Laurie M. (lambie37) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 21 - Page:
Angelique's Descent (Dark Shadows, Bk 1)
Angelique's Descent (Dark Shadows, Bk 1)
Author: Lara Parker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/20/2015


It's been a long time since Dark Shadows was on TV. I loved the show. I loved this book. This was the story before the show; it is the story of how Angelique became who she was, and how Barnabas became who he was. The writing was excellent, easy to read, and hard to put down. If you loved the TV show, you will enjoy this book.


Betrayed (House of Night, Bk 2)
Betrayed (House of Night, Bk 2)
Author: Kristin Cast, P. C. Cast
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 921
Review Date: 11/1/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This book is classified as young adult. It deals with teenagers going through the "change" to become vampyres. I am far from being a young adult, but the characters are very endearing, and I find myself having trouble putting the book down. This is the second book of the series, and it is as good, if not better, than the first.


Black Notice (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 10)
Black Notice (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 10)
Author: Patricia Cornwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 2/10/2008


I love the Kay Scarpetta books, but I found this one a little harder to read. It just took longer to really get into it. In the end it was good, but not one of her best in my opinion.


Blonde with a Wand (Babes on Brooms, Bk 1)
Blonde with a Wand (Babes on Brooms, Bk 1)
Author: Vicki Lewis Thompson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 115
Review Date: 2/19/2014


This was a fun book to read. The blonde with a wand gets herself into a situation....the resulting story is a humorous adventure that causes the parties involved to take a serious look at their respective lives. Really good book if you are looking for a fun, easy read.


Blood Brothers (Sign of Seven, Bk 1)
Blood Brothers (Sign of Seven, Bk 1)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 1418
Review Date: 3/2/2009


First book of the trilogy. Wonderfully written. Introduces each character in time, and starts building on the relationships between them. Leaves you wanting to read book 2 and 3.


Breaking Dawn (Twilight, Bk 4)
Breaking Dawn (Twilight, Bk 4)
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3522
Review Date: 11/1/2008


Awesome book! It makes some interesting turns. I loved every minute of it!


Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 1)
Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 1)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 2419
Review Date: 11/1/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Excellent first book of a series. Not quite the same as the TV series True Blood (taken from these books), but Sookie is quite a character, and following her life becomes addictive.


Fibromyalgia for Dummies
Fibromyalgia for Dummies
Author: Roland Staud, Christine A. Adamec
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 2/27/2012


I have not read the whole book yet, but from what I've read so far, I'm impressed. I've had Fibromyalgia for a couple of years. I've gotten more information from this book than I have from my doctors. I would definitely recommend it.


The Fury (Vampire Diaries, Bk 3)
The Fury (Vampire Diaries, Bk 3)
Author: L. J. Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 1/29/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Although this series was written for teens, I enjoyed it. (I am an adult). The writing really helps you visualize what is going on. I thought it to be a very quick read, and very hard to put down.


The Hollow (Sign of Seven, Bk 2)
The Hollow (Sign of Seven, Bk 2)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 1154
Review Date: 3/2/2009


Excellent 2nd book in the trilogy. Builds on each character, and fills in the blanks as to why and how. I found all 3 books hard to put down.


The Host
The Host
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1194
Review Date: 11/1/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Wonderful story. Not at all like the Twilight series, this book was written for adults. This is more science fiction, with wonderful characters discovering that not all "bad" things are really bad.


If Angels Burn (Darkyn, Bk 1)
If Angels Burn (Darkyn, Bk 1)
Author: Lynn Viehl
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 462
Review Date: 3/8/2009


Not your typical vampire book. It was interesting, made me want to read. A few sex scenes. Very adult writing, deals with relationships in an odd sort of way. I found it to be very well written.


Lover Awakened (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Bk 3)
Lover Awakened (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Bk 3)
Author: J. R. Ward
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1257
Review Date: 6/1/2010


Excellent book. This installment deals with the twins, Zsadist and Phury. An excellent story line. It was a very hard thing to put this book down. If you've read the first two books of this series, then this one is a must read.


Magic to the Bone (Allie Beckstrom, Bk 1)
Magic to the Bone (Allie Beckstrom, Bk 1)
Author: Devon Monk
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 173
Review Date: 7/19/2015


This is the first book I have ever read by Devon Monk. I am so glad I did! The story line was excellent. It was very easy to get into the story and understand what was going on. I found myself rooting for the main character, Allie Beckstrom. The chapters are a bit long (which makes it hard to put down...I like to stop reading at the end of a chapter, not in the middle of one), but I found it to be an excellent book. If you like stories about magic with just a touch of romance, some adventure, good guys and bad guys, you'll like this book.


Mark of the Demon (Kara Gillian, Bk 1)
Mark of the Demon (Kara Gillian, Bk 1)
Author: Diana Rowland
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 126
Review Date: 2/6/2013


Excellent book. Part "cop" story, part paranormal, fully enjoyable. Some unexpected twists. If you enjoy books by Yasmine Galenorn, Charlaine Harris, and Kim Harrison, you will probably enjoy this book.


Marked (House of Night, Bk 1)
Marked (House of Night, Bk 1)
Author: Kristin Cast, P. C. Cast
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1186
Review Date: 11/1/2008
Helpful Score: 8


Although this book is classified young adult, I got taken in pretty quickly. The characters are teenagers, going through the change from human to vampyre. It is easy to forget they are teenagers though, with some of the issues the main character Zoey Redbird has to face. It reminds us that all light is not good, and all dark is not evil. Excellent book.


Montana Sky
Montana Sky
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 477
Review Date: 5/5/2007


Excellent book. The ending was a surprise. It was one of those books I just couldn't put down.


Nightlife (Cal and Niko Leandros, Bk 1)
Nightlife (Cal and Niko Leandros, Bk 1)
Author: Rob Thurman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 214
Review Date: 9/23/2011


This book was a little slow getting started. I liked the characters, and I enjoyed the book once it really got moving. It had a lot of surprises in it.


The Pagan Stone (Sign of Seven, Bk 3)
The Pagan Stone (Sign of Seven, Bk 3)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 1007
Review Date: 3/2/2009


Awesome book. Completes the trilogy. The suspense builds until the very end. Very convincing characters, and relationships.


The Trouble with Magic (Bewitching, Bk 1)
The Trouble with Magic (Bewitching, Bk 1)
Author: Madelyn Alt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 486
Review Date: 10/16/2013
Helpful Score: 1


If you like Yasmine Galenorn's China and Chintz series, you will like this book. It is a good, not intensely serious, mystery. No sex, nothing very graphic, but a very good read.


1 to 20 of 21 - Page: