Pattie A. (pattiea) - - Reviews

21 to 40 of 51 - Page:
Ice Time: A Canadian Hockey Journey
Ice Time: A Canadian Hockey Journey
Author: Scott Russell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/19/2006


A great behind-the-scenes look at the people who make Canadian hockey what it is, from the players and coaches to the scouts and broadcasters.


In Search of an Impotent Man
In Search of an Impotent Man
Author: Gaby Hauptmann
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/21/2008


A lighthearted look at a woman who decides her problem with men will be solved if she dates an impotent man. But she soon discovers that you shoudl be careful what you wish for!


In the Name of Honor
In the Name of Honor
Author: Richard North Patterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 5/23/2010
Helpful Score: 2


Richard North Patterson is one of my favorite authors, and I was reminded again why when I read In the Name of Honor. Patterson shows why he is one of the best legal thriller writers with this tale of an Army officer who shoots his former commander after they return from Iraq. The protagonist is Captain Paul Terry, the JAG officer who is assigned to defend him shortly before he is supposed to leave the military for a plush job in New York City. Terry has to deal with his client's family and the extended family of the deceased while navigating a military court martial and probing his client's PTSD and memory loss surrounding the shooting. The plot was good and I did not see the twist of the climax coming. But as always, Patterson's strength is his finely-drawn characters and their relationships. I had a hard time putting this book down, and I anxiously await Patterson's next novel.

My only complaint is that he got some of the military details wrong, but I am also an Iraq veteran, so the average reader probably wouldn't notice the mistakes.


The Lasko Tangent (Christopher Paget, Bk 1)
The Lasko Tangent (Christopher Paget, Bk 1)
Author: Richard North Patterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 11/18/2006
Helpful Score: 2


The debut novel by Richard North Patterson introduces us to Christopher Kenyon Paget, a young idealistic lawyer who wants the truth at all costs. The trouble is, when he tries to bring down a close ally of the President, the cost may be his own life.
Not quite as deep as his later novels and a quicker read, but still a page-turner.


The Last Lecture
The Last Lecture
Author: Randy Pausch, Jeffrey Zaslow
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 595
Review Date: 1/5/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This was an amazing, inspiring book. I was very tempted to keep it for myself, but I feel I need to pass Randy's message forward so others can also be inspired. But after the wish list here dies down, I may request it again as a keeper for my library.


The Lighthouse Stevensons
The Lighthouse Stevensons
Author: Bella Bathurst
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/4/2008


An account of the Lighthouse Stevensons, a family responsible for building Scotland's most challenging lighthouses during the Victorian era. Illustrated with photos, diagrams, and portraits, you get a real sense of the challenges they faced, not only in building the lighthouses, but also a sense of the time period and the men themselves.


Limitations
Limitations
Author: Scott Turow
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/13/2007


Nobody can do legal thrillers like Scott Turow, and he doesn't disappoint in this story of an appellate judge receiving death threats as he considers a politically and emotionally charged case.


Little Earthquakes
Little Earthquakes
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 548
Review Date: 9/13/2006
Helpful Score: 1


A tale of four women in Philadelphia who becoem friends as their first pregnancies and children change their lives.


Love the One You're With
Love the One You're With
Author: Emily Giffin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 500
Review Date: 12/18/2008
Helpful Score: 5


I enjoyed this book, although it wasn't as lighthearted or fun as her previous books, I thought. Although some of the characters seemed two-dimensional, the story and main character's dilemma were very realistic. And I loved the ending. I hope Emily Giffin's fifth book comes out soon.


Marley and Me : Life and Love with the World's Worst Dog
Marley and Me : Life and Love with the World's Worst Dog
Author: John Grogan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1405
Review Date: 9/10/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I adored this book. It was a very quick read, in part because I enjoyed it so much. I laughed and I cried. If you have ever had a family dog, you will enjoy this book!


Mary, Mary (Alex Cross, Bk 11)
Mary, Mary (Alex Cross, Bk 11)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 637
Review Date: 11/3/2006


Successful Hollywood women are dying in gruesome fashion. The murderer sends taunting emails after each murder, taunting the police to catch "her." Will Alex Cross find the murderer before "she" claims her next victim?


Mayday
Mayday
Author: Nelson Demille, Thomas Block
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 100
Review Date: 9/13/2006
Helpful Score: 2


A supersonic airliner has an unfortunate meeting with a navy test missile at high altitude. The plane depressurizes, and only a few crew and passengers survive without suffering from lack of oxygen before the plane levels out at a lower altitude. Led by a weekend pilot, the few survivors bravely try to bring the plane home, but they have to battle not only the elements, a plane full of irrational brain-damaged passengers, and their own fears, but also those who would rather see the plane crash at sea.


Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil
Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil
Author: John Berendt
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 612
Review Date: 11/19/2006


Much better than the movie. Definitely required reading if you plan to visit Savannah!


Murder at Christmas: And Other Stories from Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine and Alfred Hitchcock's Mystery Magazine
Review Date: 12/19/2006


A collection of Christmas-themed mystery short stories.


Naked Justice (Ben Kincaid, Bk 6)
Naked Justice (Ben Kincaid, Bk 6)
Author: William Bernhardt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 4/30/2006


Bernhardt keeps the ploy twists going to keep the reader interested.


No Safe Place (Kerry Kilcannon, Bk 1)
No Safe Place (Kerry Kilcannon, Bk 1)
Author: Richard North Patterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 95
Review Date: 7/4/2007


Page-turner by the master of political/legal thrillers. This is one of the Kerry Kilcannon series, and as he nears election, decisions of his past come to haunt him and threaten everything he has, including his life.


Old City Hall: A Novel
Old City Hall: A Novel
Author: Robert Rotenberg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/30/2010


I really enjoyed this thriller about a murder case in Toronto, which was an interesting twist on the usual legal thriller format in that it wasn't just from the point of view of the attorneys, but rather included the police and detectives as they pieced the case together. The many characters were interesting and varied, though not all as fully-developed as I would have liked (though not really possible due to the number). The plot was good and built to a suspenseful climax. The descriptions of Toronto really made me want to go back to visit soon.
There were a few loose ends laying the way for a sequel, perhaps. If so, I'll be sure to read it. I highly recommend this book for any fans of legal thrillers, especially those wanting something a little different.


Operation Homecoming: Iraq, Afghanistan, and the Home Front, in the Words of U.S. Troops and Their Families
Review Date: 8/15/2008
Helpful Score: 1


As a veteran of Iraq, I think this is easily the best book to come out of the Global War on Terror so far. "Emotionally powerful" and "insightful" seem too trite to describe the vivid detail and brutal honesty that could only be captured by our U.S. troops on the group (and in the air and sea), as well as the often-forgotten group of their loved ones back home. If you say you support the troops, please read this book so when you say "Thank you" to them, you will have a greater appreciation of the sacrifices they make and the hardships they endure.


Ordinary Heroes
Ordinary Heroes
Author: Scott Turow
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 112
Review Date: 11/5/2006


Scott Turow switches his usual story line in this book, but hasn't lost his master storyteller's touch. A son researches his late father's service in Europe during World War II, learning volumes about his parents, and ultimately himself.


Plum Island (John Corey, Bk 1)
Plum Island (John Corey, Bk 1)
Author: Nelson DeMille
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 328
Review Date: 12/31/2006


NYPD detective John Corey is supposed to be recovering on his uncle's Long Island estate when the local sheriff asks him to help with a murder investigation, where nothing is as it appears.


21 to 40 of 51 - Page: