Karen D. - Reviews

1 to 15 of 15
Bliss
Bliss
Author: O. Z. Livaneli
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/19/2013


I really enjoyed this book on cd. When a book takes me to the visit the life/lives of others in foreign lands, I come away with a better understanding and empathy for other cultures. This book was a delight.


The Book of Negroes: A Novel
The Book of Negroes: A Novel
Author: Lawrence Hill
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/20/2015


This is in the realm of historical fiction. Told from the point of view of a young woman as she is enslaved and the world that follows, Lawrence Hill does an excellent job of bringing you into her world.


Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End
Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End
Author: Jennifer Worth
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/5/2016


Great historical fiction!


Consequences
Consequences
Author: Penelope Lively
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/12/2018


As always, a nice read. Penelope Lively consistently keeps me engaged.


Deep Dish  (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Deep Dish (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Author: Mary Kay Andrews, Isabel Keating (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 3/7/2010


Light and fun. Really enjoyed it.


Dream When You're Feeling Blue (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Dream When You're Feeling Blue (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Elizabeth Berg
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 12/8/2016


Lovely piece of historical fiction


Foul Play (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Foul Play (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Janet Evanovich, C. J. Critt (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 3/7/2010


Fun read.


The Host: A Novel
The Host: A Novel
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 12/10/2010


I really enjoyed this, much to my surprise. The topic was interesting and the characters engaging.


Nanny Returns (Nanny Diaries, Bk 2) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 4/19/2010


Great fun. A wonderful sequel to her first book. Enjoyable voice to listen to. I highly recommend this book/cd.


Prayers for Sale (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Prayers for Sale (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Sandra Dallas, Maggi-Meg Reed (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 4/28/2012


Listening to this audio book is like spending quality time with a good friend. The relationships are lovely; the language of the time is such fun; and the slice of life set in the mountains of Colorado during the late 1800s to early 1900s gave me a perspective on my own life. This is a great read.


Rainwater (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Rainwater (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Sandra Brown, Victor Slezak (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 3/16/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This was such a nice book. I was captivated by the characters and enjoyed the plot tremendously. The reader was pleasant to listen to as well.


The Secret
The Secret
Author: Rhonda Byrne
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 501
Review Date: 2/27/2018


Excellent resource for reframing what we want to receive in this life. I have given out several copies to friends and highly recommend The Secret.


A Thousand Splendid Suns (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Review Date: 3/7/2010


Very powerful and compelling book. Definitely affected my perspective. I recommend it.


Twenties Girl (Abridged) (Audio CD)
Twenties Girl (Abridged) (Audio CD)
Author: Sophie Kinsella, Rosalyn Landor (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 9/15/2010


This was fun! I really enjoyed the subject (light and amusing). Well read and well written.


We Are All Welcome Here (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
We Are All Welcome Here (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Elizabeth Berg
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 2/12/2013


A strange idea yet it really pulls you in. I enjoyed getting to know this family and it made me appreciate the little details of life.


1 to 15 of 15