Facebook

Linsey S. (linsey) - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
Girl, Interrupted
Girl, Interrupted
Author: Susanna Kaysen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 713
Review Date: 9/15/2008


This is the only book that I have ever thought was not as good as the movie. It's put together in a very disjointed way, and although the subject interests me, it was difficult to get through because of the way it is written.


Haunted Ground (Cormac Maguire & Nora Gavin, Bk 1)
Haunted Ground (Cormac Maguire & Nora Gavin, Bk 1)
Author: Erin Hart
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 7/10/2013


Good premise with a lot of potential. Unfortunately I found the writing to be disjointed at times, and had trouble keeping track of or and keeping interest in the characters.


I Hope They Serve Beer in Hell
I Hope They Serve Beer in Hell
Author: Tucker Max
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 9/15/2008


Absolutely hilarious, but not for thse who are extremely PC or proper.


Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns)
Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns)
Author: Mindy Kaling
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 96
Review Date: 6/2/2013


Funny and relatable. If you are a fan on Mindy and know her work from the Office, and The Mindy Project, you can really her voice coming though in the book.


Let's Pretend This Never Happened
Let's Pretend This Never Happened
Author: Jenny Lawson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 84
Review Date: 6/14/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Hilarious, relatable, and cringe-worthy stories. I laughed out loud so many times while I was reading, people must have thought I was losing it.

We all have stories from our lives that we'd like to forget. This book reminds us that these very same stories are what makes us who we are, and we should (try) and appreciate all of our weird and embarrassing stories of growing up, being an "adult", and beyond. Great read!


The Night Circus
The Night Circus
Author: Erin Morgenstern
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 224
Review Date: 7/30/2013


This is the first book in a long time that I actually had to pace myself as I neared the end because I didn't want to finish.

The author's writing completely transports you to the time(s) and place(s) in the book. Night Circus is amazingly well written, and has a fairy-tale-like quality that makes me miss having the imagination that us adults seem to lose once we are not children anymore.


A Real Boy : A True Story of Autism, Early Intervention, and Recovery
Review Date: 9/15/2008
Helpful Score: 3


Good book with a lot of relevant inforation. BUT...written in a way that comes accross very self-indulgent and arrogant.


Then We Came to the End
Then We Came to the End
Author: Joshua Ferris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 9/16/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Ok, so apparently I just didn't get the humor part of this book. I heard that it was like reading a script from the show The Office (which I love), and I was very disappointed. Maybe the humor was over my head? Who knows. All I do know is that I feel like I wasted my time rading this book.


Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots
Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots
Author: Deborah Feldman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 7/10/2013


As someone who is interested in all sorts of exclusive religions, I was very excited to read this book. Unfortunately it did not completely live up to my hopes. I can empathize with where the author is coming from - feeling like an outsider in such an oppressive society must be suffocating. However, it is my opinion that her story could have benefited from waiting a few more years (in order to gain more real world perspective that she missed out on by being part of this society) before it was shared. A certain amount of bitterness and hostility comes through in the writing, which makes learning about this sect of orthodox Judaism in "Unorthodox" difficult to digest.


The Witching Hour (Mayfair Witches, Bk 1)
The Witching Hour (Mayfair Witches, Bk 1)
Author: Anne Rice
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 668
Review Date: 9/15/2008
Helpful Score: 1


One of the only books I've read more than once. Absolutely wonderful writing.


1 to 10 of 10