Susie C. (talbot73) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 23 - Page:
Agatha Raisin and the Fairies of Fryfam (Agatha Raisin, Bk 10)
Agatha Raisin and the Fairies of Fryfam (Agatha Raisin, Bk 10)
Author: M. C. Beaton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 2/10/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I loved Agatha Raisin! She is just what I need in a amateur detective. Very human!!


Agatha Raisin and the Murderous Marriage (Agatha Raisin, Bk 5)
Agatha Raisin and the Murderous Marriage (Agatha Raisin, Bk 5)
Author: M. C. Beaton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 119
Review Date: 2/23/2007


Any middle-aged ladies out there? Mrs. Raisin is a hoot and will make you laugh as she solves murders and deals with life.


Birdman (Jack Caffery, Bk 1)
Birdman (Jack Caffery, Bk 1)
Author: Mo Hayder
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 2/23/2007


The writing is good and the subject is scary and screepy.


The Black Path (Rebecka Martinsson, Bk 3)
The Black Path (Rebecka Martinsson, Bk 3)
Author: Asa Larsson, Marlaine Delargy (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 3/11/2015


I almost gave up on this book. I found it hopped around too much in the beginning. But about half way through it has picked up and I am glad I didn't give up. I do like how the author writes. Her metaphors are good and often crack me up which alleviates some of the seriousness of the subject.


Candy Apple Dead (Candy Shop, Bk 1)
Candy Apple Dead (Candy Shop, Bk 1)
Author: Sammi Carter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 189
Review Date: 7/28/2006


Wow! Candy and murder! Yum!


The Case of the Buried Clock (Perry Mason, Bk 22)
The Case of the Buried Clock (Perry Mason, Bk 22)
Author: Erle Stanley Gardner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 7/20/2006


You can't beat Erle Stanley Gardner for it's classy protagonist. I loved the clever dialogue.


A Cold Treachery (Inspector Ian Rutledge, Bk 7)
A Cold Treachery (Inspector Ian Rutledge, Bk 7)
Author: Charles Todd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 12/7/2006


Wonderful!! Able to immerse myself in the characters and location.


Desert Places (Andrew Z. Thomas, Bk 1)
Desert Places (Andrew Z. Thomas, Bk 1)
Author: Blake Crouch
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 2/16/2009


You know that feeling when you're passing a car accident and you don't want to look and you know you shouldn't look but you just have to? Well, that is like this book. It is creepy and so compelling that you just have to stay up all night to finish it...quick!


Dying for Chocolate (Goldy Schulz, Bk 2)
Dying for Chocolate (Goldy Schulz, Bk 2)
Author: Diane Mott Davidson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 411
Review Date: 10/23/2006


Yum...recipes, too!!


The Dying Hour (Jason Wade, Bk 1)
The Dying Hour (Jason Wade, Bk 1)
Author: Rick Mofina
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 2/1/2007


This book was a complete surprise. It was a real gripping read and I flew through it in one day even though I had a dozen responsibilites.


The Ghost and Mrs. McClure (Haunted Bookshop, Bk 1)
Review Date: 2/2/2007
Helpful Score: 9


A bookshop and a ghost?!?! Makes for a delightful read! Love the dialogue, too.


Green Girls
Green Girls
Author: Michael Kimball
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 7/19/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I really got into this book - I read it in one sitting.


I Dreamed I Married Perry Mason (Cece Caruso, Bk 1)
I Dreamed I Married Perry Mason (Cece Caruso, Bk 1)
Author: Susan Kandel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 7/20/2006
Helpful Score: 2


I highly tout this book as an enjoyable read. I'm a lover of vintage clothing and the protagonist is a collector which was an added bonus. Can't help but want to be friends with Cece Caruso!


The Last Coyote (Harry Bosch, Bk 4)
The Last Coyote (Harry Bosch, Bk 4)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 112
Review Date: 9/25/2006


You can't beat Harry Bosch novels!!


Mudbound
Mudbound
Author: Hillary Jordan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 185
Review Date: 7/8/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Enjoyed the alternating chapters revealing what each character was experiencing and thinking. It's good modern Southern Lit. Would be excellent for a reading group.


Nobody Comes Back : A Novel of the Battle of the Bulge
Nobody Comes Back : A Novel of the Battle of the Bulge
Author: Donn Pearce
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 2/12/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This historical fiction is not your typical war novel. It does not sugar coat or romanticize WWII. The author wrote the screenplay for the movie, 'Cool Hand Luke' and he applies his talent here in up front and honest dialogue. I felt as though I was actually walking the terrain of war torn Germany, France and Luxembourgh with the main character. Probably since it does not romanticize nor is there a sideline love story, the book would appeal more to males. However, it will appeal to all lovers of WWII history. I definitely recommend and give it thumbs up!


Potshot (Spenser, Bk 28)
Potshot (Spenser, Bk 28)
Author: Robert B. Parker
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 104
Review Date: 9/19/2006


Parker never disappoints!


Restless Waters (Rachel Porter, Bk 9)
Restless Waters (Rachel Porter, Bk 9)
Author: Jessica Speart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 9/25/2006


Tough female character. You learn alot about wildlife, too.


Stealing Shadows (Shadows, Bk 1) (World of Bishop, Bk 1)
Stealing Shadows (Shadows, Bk 1) (World of Bishop, Bk 1)
Author: Kay Hooper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 352
Review Date: 8/2/2006


I really enjoyed reading this book. I wanted to read it all in one sitting but 'life' got in the way. I definitely liked the characters!


Terror on Tuesday (Lois Meade, Bk 2)
Terror on Tuesday (Lois Meade, Bk 2)
Author: Ann Purser
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 96
Review Date: 11/18/2006


A really fun read.


1 to 20 of 23 - Page: