Meghan (bookreadera) - - Reviews

1 to 11 of 11
Against All Enemies (Max Moore, Bk 1)
Against All Enemies (Max Moore, Bk 1)
Author: Peter Telep, Tom Clancy
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 8/30/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I don't know if Tom Clancy didn't actually write this or if he can no longer write. Either way, it isn't really a Tom Clancy novel.


A Change in Altitude
A Change in Altitude
Author: Anita Shreve
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 8/25/2009
Helpful Score: 6


A Change in Altitude, the newest novel from master author Anita Shreve, offers another glimpse into love, commitment, and the search for self. Following a tragic accident in Kenya , Margaret is forced to reevaluate herself, her marriage, even her understanding of life. While beautifully written, the story fails to fully engage the reader. It feels tired and worn, and with just a change of the setting and the characters' names, this could be one of a number of her novels. A Change in Altitude is classic Shreve, but I cant help but feel Ive read this story before.


Fearless Fourteen (Stephanie Plum, Bk 14)
Fearless Fourteen (Stephanie Plum, Bk 14)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 947
Review Date: 7/17/2008
Helpful Score: 1


"Good, not as good as some of the others but I still laughed out loud. It seems like Plum-lite, less Ranger, less Grandma Mazur, less romance, less action... "


The Heart of Christmas : A Handful of Gold / The Season for Suitors / This Wicked Gift
Review Date: 10/19/2009
Helpful Score: 3


Two of the three stories, A Handful of Gold by Mary Balogh and The Season for Suitors by Nicola Cornick were previously published in the 2005 anthology Christmas Keepsakes (ISBN 0373770944) The Balogh story was originally published in 1998 in the anthology The Gifts of Christmas (ISBN 0373833725) and was republished for the 2005 anthology. So if you are a regular Balogh reader, you've probably already read her story at least once.


Hiss of Death (Mrs Murphy, Bk 19)
Hiss of Death (Mrs Murphy, Bk 19)
Author: Rita Mae Brown, Sneaky Pie Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 9/28/2011


I used to love this series. However, the last two have struck me as so full of political proselytizing that I just couldn't finish. Ms. Brown is more than welcome to write her politics; I just don't want to read it in her cozies.


Once Upon Stilettos (Katie Chandler, Bk 2)
Once Upon Stilettos (Katie Chandler, Bk 2)
Author: Shanna Swendson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 152
Review Date: 2/5/2007


Really cute story, fun read.


Review Date: 1/6/2009
Helpful Score: 3


Well, he got the rotten person part right, and comedy may be waiting to happen but it doesn't occur here. This would be better subtitled "a jerk travels the Caribbean making disparaging remarks about everyone." I do believe I just got my "worst read of the year" out of the way. Trust me, unless you think Animal House (with a healthy dose of borderline racism thrown in) is the pinnacle of wit, pass on this one.


Rules of Engagement: The Reasons for Marriage / The Wedding Party / Unlaced
Review Date: 2/7/2012
Helpful Score: 3


"The Reasons for Marriage" by Stephanie Laurens was previously published in 1995 as a stand alone regency novel and as part of the "Rogues Reform" regency omnibus in 2001. Both are available in the system.


Undead and Unappreciated (Queen Betsy, Bk 3)
Undead and Unappreciated (Queen Betsy, Bk 3)
Author: MaryJanice Davidson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 858
Review Date: 4/21/2006


LOL funny


Undead and Unwed (Queen Betsy, Bk 1)
Undead and Unwed (Queen Betsy, Bk 1)
Author: MaryJanice Davidson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1486
Review Date: 4/3/2006


One of the funniest books I've read in ages.


A Wolf at the Table: A Memoir of My Father
A Wolf at the Table: A Memoir of My Father
Author: Augusten Burroughs
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 149
Review Date: 7/17/2008
Helpful Score: 8


Can I give it a negative star?

Disclaimer: A. If I hadn't had to review this, I never would have picked it up. I've only ever thrown 2 books in the dumpster and "Running With Scissors" was one of them. B. As a mental health professional, I'm biased in my interpretation of this work.

Often when I review a book I find myself typing "great story, just poorly written." Well, this is the opposite. It is well written. Self-serving load of crap. But well written. Two hundred and fifty pages of self-indulgent, that can't possibly be true, garbage.


1 to 11 of 11