Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Tami Q. (mom2mj) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 36 - Page:
Angels: Who They Are and How They Help--What the Bible Reveals
Review Date: 2/5/2010
Helpful Score: 2


Have you ever given much thought to angels? I've always steered clear of the topic, simply because I knew that most of what the world teaches isn't true. Yet, I didn't know the truth myself. I just figured I could live my life without really knowing or caring anything about angels and their purpose.

Then I decide I'm going to read a book about angels. Okay, so maybe I am a little interested.

A chapter into the book, I decide I will print out Scriptures, using eSword.net, containing the word 'angel', simply because the book doesn't use KJV. Remember the angel in the story of the birth of Jesus and the angels in Revelations, I'm thinking a few verses will come up.

Surprise, Tami!

There are 289 verses with the word 'angel'! Wowwee!! I never knew! Or so I thought! As I read the printed Scriptures as the book references them, I recall story after story that includes the presence of an angel.

I enjoyed this book, simply because it opened my eyes to how prevalent important angels actually are in God's Word.

I do suggest, as with anything you read, that you dig into God's Word and make sure that what you are reading is scriptural.

This book was provided for review by the WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group.


Be Angry [but Don't Blow It] imaintaining Your Passion Without Losing Your Cool/i
Review Date: 12/7/2005


This book weaves Scriptures, prayers, and personal insights to create a practical guide that also includes a three-week plan to help move you from destructive to constructive anger and recapture the healthy passion God wants you to have.


Bonnie's Household Organizer: The Essential Guide for Getting Control of Your Home
Review Date: 2/11/2006


One of the best books I've read on keeping up the housework.


Branded: Sharing Jesus with a Consumer Culture
Branded: Sharing Jesus with a Consumer Culture
Author: Tim Sinclair
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/11/2011


In this book,youll find comparisons that you can relate to. Did you know that living the Christian life can be compared to boxed cereal,the latest Superbowl Google ad,and music and can be contrasted with mathematics. The author does an excellent job describing the marketing techniques of these and other well-known brands and how those techniques can be used to improve our witness for Christ. Its quite genius.

Also presented are questions to get you thinking outside your comfort zone and normal range of thinking and living. While most of the book content and questions are creative and likely result producing ideas,beware of a few are contrary to Scripture. (We shouldnt forsake the assemblingwith our local church to hang out at the bar. We can reach the world without providing the appearance of evil hence wrong-doing.) As always,refer to Scripture and listen to the Holy Spirit,as you read any book.

Overall,I found this book quite beneficial in getting me to see the fallacies in our attempts to lead others to Christ,as well as the failure to disciple them as babes in Christ. I encourage you to read it and see if it makes a change in you and this world.

Author Tim Sinclair

For more information about the book and the author,click here. I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. Thanks Kregel Publications!


A Bride for Donnigan (Women of the West, Bk 7)
A Bride for Donnigan (Women of the West, Bk 7)
Author: Janette Oke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 114
Review Date: 5/10/2006


It was a great book!!


Confessions of an Organized Housewife
Confessions of an Organized Housewife
Author: Deniece Schofield
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 2/11/2006


One of the best books I've read on keeping up the housework.


Creative Counterpart (rev)
Creative Counterpart (rev)
Author: Linda Dillow
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 12/5/2005


Highly recommended. I won't let go of my copy!!


The Five Love Languages: How to Express Heartfelt Commitment to Your Mate
Review Date: 12/7/2005


This copy is hardback with a dust jacket. Brand New Condition.


From the Garden to the City: The Redeeming and Corrupting Power of Technology
Review Date: 9/29/2011


Awaiting the arrival of this book, I wondered just how much the author would bash cell phones and the internet. I use both excessively and I honestly didnt want to hear it. Yes, my curiosity got the best of me, so I decided Id read the book.

I liked this book!

I thought technology began somewhere in the last hundred years, but the author took me on a road trip back to the beginning of time to prove otherwise. Who knew that technology is nothing new! The connection made between technology and God were quite interesting. The shovel, who made many appearances in the book, provided me with a visual understanding of the information presented in this book. You have to read the book to know what Im talking about!

There is no black or white answer. Included in the book is a list of questions based on the four parts of this book Reflection, Rebellion, Redemption & Restoration that can help the reader make smart decisions regarding the usage of the technology present in his or her own life.



Disclosure: I received this book in exchange for my honest review. See full post at ThisMomsDelight.com.


God Gave Us Christmas (God Gave Us...)
God Gave Us Christmas (God Gave Us...)
Author: Lisa Tawn Bergren, David Hohn (Illustrator)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 12/3/2009


The book starts about with a question about Santa, and continues with sharing the greatness of God and Jesus and their importance in Christmas. The author shares with the reader where to find God (at work) in everyday objects, such as the sun and even a baby fox. I will be reading this one to my niece, Miss Shelby, when she comes to visit.


God Gave Us Love
God Gave Us Love
Author: Lisa T. Bergren
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/3/2009


The conversation between Grampa Bear and Little Cub shares with the reader a wonderful illustration of God's love for each of us, and the various ways love is shared. It's an excellent way to share God's love with a young child. I suggest sharing the importance of repentance, in order to receive the love that doesn't separate us from God, which is talked about in this book; one should take their child's age into consideration. The bears and otters are extra cute and I love the pastel and vibrant colors used in illustrating the pages.


H.E.L.P.: The Healthy Exchanges Lifetime Plan : It's Not a Diet, It's a Way of Life
Review Date: 1/14/2006


Healthy Exchanges is a healthy way of eating (and losing unneeded pounds). I have the way of eating well in my memory, so no need for the book. Enjoy!!


Home-Ec 101: Skills for Everyday Living - Cook it, Clean it, Fix it, Wash it
Review Date: 4/10/2011


Ive read about meal planning more than once. Yet, here I am still not planning our family meals. We are eating at home more often, but it could be less stressful, if only Id plan out our meals!

I was given the opportunity to review Meal Planning: Not Just For The Control Freaks, one chapter in Home-Ec 101: Skills For Everyday Living.

This chapter gave some advise that I hadnt heard before. The authors approach of taking the beginner through meal planning makes the process not seem so difficult to pursue. Instead of jumping full throttle into planning full courses, she shows you how to get the family back to the dinner table, then gradually works on full meal planning and preparation.

The ideas presented for meal planning are easy, giving the beginner some confidence to get started.

Although I didnt have the opportunity to review the books contents in full, I am interested in reading it.

I received a copy of the chapter reviewed above in exchange for my honest review.


The Hour That Changes the World
The Hour That Changes the World
Author: Dick Eastman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 8/11/2007
Helpful Score: 3


One of the best books I've read on prayer.


How to Reach Your Full Potential for God: Never Settle for Less Than His Best
Review Date: 2/15/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I can honestly say that I haven't read a book this impacting in a very long time. Yes, I've read some good books. Yet, this book has stirred me into change! It has touched on areas in my life that I knew needed change, but my potato-couch mentality didn't budge. These areas are mentioned in some of the chapter titles:

Don't Settle For Less ... Using Your Gifts ... A Healthy Body ... A Balanced Schedule ... Taking God-Approved Risks ...

I have wasted a lot of time in the 33 years God has given me so far. The author has shown me that I have got to quit sulking over this, and move forward to accomplish what God has in store for me. I have got to act on those God-given desires of thine heart.

I read the book a little too fast, so I'll be taking another trip with Charles Stanley to soak it in. I just discovered that there is a study guide available, so I may pick that up, as well.

This was book was provided at no charge by BookSneeze.com, in exchange for my honest review.

I do suggest, as with anything you read, that you dig into God's Word and make sure that what you are reading is scriptural.


Love and War: Finding the Marriage You've Dreamed Of
Love and War: Finding the Marriage You've Dreamed Of
Author: John Eldredge, Stasi Eldredge
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/11/2010


First off, love and war describes my marriage! We have warred against one another and although that almost tore our marriage apart, we truly love one another more so in the recent years. The second part of the title caught my eye, simply because who doesn't want the marriage of one's own dreams!

I really related to this couple's marriage story! In the past, I spent some time thinking I had married the one man, and that the rest of my life would be miserably spent. I wish I could have read this book ten years ago.

This was book was provided for review by WaterBrook Multnomah.

I do suggest, as with anything you read, that you dig into God's Word and make sure that what you are reading is scriptural.


A Love Worth Giving : Living in the Overflow of God's Love
A Love Worth Giving : Living in the Overflow of God's Love
Author: Max Lucado
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 12/7/2005


Finding it hard to love? Someone in your world is hard to forgive? Is patience an endangered species? Kindness a forgotten virtue? If so, you may have forgotten a step--an essential first step. Living loved. ...


Make the Connection: Ten Steps to a Better Body and a Better Life
Review Date: 12/9/2005


Bob Greene is very knowledgable in the area of health and fitness.


The Male Factor: The Unwritten Rules, Misperceptions, and Secret Beliefs of Men in the Workplace
Review Date: 1/14/2010


I'm a working woman. I have a job that takes me away from my home a good chunk of my day. It's honestly not what I want to be doing, but it is necessary in helping my husband meet our expenses.

I haven't read too many books for working women that benefited me any, up until now. I recently read "The Male Factor: The Unwritten Rules, Misperceptions, and Secret Beliefs of Men in the Workplace" and found it to be a stuffed full of information needed in the workplace. It even has a section especially for christian women! The book is backed by the author's extensive research.


The Man in the Green Jeep
The Man in the Green Jeep
Author: Viola Palmer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/23/2011


This is a story of a young boy's troubles and the changed lives made by a visitor to the boy's community. It is a powerful story of what missions is all about.

From this story, I learned and/or was reminded that:

Salvation is available for everyone - child and adult, the mean and the 'good'
The saved need to put God's love into action by serving others, followed with the gospel message

I was refreshed by the actions of the man in the green jeep and the others giving their time and resources to help a starving community in need. More importantly, their loving actions brought lost souls to Christ.

I wanted to read this with my kiddos, but they've had a busy summer. So, I read it alone. I read it in two days. My kiddos should easily be able to read a chapter or more each day. Included in the back of the book are study questions great for helping the children (and adults) reading this book to think about what they've read.

I recommend this book to both adults and children.

I received a copy of this book from Hannibal Books in exchange for my honest review.


1 to 20 of 36 - Page:
Want fewer ads?