Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Brenda W. (Brendasbooks) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 46 - Page:
And No Bird Sings : Rosemary  Thyme
And No Bird Sings : Rosemary Thyme
Author: Brian Eastman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/28/2014


Just finished this story in less then a day. So much like the tv series (which I have). A little more detail in the book though. First book in series and very good.
Laura finds out her cop husband is leaving her for a much younger woman. She travels to another town to visit her friends Sam and Vickie. While staying at a little inn she meets up with Rosemary Boxer, together the two solve the problem of what to do with their lives!


Anna's Book
Anna's Book
Author: Ruth Rendell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 3/23/2016


This was my first Ruth Rendell book to read. At first I didn't think I would like it as I've never been one for diaries, but once I started reading and got into the story I was hooked! But for me I didn't feel it was a mystery or at least not like any mystery I've ever read. The story definitely gives an incite into the life of a 1900's Danish wife and mother Anna, transplanted to England, her unhappy marriage, her 2 sons, she really wanted a daughter and finally when she did get a daughter Swanny, she was her favorite! She filled her days by writing in her diary, starting at the age of 25 and continuing for over 50 years. Later the story is told by the niece of Anna, as she delves into the life of Anna via the diaries, Swanny and Swanny's sister Marie/Maria. When Swanny is about 50 she receives an anonymous note telling her she is not the daughter of Anna and her husband Rasmus, so from there the mystery begins. A great read, I finished it in 2 days!


Arson and Old Lace (Far Wychwood, Bk 1)
Arson and Old Lace (Far Wychwood, Bk 1)
Author: Patricia Harwin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 87
Review Date: 8/31/2012


I loved this author's writing and the story. Very descriptive of her life and mystery in Far Wychwood, England. I've only found one other book by her which is a shame, i could see this series going on for a bit.


Artifacts (Faye Longchamp, Bk 1)
Artifacts (Faye Longchamp, Bk 1)
Author: Mary Anna Evans
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/5/2009
Helpful Score: 1


There is something about this story and author I cannot forget, so I've added the book to my wish list again. The story is haunting and interesting. I can't remember another book that I've wanted to "get back" and keep.


The Book of Kells
The Book of Kells
Author: R. A. MacAvoy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 1/1/2013


I hated for this book to end, it was so fascinating, i wish the author would do a sequel. Also just finished Tea with the Black Dragon, definitely different but still written very well by the same author.


Booked to Die (Cliff Janeway, Bk 1)
Booked to Die (Cliff Janeway, Bk 1)
Author: John Dunning
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 2/6/2008


All I can say is "wow", I finished this book last night at 1:30, started it in the morning and I couldn't put it down. Excellent mystery and the author is great. First in the series of Cliff Janeway cop/book lover.


A Brush with Death (Penny Brannigan, Bk 2)
A Brush with Death (Penny Brannigan, Bk 2)
Author: Elizabeth J. Duncan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 12/16/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I wasn't as crazy about the writing nor story in this one, although I did like the first one. I agree that Penny and Victoria don't seem to be a good match for business partners.


The Camerons
The Camerons
Author: Robert Crichton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/30/2009
Helpful Score: 2


From the day Maggie Drum turned 16, she knew what she wanted and how to get it, a husband. Gillon Forbes Cameron never had a chance once the beautiful Maggie Drum picked him out to be the father of her children and raise their family from doonies to uppies in their coal mining town of Pitmungo. This story grabs you on the first page and continues to hold you fast until the end. I loved it, the hardships the families endure in the coal mining town are heart breaking. I wish the author had finished the sequel, it would have been wonderful.
Brenda of BrendasBooks


The Cult of Osiris (Nina Wilde/Eddie Chase 5)
The Cult of Osiris (Nina Wilde/Eddie Chase 5)
Author: Andy McDermott
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/30/2016


The Cult of Osiris is the title for the book published in the UK, the USA title is: The Pyramid of Doom. Same story, just different titles!


Deadly Vintage (Molly Doyle, Bk 4)
Deadly Vintage (Molly Doyle, Bk 4)
Author: Elaine Flinn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 5/4/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This is the 4th book in the Molly Doyle series. All I can say is it's great and when will there be another one? Molly manages an antique shop in the beautiful city of Carmel-by-the sea in California. Her niece Emma lives with her and with her "remember everything" mind, is a great help with the shop. Molly wants to branch out into interior design with her antiques and is requested to do a Wine Tasting room for a local vineyard. From there her troubles begin and to add to her troubles Emma's father turns up, fact is he wasn't really dead!


Death in Cyprus (Death in..., Bk 3) (aka Death Walked in Cyprus)
Death in Cyprus (Death in..., Bk 3) (aka Death Walked in Cyprus)
Author: M. M. Kaye
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 9/22/2007


This was the first book I've read by M. M. Kaye. The mystery begins early and continues throughout the book. When I finished reading Death in Cyprus, I wanted to find more of M.M. Kaye's mysteries to read. Very well written book.


Death of a Greedy Woman (aka Death of a Glutton) (Hamish Macbeth, Bk 8)
Death of a Greedy Woman (aka Death of a Glutton) (Hamish Macbeth, Bk 8)
Author: M. C. Beaton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 12/28/2011


FYI - This book was previously published as "Death of a Glutton". Same story just a different title.


Ding Dong Dead (Dolls to Die For, Bk 4)
Ding Dong Dead (Dolls to Die For, Bk 4)
Author: Deb Baker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 2/23/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I just finished this book and, I didn't like it as well as the 1st 3 books. The writing just seems different to me in this one. The storyline was interesting though and kept me guessing til the end. I think part of the writing was third person, it just felt cold to me. I didn't remember this at all from her other books so maybe the author is trying something new.
Brenda


Effigies (Faye Longchamp, Bk 3)
Effigies (Faye Longchamp, Bk 3)
Author: Mary Anna Evans
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 7/19/2010


Book #3 - Faye Longchamp archaeology series. This story includes some interesting facts about the Choctaws and Creek Indians as well as separate ancient Indian tales thrown in throughout the story. Faye and her friend Joe are on site in Mississipi where they become involved trying to help solve a murder of one of the locals near their work site. Faye determines also to help solve a crime committed against an aging senator from the area that happened to him when he was a teenager. Faye and Joe have their work cut out for them in this story and also a handsome new man enters Faye's life.


Empty Cradles
Empty Cradles
Author: Margaret Humphreys
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/2/2012


"One Woman's fight to uncover Britain's most shameful secret". I just finished this book in one sitting, very compelling account of 130,000 migrant children between the ages of 3-12 (est) from the UK, Ireland and Scotland, sent to Australia, New Zealand, Canada and Africa. Some parts brought tears to my eyes to think of all the children and all the years of mistreatment and abuse they suffered at the hands of their care givers! The main focus of this book were the children sent to Australia and how she started out by helping one lady find her relatives in England and her work grew from there. I actually got my book from ebay as it wasn't available on here, after i watched the movie Oranges and Sunshine from Netflix! (8/2012)


English for Homestay (Japanese)
English for Homestay (Japanese)
Author: Kenkyusha
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 9/22/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This book is for Japanese wanting to learn English in America.


Evan Help Us (Constable Evans, Bk 2)
Evan Help Us (Constable Evans, Bk 2)
Author: Rhys Bowen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 59
Review Date: 5/9/2008


Constable Evan Evans is back on the murder trail once again, when the Colonel, a annual visitor to their small village is murdered. Before too long another murder occurs that could be tied to the first murder. Evan tries to find out who is murdering the newcomers to his village and at the same time avoid the hearty attempts of Betsy the Barmaid from ending his bachelor days.


Evan's Gate (Constable Evans, Bk 8)
Evan's Gate (Constable Evans, Bk 8)
Author: Rhys Bowen
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 4/9/2009


Detective Constable Evans assists in the case of a missing 5 year old from a seaside caravan. As the detective tries to discover the whereabouts of the missing girl, he is reminded of the similarity between this missing girl and a little blond girl 25 years earlier. Evans is afraid the kidnapper has returned to spirit away another young victim. Evans travels to London to try and discover clues as to her disappearance amidst strong incriminations from the childs mother that her Russian father has kidnapped her and taken her back to his homeland. Many lives are at stake if Evans suspicions are found to be true and he worries that another kidnapping could very well occur and disrupt more lives.
Brenda of
BrendasBooks


Gilt By Association (Den of Antiquity, Bk 2)
Gilt By Association (Den of Antiquity, Bk 2)
Author: Tamar Myers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 95
Review Date: 4/1/2008


When Abby's purchases from an auction are delivered she gets more than she bargained for namely a dead body inside her Louis XV Armoire. Needless to say when the police close her antique shop she gets it into her mind to find out who put the body in her armoire and who did the dirty deed. Tamar Myers is quick and fast with her words and the book was a fun read.


Goodbye Dolly (Dolls to Die For, Bk 2)
Goodbye Dolly (Dolls to Die For, Bk 2)
Author: Deb Baker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 6/30/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This is the 2nd in Deb Baker's Doll collector mystery series. I was surprised how much I got roped into this great mystery of doll collecting. Gretchen has relocated to Arizona to assist her mother with her doll repair business while she goes off on a book signing tour. Gretchen is knee deep in doll trouble almost from the start when at an auction of an aged collector one of the assistants at the auction is the victim of a fatal car accident. Seems he was "pushed" into the street in front of a car. Gretchen's bid for a box of Ginny dolls gets swapped and the mystery starts from there til the end of the book as she tries to get her Ginny's back. Great mystery story, and series, now I'm waiting for the next one!
Brenda


1 to 20 of 46 - Page:
Want fewer ads?