Facebook

Cathy H. (Educat) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 52 - Page:
24 Hours (aka Trapped) (Mississippi, Bk 2)
24 Hours (aka Trapped) (Mississippi, Bk 2)
Author: Greg Iles
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 352
Review Date: 6/11/2006


An egrossing tale of kidnapping told over 24 hours. I couldn't put it down.


The Accidental Florist (Jane Jeffry, Bk 16)
The Accidental Florist (Jane Jeffry, Bk 16)
Author: Jill Churchill
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 7/4/2007
Helpful Score: 7


I'm sad to say it, but this is probably one of the worst books I've ever read. The plot is non existent, the characters thin, and it is full of inconsistencies. I think this will be my last Churchill. I don't know what happened to her.


All Mortal Flesh (Rev. Clare Fergusson/Russ Van Alstyne, Bk 5)
Review Date: 5/8/2007


the next installment in the Clare Ferguson/Russ Van Alstyne series. You need to read the others first! This is great and deals as much with the characters and their relationship,or lack thereof, as it does the mystery. I can't wait for the next one.


Arkansas Traveler (Benni Harper, Bk 8)
Arkansas Traveler (Benni Harper, Bk 8)
Author: Earlene Fowler
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 95
Review Date: 2/9/2007


a favorite series.....Bennie Harper....she goes home to Arkansas in this installment....very good.


Blueberry Muffin Murder (Hannah Swensen, Bk 3)
Blueberry Muffin Murder (Hannah Swensen, Bk 3)
Author: Joanne Fluke
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 256
Review Date: 4/20/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Much better than the corny title indicates. I'll read more of this series.


The Body in the Attic (Faith Fairchild, Bk 14)
The Body in the Attic (Faith Fairchild, Bk 14)
Author: Katherine Hall Page
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 4/1/2006


An interesting Faith Fairchild mystery. This one doesn't involve an actual body--or at least not a current one, but mysterious diary is found leading her to believe there may have once been a body in the attic.


The Body in the Bookcase (Faith Fairchild, Bk 9)
The Body in the Bookcase (Faith Fairchild, Bk 9)
Author: Katherine Hall Page
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 1/7/2007
Helpful Score: 1


another delightful trip to Aleford with Faith and her family. This one involves thefts of antiques.


The Boleyn Inheritance
The Boleyn Inheritance
Author: Philippa Gregory
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 7/20/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Absolutely fascinating! I highly recommend this book.


A Change in the Flight Plan
A Change in the Flight Plan
Author: Paul Lanier
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/6/2007


I know the author personally and highly recommend this book for anyone who is has problems in their life.


China Trade  (Lydia Chin, Bill Smith, Bk 1)
China Trade (Lydia Chin, Bill Smith, Bk 1)
Author: S. J. Rozan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 9/4/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Wonderful new detective. Rozan does such a good job with the Chinese detective Lydia Chin and Chinatown that I was amazed she is an Anglo. Good series, I'll be anxious to read the next one.


A Clue for the Puzzle Lady (Cora Felton, Puzzle Lady, Bk 1)
A Clue for the Puzzle Lady (Cora Felton, Puzzle Lady, Bk 1)
Author: Parnell Hall
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 85
Review Date: 5/30/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Different and interesting characters. I'll read more by this author.


Dark of the Moon (Louis Kincaid, Bk 1)
Dark of the Moon (Louis Kincaid, Bk 1)
Author: P.J. Parrish
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 6/11/2006


Ouis Kincade returns home to investigate a decades old slaying. Lots of Southern prejudice still going on.............


Death in Lovers' Lane (Henrie O, No 3)
Death in Lovers' Lane (Henrie O, No 3)
Author: Carolyn Hart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 3/22/2007


This is from Hart's Henrie O series. I love this series. Henrie O is a journalist working as a professor at a small university. She works through her own romanitc issues in this book while solving three "cold cases" and one current murder. Good reading.


Death on the Family Tree (Family Tree, Bk 1)
Death on the Family Tree (Family Tree, Bk 1)
Author: Patricia Sprinkle
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 3/20/2007
Helpful Score: 7


Another great series by one of my favorite authors. The main character is Kate Anderson, mid forties, empty nest with lots of time on her hands. In going through her late aunt's effects she stumbles on something of value....something a lot of people want, and uncovers lots of secrets in the family tree.


Death Warmed Over (Deb Ralston, Bk 4)
Death Warmed Over (Deb Ralston, Bk 4)
Author: Lee Martin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 9/26/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Deb Ralston, believable, likable Ft. Worth police officer investigates a kidnapping gone terribly wrong.


Did You Declare the Corpse? (Thoroughly Southern Mystery, Bk 8)
Review Date: 2/27/2007


Love this series! In this installment McLauren has gone to Scotland, land of her ancestors. Good mystery.


A Faint Cold Fear (Grant County, Bk 3)
A Faint Cold Fear (Grant County, Bk 3)
Author: Karin Slaughter
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 328
Review Date: 7/31/2006
Helpful Score: 1


reminds me of early Patricia Cornwall.


Farewell to Yarns (Jane Jeffry, Bk 2)
Farewell to Yarns (Jane Jeffry, Bk 2)
Author: Jill Churchill
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 124
Review Date: 5/30/2006


A book from early in the Jane Jeffrey series. I liked this one much better than some of the later ones.


Fatal Fixer-Upper (Do-It-Yourself Mystery, Bk 1)
Fatal Fixer-Upper (Do-It-Yourself Mystery, Bk 1)
Author: Jennie Bentley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 178
Review Date: 12/14/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This book is much better than the title indicates. I'm getting a bit tired of all the "specialty" mysteries (tea rooms, knitting, real estate, house renovations,etc), but this one rises above most of the others. The characters are well drawn,the added home renovations are interesting without bogging down and I enjoyed the history and scenery presented. While I figured out "whodunit" before it was revealed it was still a great mystery.


Gone to Her Death (Lloyd and Hill, Bk 3)
Gone to Her Death (Lloyd and Hill, Bk 3)
Author: Jill McGown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 1/21/2006


I love Jill McGown's Lloyd and Hill series. Very tightly woven plot.


1 to 20 of 52 - Page: