Helen B. (hmbeesley) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 64 - Page:
The 7-Day Quilt
The 7-Day Quilt
Author: Josephine Rogers
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 9/23/2006


I gave this one star as I am an experienced quilter and this book is really for those learning to quilt.


Alice's Tulips
Alice's Tulips
Author: Sandra Dallas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 125
Review Date: 7/8/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I really enjoyed the book. It was a quick read and the growth of the main character was well done. I am curious about some of what I considered more modern ideas/topics being discussed in the book, but possibly I don't know my history as well as I thought! Despite that I really loved the book.


All Souls : A Family Story from Southie
All Souls : A Family Story from Southie
Author: Michael Patrick MacDonald
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 6/23/2006


A natural story teller. I couldn't put it down. It also is a revival of the spirit to see how people who have so much against them can go on and make the world a better place.


Among Schoolchildren
Among Schoolchildren
Author: Tracy Kidder
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 2/2/2007
Helpful Score: 4


Fabulous. I teach 5th grade and just loved this book.


Better Sentence-Writing in 30 Minutes a Day (Better English Series)
Review Date: 8/2/2006


This is a great book for high school/college students or adults wanting to improve their writing. I teach 5th grade and it's beyond that scope.


A Bitter Brew : Faith, Power, and Poison in a Small New England Town
Review Date: 4/15/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Well written and very interesting. Of course, I wouldn't want to be one of the people interviewed by this reporter! She tells everything these people said. It was a sad story.


Blackbird : A Childhood Lost and Found
Blackbird : A Childhood Lost and Found
Author: Jennifer Lauck
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 6/14/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Great book. It's very different as it is written from the view of a child, but extremely well written. Zipped through it once I started. Can't wait to read the sequel.


Chicken Soup for the Teacher's Soul: Stories to Open the Hearts and Rekindle the Spirit of Educators
Review Date: 1/27/2006


Great short stories for those who love teaching!


Civil War Literature-Based Activities for Thematic Teaching
Review Date: 5/13/2006


Full of great ideas and hands on activites for teaching the Civil War.


Country Decorating
Country Decorating
Author: Stewart Walton, Sally Walton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/25/2007


Great book, if you are looking for ideas on painting, stenciling, and making items.


A Death in Belmont
A Death in Belmont
Author: Sebastian Junger
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 4/15/2007


Great book. He's a super writer and researcher.


Deception Point
Deception Point
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 274
Review Date: 7/15/2006


Great Book. Lots of adventure (a little over the top at times), but great fun. If you like mysteries and thrillers, you love this.


Design and Decorate Bedrooms (Design and Decorate)
Design and Decorate Bedrooms (Design and Decorate)
Author: Lesley Taylor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/26/2007


I thought this book had a lot of great ideas.


The Disappearance of Amy Cave: A True Account of Murder and Justice in Maine
Review Date: 2/7/2007


Living in Maine, I was intrigued by this story. The author does a great job of describing the people in this book and treats the victim with the utmost respect.


Discoveries: Fifty Stories of the Quest
Discoveries: Fifty Stories of the Quest
Author: Harold Schechter, Jonna Gormely Semeiks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/7/2006


Great stories. If you love myth and hero journey study, you'll enjoy this.


Five Cries of Grief: One Family's Journey to Healing After the Tragic Death of a Son
Review Date: 4/8/2006


One of the few books that has the perspective from both a mom and a dad.


For Laci : A Mother's Story of Love, Loss, and Justice
For Laci : A Mother's Story of Love, Loss, and Justice
Author: Sharon Rocha
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 1/18/2007


Well done. I've lost a child, and much of what Rocha wrote resonated with me. She does a fantastic job explaining what it's like to lose a child.


Freedomland
Freedomland
Author: Richard Price
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 1/16/2006
Helpful Score: 1


A great read. Great characters and thought provoking plot!


The Glass Castle
The Glass Castle
Author: Jeannette Walls
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 138
Review Date: 5/29/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Great book. Fast read. It is a testiment to what people can overcome. I also enjoyed the honesty of the idea that we can love people even when they are not perfect and when they do things that hurt us.


Good Bye, Boise... Hello, Alaska: The True Story of a Family's Move to a Remote Island Ranch
Review Date: 7/10/2006


My husband does not enjoy reading, but he really liked this book and finished it in two days. He said it was interesting and very easy reading.


1 to 20 of 64 - Page: