Amy L. - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 31 - Page:
Artifact
Artifact
Author: Gregory Benford
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 12/28/2006


quite involved story - it encompasses science & archeaology. Benford is a good storyteller with a knack for dialog.


Beggar's Choice
Beggar's Choice
Author: Patricia Wentworth
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 10/2/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I was riveted to this book because it was written from the perspective of the main character. I felt his feelings & hoped it would all work out for him. And yet I wasn't sure who was telling the truth & who wasn't till the very end.


Beggars in Spain (Sleepless, Bk 1)
Beggars in Spain (Sleepless, Bk 1)
Author: Nancy Kress
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 4/1/2007
Helpful Score: 4


This is the first of a trilogy about genetic engineering & how it affected society in the US. The books definitely should be read in order. Alot happens in each book. Interesting if one likes detailed characters.


The Benevent Treasure (Miss Silver, Bk 26)
The Benevent Treasure (Miss Silver, Bk 26)
Author: Patricia Wentworth
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 7/10/2012


A suspenseful mystery that I couldn't put down. Ms Wentworth kept me worrying about the main character & I just had to see what happened to her.


Bolt  (Kit Fielding, Bk 2)
Bolt (Kit Fielding, Bk 2)
Author: Dick Francis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 10/24/2006


Dick Frances writes great mysteries. I especially like the background insight into the world of horse racing. Language is clean & the story is not muddied up with an excess of sex or graphic violence. The title Bolt has nothing to do with how a horse runs. You'll have to read it & find out.


The Chinese Bell Murders (Judge Dee)
The Chinese Bell Murders (Judge Dee)
Author: Robert Van Gulik
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 2/22/2013


This is a good mystery as well as interesting insight into Chinese culture. The main character, Judge Dee, surprises in the way he deals with the issues & how he figures out the mystery. I couldn't stop because I was anxious to find out what happened next.


Delete All Suspects (Turing Hopper, Bk 4)
Delete All Suspects (Turing Hopper, Bk 4)
Author: Donna Andrews
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 11/12/2011


I enjoyed the pc & tech references & the author has made the newly sentient AIs very believable. i can't wait for more Turing Hopper books.


Excavation
Excavation
Author: James Rollins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 377
Review Date: 1/29/2013


I couldn't put it down. The story was exciting. There was even a little scifi at the end.


Foundation's Edge (Foundation, Bk 4)
Foundation's Edge (Foundation, Bk 4)
Author: Isaac Asimov
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 108
Review Date: 4/3/2007


THE foundation series of Asimov continues in book 4. Only one man can save Hari Seldon's plan.


Foundation's Fear (Second Foundation, Bk 1)
Foundation's Fear (Second Foundation, Bk 1)
Author: Gregory Benford
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 12/1/2006


This is set in the Foundation empire but not a sequel. Seldon is alive & this deals mostly with him. I enjoyed it until it got bogged down in the cyber personalities of joan of Ark & Voltaire.


Hot Money
Hot Money
Author: Dick Francis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 10/24/2006
Helpful Score: 1


A very involved plot. Interesting to the end. A longer book that many of his others, which suits me fine. He weaves horse racing, money, family & greed.


In the Frame
In the Frame
Author: Dick Francis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 11/1/2006


Dick Frances has a very believable way with dialog & the main character in this book is someone I would like to know. It's from the viewpoint of art so some info about painting helps solve the crime, but the real interest comes from the involved crime & solution.


The Ivory Dagger (Miss Silver, Bk 18)
The Ivory Dagger (Miss Silver, Bk 18)
Author: Patricia Wentworth
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 1/18/2012


Intriging story & I was surprised by the perpetrator. Also, Wentworth is a classy writer - no graphic sex or violence.


Learning Office 2000
Learning Office 2000
Author: Jennifer Fulton, Sue Plumley, Nancy Kaczmarczyk
Book Type: Spiral-bound
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/9/2007


An excellent reference book. It comes with a learning CD too.


The Listening Eye (Miss Silver, Bk 28)
The Listening Eye (Miss Silver, Bk 28)
Author: Patricia Wentworth
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 7/3/2012


A good cozy mystery. Miss Silver is as good as Miss Marple.


The Martian Race (Martian Race, Bk 1)
The Martian Race (Martian Race, Bk 1)
Author: Gregory Benford
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 12/1/2006


Good science background to the story of scientists living on Mars for two years - how it would be possible with our level of technology. Intereesting conclusion.


Microsoft Frontpage 2000 Step by Step
Microsoft Frontpage 2000 Step by Step
Author: ActiveEducation Editorial Staff
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 10/27/2006
Helpful Score: 2


One of the best tutorial books for Microsoft FrontPage 2000. I looked thru all the books at Barnes & Noble before picking this one. It is clear, easy to understand & easy to refence from the index.


More Mystery Cats
More Mystery Cats
Author: Lilian Jackson Braun (Editor)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 10/24/2006
Helpful Score: 3


A nice collection of short stories by different writers, all about cats.


Noble House
Noble House
Author: James Clavell
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 10/24/2006


If you loved the mini series, you'll love this book. It has more details & really gets you into the story. Of course, there are plots within plots so you are hanging on till the end. A good vacation book since it is quite thick. My only criticism is that Ian Dunross' description does not match Pierce Brosnan, who played him in the mini series. I especially liked the insight into Hong Kong & its colorful people.


Nothing Venture
Nothing Venture
Author: Patricia Wentworth
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 10/2/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I was rooting for Nan though the whole book. I put myself in her shoes & kept wanting her to succeed. But the villains seemed to be successful. I couldn't figure out how he was going to get out of that predicament so I couldn't put the book down until I finished it.


1 to 20 of 31 - Page: