Heather J. (LadyCrymsyn) - Reviews

21 to 29 of 29 - Page:
Remote (Remote)
Remote (Remote)
Author: Tetsuya Koshiba, Seimaru Amagi
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 3/22/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Over all, a good story. The main characters are interesting; however, the supporting cast is primarily made up of carichatures, rather than characters. One warning: this book has a *lot* of fanservice. Lots of panty shots, and a female shower scene. If you are willing to look past this, however, you may find a fascinating murder mystery.


The Sanctuary Sparrow (Brother Cadfael, Bk 7)
The Sanctuary Sparrow (Brother Cadfael, Bk 7)
Author: Ellis Peters
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 2/19/2012


This is probably one of the most exciting books in the Cadfael series. As with most of the books of this series, it is not necessary to have read the previous books to be able to follow the actions and interactions of the characters.
The book opens with the peace of the monastery being disturbed during the evening prayers by a young man running in, pursued by the townsfolk. The man claims sanctuary, the right to be kept in the monastery for 40 days, and not turned over to the law. During these 40 days, Brother Cadfael begins to believe that the young man is not guilty of the crimes of murder and theft of which he has been accused.
The tension in this book mount subtly but steadily, as the violence in the town continues, and the time of sanctuary steadily ticks away.
All in all, an excellent read, and highly recommended.


Shakespeare's Trollop (Lily Bard, Bk 4)
Shakespeare's Trollop (Lily Bard, Bk 4)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 370
Review Date: 6/30/2007
Helpful Score: 3


4th in the Lily Bard mystery series. In this book, Lily continues to grow, overcoming more emotional obstacles as she continues to poke her nose in the murders occuring in her small Arkansas town. The body count in this book actually ends at 4 (rather high for this series), With Deedra Dean being only the beginning. This and the remainder of the Lily Bard books are highly recommended.


Something from the Nightside (Nightside, Bk 1)
Something from the Nightside (Nightside, Bk 1)
Author: Simon R. Green
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 257
Review Date: 6/18/2007
Helpful Score: 3


A very quick, rather fun little read. At only 240 pages, the plot can't get too complex, but it does make for a satisfying little story. The main character is well-fleshed-out, with many hints to a rather *interesting* past. Some of the supporting characters seem a little thin, however. All in all, a good start to a series, likely to appeal to fans of Jim Butcher's "Dresden Files."


Vesuvius Club
Vesuvius Club
Author: Mark Gatiss
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 2/19/2012


Written with Mark Gatiss' usual wit, this book made me laugh aloud several times. Imagine a novel written by the offspring of Oscar Wilde and PG Wodehouse, and you might come close. This book makes me want to crawl into Mr. Gatiss' brain and see what other awesomeness lies therein. I will definitely be reading the next book in this series!


What Angels Fear (Sebastian St. Cyr, Bk 1)
What Angels Fear (Sebastian St. Cyr, Bk 1)
Author: C. S. Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 129
Review Date: 8/25/2017


I did not enjoy this book. For one, there were too many false starts and red herrings for me to find the mystery enjoyable. There were also levels of misogyny and homophobia in the plotting of the book that were a complete turn-off. (Note: I'm not referring to the period-appropriate attitudes towards women and gays, I'm referring to what the author chose to do with her female characters and her gay characters). Finally, the "romance" subplot was, to me, rather dull and brought the plot to a screeching halt every time the main characters decided to have sex.
I will give 1.5 stars because Sebastian St. Cyr was a somewhat interesting character, and I also enjoyed a minor character, Magistrate Lovejoy.


What Do You Say to a Naked Elf?
What Do You Say to a Naked Elf?
Author: Cheryl Sterling
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 146
Review Date: 3/31/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Overall, this is a fun and lighthearted book (which is exactly what you'd expect from the title). While I did enjoy the book for the most part, it tended to rely a bit to heavily on coincidence and deus ex machina to move the plot along. Also, I found the ending to be anticlimactic. I won't say too much, for fear of giving things away, but the story gears up for a big event that ends up materializing in and unexpected and, to me, unexciting way.
However, that aside, this was a quick and enjoyable read.


World War Z : An Oral History of the Zombie War
World War Z : An Oral History of the Zombie War
Author: Max Brooks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 90
Review Date: 5/19/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I'm not usually a fan of most zombie books or movies - they usually seemed a bit too self-contained. You have a zombie outbreak in a city, and that's really creepy, but what about the rest of the world? How are governments responding (or how did they fail to respond)? These issues are usually overlooked in favor of telling the immediate story. Well, World War Z seeks to answer these questions. Told as a series of survivor interviews, and set 10 years after the end of a world-wide zombie outbreak, it chronicles both personal responses to events and the overreaching governmental responses. It clearly shows how such a thing *could* happen, were there ever such a disease vector as could turn people into walking corpses.
This book is not a horror novel in the traditional sense. There isn't that much suspense - after all, these interviews are with the survivors, so we know who lived through it. Nor is this some fairy-tale world - evil people survived as well as good, and most of humanity fell somewhere in the grey area between. Moreover, this book has moments that are far more emotionally moving than any book about zombies has a right to be.
And there is the crux. This isn't really a book about zombies. Oh, it has zombies in it, enough to please most horror fans. But, ultimately, it's a book about humans, their ingenuity, and their will to survive. This is a book about hope. The hope that, no matter what we humans, as a race, do to ourselves, we can still band together and overcome.
So, if you like zombies, read this book. If you hate zombies, read this book.


Yaoi Hentai Volume 1
Yaoi Hentai Volume 1
Author: Yamila Abraham, Laila Reimoz, Tina Anderson, Anna Hollingsworth, Studio Kosaru
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 4/27/2009
Helpful Score: 2


The publisher's description states, "This is yaoi...at its most extreme. Graphic scenes of loving..." I would say that description is half-right. It is both extreme and graphic. But I would not use the word "loving" to describe anything that happens in these stories. There are 4 short stories contained in this collection. Of them, three involve coerced or non-consentual sex. The fourth involves, shall we say, naughty tenticles. I am no shy and retiring flower, and I certainly have no problems with graphic depictions of sex. However, I personally find the situations in this book to be too abhorrent to enjoy any of the bishounen. I am sure there are those out there for whom this is their cup of tea, but I am not one of them.


21 to 29 of 29 - Page: