gigi324 - , - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
Daring
Daring
Author: Jillian Hunter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 1/3/2010


This was a really fast and a really fun read. I Loved the characters. I agree that the second half is very amusing.


Heartless (Georgian, Bk 1)
Heartless (Georgian, Bk 1)
Author: Mary Balogh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 1/19/2010


I am always disappointed when I get to the end of a Mary Balogh book because I know that whatever I read next just can't come close. This is no exception. I loved the characters, especially Luke. He's so over the top that you know HE knows how absurd he seems and that's part of his likability. It was nice to see the trust and need that developed between Luke and Anna. This book was really hard to come by but well worth the wait.


A Matter of Class
A Matter of Class
Author: Mary Balogh
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 97
Review Date: 6/30/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This is more of a novelette so it's a very quick read. It's a really sweet story even if it's a bit predictable. If you're looking for a bunch of steamy scenes, this isn't for you. If you just want a short enjoyable read, this is perfect. I usually like longer books but I'd pretty much read anything by Mary Balogh. I've never been disappointed by her yet.


Once Upon a Knight
Once Upon a Knight
Author: Jackie Ivie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 2/20/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I loved all of the other books by Jackie Ivie but this one was tough for me to get into. I never really connected with either of the main characters. I found myself skimming over things just to get done with it. It takes a lot for me to not want to finish a book but I really had to force myself with this one.


Seducing an Angel (Huxtables, Bk 4)
Seducing an Angel (Huxtables, Bk 4)
Author: Mary Balogh
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 87
Review Date: 10/6/2009
Helpful Score: 3


This was my favorite book of the series. Even though you may want to shake some sense into Cassandra, it's easy to see why she puts up a wall around herself. Stephan is the ultimate knight in shining armor. He's masculine but sensitive due to the influence of his three sisters. Mary Balogh is one of the most gifted authors around. She has the ability to make you really care about her characters. I read this in one night and didn't want it to end. I too hope Con's story is yet to come.


The Seduction of an English Scoundrel (Boscastle Family, Bk 1)
The Seduction of an English Scoundrel (Boscastle Family, Bk 1)
Author: Jillian Hunter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 229
Review Date: 1/3/2010


I loved this book! It totally pulled me in and got me hooked on the Boscastles. All of the characters are funny and you can't help but like them. Can't wait to read the rest of their stories!


Silk is for Seduction (Dressmakers, Bk 1)
Silk is for Seduction (Dressmakers, Bk 1)
Author: Loretta Chase
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 110
Review Date: 7/9/2012


It seems as though people really love this book, or they don't like it at all. I am definitely in the latter group. I could not get into the story at all. Neither of the main characters were very likable to me. The hero seemed like a sleazy jerk, and the heroine was just plain annoying. They were both so self-centered that I could not identify with either of them. I tried to stick with it but I only managed about a quarter of the book before I gave up. I usually try to stick with a book because I feel like it's a waste of money if I don't. This is one of the rare times I couldn't do it.


Temptation of a Proper Governess (Cameron Sisters, Bk 1)
Temptation of a Proper Governess (Cameron Sisters, Bk 1)
Author: Cathy Maxwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 149
Review Date: 1/3/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I've read others by Cathy Maxwell so I knew I would probably enjoy this book but I didn't expect to like it as much as I did. Michael wasn't always a great guy but he's worked at changing things. You can admire both of the main characters and really want things to work out for them. Would easily give it a thumbs up!


Three Nights with a Scoundrel (Stud Club, Bk 3)
Three Nights with a Scoundrel (Stud Club, Bk 3)
Author: Tessa Dare
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 119
Review Date: 10/25/2011


This was my favorite book in the trilogy. I didn't expect Julian to be my favorite but this book proved me wrong. I loved how protective he was of Lily. I liked all three books but this is the one I'll remember.


Trouble at the Wedding (Abandoned at the Altar, Bk 3)
Trouble at the Wedding (Abandoned at the Altar, Bk 3)
Author: Laura Lee Guhrke
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 7/9/2012


I liked the first two books in the series but I didn't "love" them. This third book is Christian's story, and my favorite of the series. Christian won me over big time! I wasn't sure how I felt about Annabel at first, but she really grew on me. I liked her wit and her sassiness. I was able to get into the story right away and read it straight through. This series is set at the turn of the century so it had things like motor cars and telephones. After reading so many Medieval and Regency era romances, it was interesting to find something a little different.


1 to 10 of 10