Facebook

Sharlene W. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 33 - Page:
Act Like It
Act Like It
Author: Lucy Parker
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/31/2017


This romance was a little different for me, as I had not read any stories connected to the London theater before. Lainie and Troy really, really didn't like each other, but are put together as a publicity stunt, to temper Troy's reputation. He is a great actor, but appears to not be a very nice person. Lainie is a good actress, as well as having a reputation as a nice person. This really was a slow burn hate to like to love story. Very enjoyable.


Again the Magic (Wallflowers, Prequel)
Again the Magic (Wallflowers, Prequel)
Author: Lisa Kleypas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 485
Review Date: 8/8/2015


This was an extremely emotional read, right from the beginning. I felt for both Aline & McKenna, in their forbidden love, due to being in different classes. They were apart for 12 years, in which time McKenna made his fortune in America & Aline has been in a fire & suffered terrible burns. It is obvious that they are both still in love & tension is high. I have to say, I cried while reading this throughout. There is a secondary romance of Aline's sister Livia and the American, Gideon Shaw. I had recently read the Wallflowers & hadn't realized that Again the Magic introduced these characters, as well as Aline & Livia's brother, the ever present Marcus Westcliff. Love that guy! Love conquers all in this story, for both couples.


All for You (Paris Hearts) (Volume 1)
All for You (Paris Hearts) (Volume 1)
Author: Laura Florand
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/27/2016


This was a very romantic second chance romance story. It is about Celie, who is a chocolatier in in Dom's shop (from The Chocolate Touch) and Joss, her brother's friend, who just came back from 5 years in the Foreign Legion. He left without saying goodbye, to make himself a better man for her. Meanwhile, she was heartbroken & didn't know if and when he would be back. It was a rocky road to romance for these two, but well worth it!


All You Need is Love (Green Mountain, Bk 1)
All You Need is Love (Green Mountain, Bk 1)
Author: Marie Force
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 10/28/2016


Cameron is a city girl, who has friends, but needs the love of a family. Will lives in a small town, working with & surrounded by a large family. Cameron comes to pitch a website idea for Will's family's country store, on the request of Will's father, who is friends with Cameron's father. Will is initially grouchy & resistant, but she wins him over & also gets the job. They end up getting very close over the 2 weeks she stays in Vermont to work on the website, but the relationship has an expiration date, or so they think. This story introduces a large & interesting cast of characters, mostly Will's family, so I am looking forward to stories for the 9 brothers & sisters, and maybe Cameron's two friends from the city. This is the first book I have read by this author, and I would definitely recommend it!


Any Man of Mine (Chinooks Hockey Team, Bk 6)
Any Man of Mine (Chinooks Hockey Team, Bk 6)
Author: Rachel Gibson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 185
Review Date: 8/8/2015


Loved this book! I had read Rescue Me first & someone told me Vince was introduced in this book, so I had to read it!


The Billion Dollar Cowboy (Cowboys and Brides, Bk 1)
The Billion Dollar Cowboy (Cowboys and Brides, Bk 1)
Author: Carolyn Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 8/8/2015


I am a big fan of Carolyn Brown's cowboy books. This book had a unique premise. I really liked it & I'm glad it is the start of a new series. Looking forward to the next books!


Blue Ribbon Jalapeño Society Jubilee
Blue Ribbon Jalapeño Society Jubilee
Author: Carolyn Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/8/2015


Like a most of the reviewers, I couldn't put this down. It was a little like Hope Ramsey's Last Chance series, which I love. I am hoping that there will be follow up books for all of the characters in this book to get HEA's! Overall,it was a great story about friendships, with some good laughs & quirky characters.


Christmas at Tiffany's
Christmas at Tiffany's
Author: Karen Swan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 4/13/2016


I had a very late night reading because I didn't want to put this down till I finished it! Cassie finds out, on her 10 year anniversary, that her husband has been cheating on her. She is having a huge party at the time, with her 3 best friends since childhood in attendance. She immediately leaves & flies to NY to live with one of these friends. She will live there for a while, then move to Paris with another friend and finally with the 3rd friend in London. This story kept me on my toes, not knowing exactly where she would end up settling or with whom. Very satisfying read!


Cowboy Boots for Christmas (Cowboy Not Included) (Burnt Boot, Bk 1)
Cowboy Boots for Christmas (Cowboy Not Included) (Burnt Boot, Bk 1)
Author: Carolyn Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 1/25/2017


I am a huge fan of Carolyn's Spikes and Spurs series about the O'Donnell brothers and sisters. This is about one of their cousins, Finn, who has just purchased a ranch & moved in with his dog. Since he has been out of the military, the government keeps trying to get him to come back and work for them, so when he sees the trucks pull up, he thinks it's more of the same. It is actually Callie, his military partner, and her deceased sister's son, who witnessed a murder. Callie can't think of anyone she would feel safer with than Finn and Finn never realized how much he missed her till she showed up. They form a make-shift family, including some stray and abandoned animals along the way. It builds to a whole other type of family. Meanwhile, Finn starts sneaking kisses & they both start acting on the attraction they never acknowledged when they were working closely in Afghanistan. There is a local family feud going on & the two rival families each have a bitchy woman that goes after Finn, which also leads to some pretty explosive fights!There is no doubt about the love between Callie and Finn, but it takes a cast of characters to get them to where they need to be. Loved this book!


Darn Good Cowboy Christmas (Spikes & Spurs, Bk 3)
Darn Good Cowboy Christmas (Spikes & Spurs, Bk 3)
Author: Carolyn Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 1/1/2017


I have read this book several times and it is one of my favorite Carolyn Brown books. Liz has only ever known the travelling carnival life, but she has always wanted to put down roots in a real home. She met Raylen at her uncle's farm on two vacations, the last being when she was 14, and has always had him in her thoughts. Now her uncle is offering to give her his farm. The first person she sees is Raylen. He almost immediately marks his territory, but is nervous about her leaving. This was just the sweetest love story, with a cast of interesting characters on both sides! The whole Spikes and Spurs series is great, and I highly recommend it.


Dreaming of You (Gamblers, Bk 2)
Dreaming of You (Gamblers, Bk 2)
Author: Lisa Kleypas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 376
Review Date: 8/8/2015


This was my 2nd time reading this book. Derek Craven was the perfect tortured hero & Sara Fielding was his perfect match. He had felt himself unworthy of love & she had a really hard time convincing him that she wanted him as he is. There was one particular villain in the form of one of his spurned lovers that caused many of the conflicts in this book, but ultimately causes Derek to realize the depth of his feelings for Sara. Very touching love story with a sweet epilogue.


Four Weddings and a Sixpence: Something Old / Something New / Something Borrowed / Something Blue / ...And a Sixpence in Her Shoe
Review Date: 2/25/2017


Cute anthology. I am a fan of Julia Quinn, which made me pick up the book. All of the stories were good!


The Geek Girl and the Scandalous Earl (Geek Girls, Bk 1)
The Geek Girl and the Scandalous Earl (Geek Girls, Bk 1)
Author: Gina Lamm
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 8/8/2015


This was a cute time travel book in which Jamie falls through a mirror and ends up in Regency England. Micah is an Earl in need of a bride & she isn't what he needs. You are wishing for everything to work out, but wondering how it will happen.


The Harder They Fall (Loveswept, No 885)
The Harder They Fall (Loveswept, No 885)
Author: Jill Shalvis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 5/13/2016


Fairly short read. Sexy, sweet & a little angsty. Sort of like an older Janet Evanovich or Jennifer Crusie book. Loved it!


How to Handle a Heartbreaker (McCauley Brothers, Bk 2)
How to Handle a Heartbreaker (McCauley Brothers, Bk 2)
Author: Marie Harte
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 10/17/2015


Brody was a true tortured hero, having been mentally & physically abused as a child. He is an unofficial brother of the McCauleys & was raised by them since childhood. Abby had been criticized by her ex-boyfriend to the point that she thought she was unattractive & that her desires were unnatural. She is an erotic romance novelist who has been hiding her career. Luckily, these two are able to help each other come to love & accept themselves & each other. It was a tough road for them, but they had friends & family to help them along. I really liked The Troublemaker Next Door & think I liked How to Handle a Heartbreaker even more!


Jilted (Hqn)
Jilted (Hqn)
Author: Rachael Johns
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/8/2015


This was surprisingly more emotionally intense than I had expected. The primary story was Ellie having left Flynn at the alter 10 years prior, and coming back in town to care for her sick godmother. It is obvious from the start that they still love each other, but there is a lot of back & forth of who doesn't trust the other, and a major truth not told by Ellie, which isn't revealed until near the end of the book. There was also a grand romantic gesture near the end, which made up for the prior heartache.


Just the Sexiest Man Alive
Just the Sexiest Man Alive
Author: Julie James
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 152
Review Date: 8/8/2015


I have had this book on my list for a while. It was so good! Opposites attract with a movie star and a lawyer.


Lady Isabella's Scandalous Marriage (MacKenzies & McBrides, Bk 2)
Review Date: 8/8/2015


Marriage in trouble is not my favorite trope, but I am loving the Mackenzies so far. You know right from the start that Mac & Isabella still love each other, but after being separated for 3 years, it will take time to regain trust. There are some twists in this, and you find out the background of why they separated. There is an impostor trying to take over Mac's identity, which gives mystery & suspense to the story. There are appearances from Mac's brothers Ian and Cam, as well as Ian's new wife, Beth, from The Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie. I am looking forward to reading the rest of the books in this series!


The Last Man on Earth (Graysons, Bk 1)
The Last Man on Earth (Graysons, Bk 1)
Author: Tracy Anne Warren
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 8/8/2015


This was a cute office romance with a hero who was afraid to love due to past relationships. He very nearly loses the girl to a high school sweetheart. There is a lot of emotional ups & downs to get to the HEA. It was an enjoyable read.


The Longest Ride
The Longest Ride
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 8/8/2015


This was an emotional read, but very satisfying. I was wondering how the 2 story lines would connect, and I was surprised by the twist near the end!


1 to 20 of 33 - Page: