Facebook

Jeffree I. - Reviews

1 to 16 of 16
Between Heaven and Texas (A Too Much, Texas Novel)
Between Heaven and Texas (A Too Much, Texas Novel)
Author: Marie Bostwick
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/7/2019


Loved, loved, loved this book. I recently moved to Texas and was amused that Too Much was located theoretically in my area. Charming story.


Blessings
Blessings
Author: Anna Quindlen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 257
Review Date: 4/24/2012


Started out a little slow but as I got into it all I wanted to do was read read read. The ending was not at all what I expected. If you find it slow as well stick with it. You won't be disappointed.


The Boy in His Winter: An American Novel
The Boy in His Winter: An American Novel
Author: Norman Lock
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/2/2014


So, how do I begin? This is a most unusual book. Not sure I've ever read anything like it. Sort of sci-fi, sort of historical, sort of fiction, sort of memoir (of a fictional character, or is he?), definitely time travel. I did enjoy it though simply because it was so different. Have always been a huge fan of Mark Twain, hence my interest in the book. Only aspect I didn't like was that the last section seemed like an add-on. I think the author could have treated the last section better; it held no spell for me. Slogged through it but fortunately it wasn't a long section. I do recommend it for anyone looking for a novel "out of the box".


The Day the Falls Stood Still
The Day the Falls Stood Still
Author: Cathy Marie Buchanan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 2/11/2014


When I began the book and discovered it is written in the first person I felt my skin bristle. I am not a fan of first person literature because it is often not well-written. Few writers can pull off first-person. But I take exception with The Day the Falls Stood Still. Very well done, very believable, extremely engaging. I would definitely read another book by Cathy Marie Buchanan; she's an author to watch.


Ellen Gilchrist : Collected Stories
Ellen Gilchrist : Collected Stories
Author: Ellen Gilchrist
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 10/21/2011


I'd never read Ellen Gilchrist before this book but am an instant fan. It's hard enough to write a fictional novel but I think considerably more difficult to write a short story that both grips the reader and provides enough story to keep it moving along without it being too long. Gilchrist accomplishes both beautifully. I will definitely be reading more of her works.


The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
Author: Mary Ann Shaffer, Annie Barrows
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 680
Review Date: 4/24/2012


At first I did not like that the entire book was a series of letters. Couldn't figure out how the authors would make that work in a realistic fashion. But they pulled it off and very well I might add. Was an interesting way to both write and read the book. In the end I thought it was extremely well crafted and a great read.


Here on Earth
Here on Earth
Author: Alice Hoffman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 423
Review Date: 3/2/2012


This is one of those books that grips you so tight you can't stop reading and yet you want to walk away from it. Like a consuming love affair it swallows you and makes you keep coming back for more. It exhausts the soul and in the end you feel vindicated for sticking with it. A book you'll never forget.


Lake News
Lake News
Author: Barbara Delinsky
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 7/6/2014


This was my first Barbara Delinsky book. I probably never would have read it if it wasn't the next read on my book club's list. I am now a fan and will definitely read more. She's a great storyteller in a nuanced sort of way. She slowly rolls out her story, not overwhelming at any one time. She gives just enough tension to keep the reader's interest and adds a few twists and turns to keep the pages turning. I think I liked this book mostly for the setting on Lake Henry, the loons and the sweet developing love story, which actually took a back seat to the emotional upheavals of the primary characters families.


Little Bee (aka The Other Hand)
Little Bee (aka The Other Hand)
Author: Chris Cleave
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 92
Review Date: 6/26/2012


In the end I loved this book. Took a bit to get used to it in the beginning because the chapters were voiced in the first person and vacillated between two characters. By the middle of the book I couldn't put it down. Although the story did not end in the way I would have liked I still thought it a phenomenal story, albeit a sad one. Well worth the read.


The Old Man and the Sea
The Old Man and the Sea
Author: Ernest Hemingway
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 431
Review Date: 2/3/2016


I read this book many many years ago. It was mandatory reading when I was in school. Decided to re-read it. While still very good with strong descriptions of the characters and scenery, I now found it tedious. Hemingway drew out the story long beyond where he could/should have ended it. After a while it simply became repetitive. If you haven't read it, you should. It's a classic.


The Persian Pickle Club
The Persian Pickle Club
Author: Sandra Dallas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 274
Review Date: 1/22/2015


This was the second time I read this book and I think I enjoyed it even more the second time around. Things I liked about the book: the author uses the vernacular of the place and time. When the characters speak they sound authentic, even though some of the characters are not well educated. You can hear their accents and "see" how they're dressed. It was not difficult to imagine the scenery, the decor of the homes, or the quilts. This book was the January read for my book club. Though I'm the only quilter in the group, everyone enjoyed it and had a lot to say. From the food to the murder mystery to the odd characters there was something for everyone to love. Highly recommend it!


Shoot the Moon
Shoot the Moon
Author: Billie Letts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 474
Review Date: 10/5/2011


I am huge fan of Billie Letts. Love her well thought out characterizations and story lines. She understands small towns and the people who inhabit them. This one did not dissapoint. In fact I think it's as good Where the Heart Is. What I particularly liked about this story was that it had a bit of suspense, some well placed humor and some gentle romance. She kept me hooked right up the last page. I highly recommend it!


Spider Woman's Daughter (Leaphorn, Chee and Manuelito, Bk 1)
Spider Woman's Daughter (Leaphorn, Chee and Manuelito, Bk 1)
Author: Anne Hillerman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 8/26/2015


I had been missing Leaphorn and Chee a lot since Tony Hillerman died, sad that I would never read their stories again. I was ecstatic to hear his daughter took over the series. I really enjoyed this book, even though it was a bit different from her father's writing style. I especially liked that Anne gave Bernadette a much larger role. My husband is reading the book now and he doesn't like it as much as Tony's writing. May just be a gender thing.


The Sugar Camp Quilt (Elm Creek Quilts, Bk 7)
The Sugar Camp Quilt (Elm Creek Quilts, Bk 7)
Author: Jennifer Chiaverini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 97
Review Date: 10/10/2011


I enjoyed this book very much. The Elm Creek books are always well written and intrigueing but I especially like the ones that focus on the 19th century and the family's inovlvement with the Underground Railroad. This one did not disappoint. It provided a good overview of the beginning of the family, before they began raising thoroughbreds.


What We Keep
What We Keep
Author: Elizabeth Berg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 110
Review Date: 11/9/2011


This is a fine read. As the story progressed I found myself spending more and more time reading it and was a little sad it ended. Very good characterization and equally outstanding writing. I highly recommend it.


Whistling in the Dark
Whistling in the Dark
Author: Lesley Kagen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 377
Review Date: 6/5/2012


For me the book started out slow. I was having trouble getting into it. Then about 1/3 of the way through it started picking up. By the 1/2 way point I couldn't wait to read as soon as I got home from work. I just couldn't fathom how the story was going to work out and who the murderer would be. I was living with the sorry plight of the O'Malley sisters. I must say that I was completely stumped at the end. I didn't see it coming. And that to me is the best kind of fiction. One that turns my assumptions on its head. While initially I thought I would repost this book when I finished it now I'm going to keep it. What a great read.


1 to 16 of 16