Facebook

M'Liss G. (melika) - Reviews

1 to 14 of 14
Barely a Lady (Drake's Rakes, Bk 1)
Barely a Lady (Drake's Rakes, Bk 1)
Author: Eileen Dreyer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 10/8/2011


Enjoyed this interesting & lively title. Complex plot with substance vs the usual she thinks he meant/he thinks she meant. Historical setting unusual for a regency as most of book's action is near the Waterloo Battlefield in Europe instead of Britain. Wicked villain is truly evil, heroine brave but wronged. Former husband was too quick to believe lies about wife. Slowly learns he was wrong about wife. Together they work to solve mystery of what happened to him before his amnesia & why he was found in a French uniform. All ends well.


Emma's Rug
Emma's Rug
Author: Allen Say
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/16/2013


Summary: A young artist, Emma, discovers her creativity comes from within when the rug she had always relied upon for inspiration is destroyed. Beautifully illustrated.

Author: Allen Say was born in Yokohama, Japan and moved to the United States when he was 16. He was awarded the Randolph Caldecott Medal and the New York Times Best Illustrated book of the Year for his book Grandfather's Journey. Alan Say is the author of several children's books.


The Emperor's Assassin (Memoirs of a Bow Street Runner, Bk 2)
The Emperor's Assassin (Memoirs of a Bow Street Runner, Bk 2)
Author: T. F. Banks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 2/21/2012


I didn't enjoy this title as much as the first in the series.


Lady Drusilla's Road to Ruin (Ladies in Disgrace, Bk 2) (Harlequin Historicals, No 1085)
Review Date: 6/2/2014


Fun read, interesting plot


The Last Kashmiri Rose: Murder and Mystery in the Final Days of the Raj
Review Date: 2/21/2012


An enjoyable read. Enjoyed the setting in India & history. Would recommend to any interested in historical fiction and/or India.


The Love Child
The Love Child
Author: Catherine Cookson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 3/27/2014


I liked and didn't like this book. Some of the characters, parents, were unlikeable. I finished title because the heroine overcame the stigma of her birth to achieve some social acceptability in spite of her parents. Heroine a sympathetic character one wants to see do well. Parents were selfish and self-absorbed, unlikeable.


Love is in the Heir
Love is in the Heir
Author: Kathryn Caskie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 9/25/2011


fun abd frothy romance.


A Man to Call My Own
A Man to Call My Own
Author: Johanna Lindsey
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 2/10/2012


Fun read.


Mojave
Mojave
Author: Johnny D. Boggs
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/9/2014


Good book, fast read. Has action, adventure, women in distress with a not so heroic gambler to the rescue. Written with a wry sense of humor but still plenty of action to please western fans. By a western award-winning author. I will definitely read more books by this author.


The Night the Stars Fell
The Night the Stars Fell
Author: Christina Kingston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 6/2/2014


good read average book


Our Lady of Pain (Edwardian Murder, Bk 4)
Our Lady of Pain (Edwardian Murder, Bk 4)
Author: Marion Chesney
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 6/13/2012


Interesting details of the rules surrounding the proper behavior expected of women & how this circumscribes their movement & participation in society.

I have been reading this series as each book has good plots, interesting charqacters, and a bit of romance mixed in with the mystery.

Enjoy the mysteries!


The Truth About the Harry Quebert Affair
The Truth About the Harry Quebert Affair
Author: Joel Dicker, Sam Taylor (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 9/9/2014
Helpful Score: 3


A fast-paced, well-written literary thriller. It's a dazzling book within a book with twists and turns, moving backwards and forwards in time. You won't want to put the book down. An award winning book by a French author writing an American thriller. I will read any book by Joel Dicker, I hope there will be more like this one.


Wait Until Midnight
Wait Until Midnight
Author: Amanda Quick
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 11/21/2020


Good read. Entertaining and kept my interest.


Whom the Gods Love (Julian Kestrel)
Whom the Gods Love (Julian Kestrel)
Author: Kate Ross
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 3/27/2014


Enjoyed the book; I like historical mysteries especially those set in regency England. Interesting plot kept me reading as my guesses on the why & who were wrong. Good period details and a few quirky characters; hero & his servant. Plan to read all in the Julian Kestrel series.
Melika


1 to 14 of 14