Robin C. (RobinMarie) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 28 - Page:
The Beet Queen
The Beet Queen
Author: Louise Erdrich
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 4/17/2010


Great summer read!


The Black Madonna
The Black Madonna
Author: Louisa Ermelino
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 1/1/2011


Really enjoyed this book!


Celebrating Girls
Celebrating Girls
Author: Virginia Beane Rutter
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/1/2009


This book gives a lot of concrete examples of how to support your daughter to be proud of being a woman. From doing the hair of a toddler to coming of age ceremonies, this book had a lot of good suggestions. It has examples of how things are done in other cultures as well, giving a global sense of being female.


Cutting for Stone
Cutting for Stone
Author: Abraham Verghese
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 498
Review Date: 6/23/2011
Helpful Score: 6


I found it difficult to get through the first 100 pages. It seemed like there were too many 'main' characters in the book and I could not follow the storyline. I thought if I got through the first 200 pages, I'd be rewarded with a wonderful reading experience. Instead, I found myself disinterested in both brothers and only really liked the character Hema. This book was disappointing. Usually I like, or at least can appreciate, well-reviewed books. Not this one.


Doomsday Book
Doomsday Book
Author: Connie Willis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 271
Review Date: 2/19/2010


The book is well written but lacked enough time travel details for me to love.


Garden Spells
Garden Spells
Author: Sarah Addison Allen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 169
Review Date: 11/14/2010


This is a great vacation read!


Half Broke Horses: A True-Life Novel
Half Broke Horses: A True-Life Novel
Author: Jeannette Walls
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 293
Review Date: 5/8/2011


I read this book in a day. It's easy to read and easy to like the main character though I had hoped it would be more like Glass Castles.


I Openers
I Openers
Author: Dave Hingsburger
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 12/12/2006


Subtitle: Parents ask questions about sexuality and children with developmental disabilities.


The Kite Runner
The Kite Runner
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5712
Review Date: 12/14/2008
Helpful Score: 3


I read this book more than a year ago. I could not wait to read the book because so many people loved it. I sat down to read the book and kept crying. I don't read books to cry, I read them to escape. I finished the book and yelled at anyone I could think of who had recommended the book.

The fact is, more than a year later the book has stayed with me. I have read many other books and could not tell you the author, plot or ending. In fact, I might even reorder some of the books because I read them so fast, and they were meaningless.

The Kite Runner affect lasted. I had to watch the movie, like all movies that come out based on books I've read. While not the same, it reminded me of the emotions I felt while reading this book.


Land Girls
Land Girls
Author: Angela Huth
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 7/10/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoyed the book. It is a quick read, good for vacation.


The Last Werewolf
The Last Werewolf
Author: Glen Duncan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 7/9/2012
Helpful Score: 1


This might be the worst book ever written. Ever. I had this book on my wish list, presumably because it was recommended and others liked it. It was awful. I did not like a single character in this book. I started the book three different times because I thought I missed something but realized this book just stinks. This might be the first time I have ever used the word 'stink' in a review of a book.


A Lion Among Men (Wicked Years, Bk 3)
A Lion Among Men (Wicked Years, Bk 3)
Author: Gregory Maguire
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 139
Review Date: 7/24/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I'm always conflicted when an author takes liberties with fairy tales. The Lion is such a pathetic character, and with a little more humor, he'd be a brother to Eeyore. Nothing is resolved, but the Clock of the Time Dragon tells us more than in previous stories. I did not love it, but I did not hate it either. I think my love for the Wizard of Oz will always get me to read anything that might hint to the story.


The Little Book
The Little Book
Author: Selden Edwards
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 5/30/2011
Helpful Score: 2


I put this book on my wish list after reading a recommendation connected to a book search on time travel. Pretty much I'll read anything which revolves around time travel. But this book disappointed me.

The time was the perfect era for what I like: late 1800s, and in a city which sounds like a place to put on the bucket list but failed to keep my attention.

I could have lived without Freud in this book at all. It just didn't add the dimension to the book that I believe the authors thinks it does. The characters all had names, and nicknames and there were so many characters it was easy to get confused.

All in all, good bones for a book but fell short for me.


The Long Walk
The Long Walk
Author: Stephen King, Richard Bachman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 340
Review Date: 12/15/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I read this as part of a four book compilation. This is a story I have read more than once. It's morbid, like so many of King's stories. There is something about it, similar to the Lottery, that brings me back.


The Magicians (Magician, Bk 1)
The Magicians (Magician, Bk 1)
Author: Lev Grossman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 174
Review Date: 4/6/2012
Helpful Score: 3


I did not like it. I did not feel as if I got the know the characters, did not care if they lived or died and did not enjoy the fantasy aspect.


Mermaids in the Basement
Mermaids in the Basement
Author: Michael Lee West
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 4/17/2010


I did not love this book, despite looking forward to reading it after it being on my wishlist for months. The whole damsel-in-distress doesn't do a thing for me. The main character, of course, does not give her boyfriend the benefit of the doubt and proceeds through the book as a woman done wrong.

I did like some of the characters, but pretty much found even the likeable ones to be flaky.


Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil
Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil
Author: John Berendt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 447
Review Date: 10/4/2009


It took me a long time to finish this book. I found it easy to put it down, not my type of endorsement for a good read. When I finished the book, only then did I realize it was supposed to be non-fiction. This book reminds me a bit, though not as well done, as a Domminick Dunne book.


The Mirror
The Mirror
Author: Marlys Millhiser
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 12/31/2011


I agree with some other reviewers who stated the beginning is best. I did not enjoy the end at all. I wish it could go the opposite direction because the way it ended had me glad it was over.


Q & A: A Novel
Q & A: A Novel
Author: Vikas Swarup
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 5/11/2008


I read this book on vacation in record time. I just loved how the stories came together. An excellent book!


Recipes For Easy Living (Valentine, Bk 5)
Recipes For Easy Living (Valentine, Bk 5)
Author: Curtiss Ann Matlock
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 12/4/2011


In a Fannie Flag type of read, this book is the perfect feel-good pre-Christmas read. Nothing too complicated, and no subjects too difficult, it touches on family and faith.


1 to 20 of 28 - Page: