Facebook

Mandi P. (onecrazymom) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 35 - Page:
Adventures in Phonics: Level B (Teacher's Manual)
Adventures in Phonics: Level B (Teacher's Manual)
Author: Florence Lindstrom
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/17/2007


Pals and Pets Book 2


Animal Tracks of the Pacific Northwest
Animal Tracks of the Pacific Northwest
Author: Chris Stall
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/10/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Great little guide that is perfect for taking along on nature walks. Every two pages are devoted to a new animal native to the Pacific NW, the first page sharing facts about the animal and the second page is a black and white image of the print each particular animal makes. The books small size makes it easy to take along in your pocket - very handy.


Because I Love You
Because I Love You
Author: Max Lucado, Mitchell Heinze (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 1/10/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I have to admit - I am a huge fan of Max Lucado's children's books and this one is no exception. An excellent story depicting God's love for us and His reason for giving us the choice to obey Him.


Better Than Book Reports (Grades 2-6)
Better Than Book Reports (Grades 2-6)
Author: Christine Boardman-Moen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 1/10/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Who says book reports have to be boring? This book is loaded with lots of great ideas to get your children/students thinking about what they are reading. My daughter just completed filming a movie that she wrote based on a book she read. Where do you suppose she got that idea? ( :


The Body Book: Recipes for Natural Body Care
The Body Book: Recipes for Natural Body Care
Author: Anne Akers Johnson
Book Type: Spiral-bound
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/10/2009
Helpful Score: 1


We love Klutz books! This one has lots of great natural and inexpensive recipes for body care products. A great way to begin teaching your preteen good hygiene habits!


A Cache of Jewels and Other Collective Nouns
A Cache of Jewels and Other Collective Nouns
Author: Ruth Heller
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 1/10/2009
Helpful Score: 3


Great series of books for teaching grammar! The books in this series are very in depth - much more than I expected - but they are written in rhyme making it fun even for little ones to listen to.


Cells Are Us (Cells and Things)
Cells Are Us (Cells and Things)
Author: Frances R. Balkwill, Fran, Dr. Balkwill
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/10/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Great series of books for introducing a more difficult science subject. I learned a lot right along with my children. Our favorite title in the series so far has been 'Cell Wars' - absolutely fascinating!


Checking Your Grammar: and Getting It Right (Scholastic Guides)
Review Date: 1/10/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Great series of language and grammar guides for kids. I use these to teach grammar to my kids Ruth Beechick style. No 'Grammar Treadmills' around here! ( :


Child Training Tips: What I Wish I Knew When My Children Were Young
Child Training Tips: What I Wish I Knew When My Children Were Young
Author: Reb Bradley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 1/10/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I highly recommend this book to parents who want to train their children according to the Word of God. This book helped me to see some blind spots I had in my parenting. Make sure to get the most updated version of this book though - a chapter of utmost importance has been added.


Classic Christianity in Words and Pictures
Classic Christianity in Words and Pictures
Author: Bob George
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/10/2009


I read the original Classic Christianity and it truly changed my life! I was so excited to find this version and have successfully used it as a devotional with my kids. I plan to go through it once a year with them. Some concepts were a little over their heads but most were well instilled in their little hearts. It is never too early to teach your children about God's grace! ( :


Classic Christianity: Life's Too Short to Miss the Real Thing
Classic Christianity: Life's Too Short to Miss the Real Thing
Author: Bob George
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 8/12/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This is an incredible book about truly living that "abundant life" that God has for us! Learn all of what God's grace is in your life! This book changed my walk with God and my understanding of Scripture in so many incredible ways! Highly recommended!


Don't Make Me Count to Three!: A Mom's Look at Heart-Oriented Discipline
Review Date: 1/10/2009
Helpful Score: 3


This is above and beyond all other books I have read on the topic of parenting! Plowman has done a fantastic job of taking the wisdom from the Bible and applying it to teaching our children's hearts! I will read this one again and again! No more counting to three around here! ( :


Dragons of the Deep: Ocean Monsters Past and Present
Dragons of the Deep: Ocean Monsters Past and Present
Author: Carl Wieland
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/10/2009


My kids love this book! We have learned about many incredible, but very creepy creatures we never knew existed. Really makes you think twice about swimming in the ocean! ( :


Father to Nobody's Children: The Life of Thomas J. Barnardo
Father to Nobody's Children: The Life of Thomas J. Barnardo
Author: David E. Fessenden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 1/10/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I got this book after reading the incredible 'Ned: Barnardo Boy' by Barbara Coyle, because my kids and I wanted to know more about Mr. Barnardo. This book fit the bill perfectly. Fantastic children's biography!


Five Little Peppers and How They Grew (Watermill Classic)
Five Little Peppers and How They Grew (Watermill Classic)
Author: Margaret Sidney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/10/2009


A classic that should not be missed! Precious story!


George Washington: Man of Prayer and Courage (The Sowers)
Review Date: 1/10/2009
Helpful Score: 1


We have read many of the biographies in the Sower Series and have enjoyed them all. Great biographies for kids that are written in narrative form based on the first hand accounts of each individual man or woman.
Don't miss this title or the one about Abigail Adams!


How do apples grow? (Let's-read-and-find-out science book)
How do apples grow? (Let's-read-and-find-out science book)
Author: Betsy Maestro
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 1/10/2009


I can't believe how much I learned from this book! This is by no means what Charlotte Mason would call 'twaddle'! ( :
The author also has another great one in this series called 'Why Do Leaves Change Colors'.


How to Draw Maps and Charts
How to Draw Maps and Charts
Author: Pam Beasant, Alistair Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 1/10/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Fun ideas! My kids grab this book and do the activities without being told to - You just can't beat that - Geography lessons on their own accord! ( :


If You're Trying to Teach Kids How to Write, You'Ve Gotta Have This Book (Kids' Stuff Book)
Review Date: 1/10/2009
Helpful Score: 1


The title says it all! This book the way I viewed teaching writing. We are not teaching writing, we are teaching writers. If your child has the ability to think and have an opinion, then they have the ability to write. We are just trying to help them be brave enough to get those thoughts out of their heads and onto paper.
The cheapest writing program around and you will not need another! K-12


It Is a Joy to Learn
It Is a Joy to Learn
Author: Florence Lindstrom
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 4/17/2007


Adventures in Phonics Book 4


1 to 20 of 35 - Page: