book and the portrayals of God the Father, Spirit and Jesus. For me, the manner in which the message was delivered was not satisfactory. I did not come away from the reading or discussion of the reading uplifted as I know many people have.

I am now getting ready to read again 'The Screwtape Letters.' I read portions of it when I was in high school and feel it is time to revisit that book.


Shadows (Craig Burch, Bk 2)
Shadows (Craig Burch, Bk 2)
Author: Edna Buchanan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 11/25/2008


Well written as are all of Edna Buchanan's books that I've read. This one was especially good.


Silent Thunder
Silent Thunder
Author: Iris Johansen, Roy Johansen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 3/27/2009
Helpful Score: 2


A page turner ... well written. I'll be looking forward to reading this Mom and Son team again. Both authors have turned in their best for this one.


Vision in White (Bride Quartet, Bk 1) (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Review Date: 7/21/2009


A pleasant, light romance.

I'd prefer if on the audio books, more than one reader was used, men for the male parts and women for the female parts, more similar to the old radio series that had casts rather than just one lone reader.


1 to 13 of 13