Chris D. (merede3) - , - Reviews

1 to 15 of 15
The Attack :  Novel
The Attack : Novel
Author: Yasmina Khadra
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 3/5/2008


This book was fantastic. Very engrossing from first page to the last. But be prepared, it is heart breaking.


But Inside I'm Screaming
But Inside I'm Screaming
Author: Elizabeth Flock
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 187
Review Date: 1/31/2007
Helpful Score: 2


loved me & emma and everything must go, but this one was a big let down, very hard to get into, her other two were awesome


The Chin Kiss King
The Chin Kiss King
Author: Ana Veciana-Suarez
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/13/2007


Enjoyable read


The Confessions of Max Tivoli
The Confessions of Max Tivoli
Author: Andrew Sean Greer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 114
Review Date: 1/15/2007
Helpful Score: 5


absolutely loved this book - the story is unique and keeps you enthralled until the very end - highly recommended


The Darkest Child
The Darkest Child
Author: Delores Phillips
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 3/5/2008


This book was a heart breaker. The main character's life is devastating yet she survives.


Don't Leave Me This Way: Or When I Get Back on My Feet You'll Be Sorry
Review Date: 10/3/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Wow! This memoir was fabulous! Drew me in and couldn't put it down. It is the story of a young woman who has a massive stroke, becomes paralyzed on her left side as well as having "left neglect" (great novel on this topic by lisa genova called left neglected). Julia has such a sassy, optimistic and determined attitude. She uses her sense of humor to get her through a horribly tragic situation. She is definitely an overcomer!


The Kite Runner
The Kite Runner
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5712
Review Date: 3/5/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This is the BEST book I have read in quite sometime. I kept putting off purchasing it as I thought it was going to be political. But a friend said to get it. It was incredible and a look into lives in a devastated country as well as the lives of two young boys torn by cultural mores. I then bought 1000 Splendid Suns (same author, but not expecting it to be as good. Boy was I wrong!!! It was equal. I can't wait to read his next novel.


Lottery
Lottery
Author: Patricia Wood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 5/6/2010
Helpful Score: 2


This book was awesome! I could not put it down and have recommended to many of my friends. It is the story of a mentally challenged young man who lives with his grandmother as his family can't be bothered with him. He and his grandmother have a lot of little routines and playing the lottery is one of them. His grandmother dies, he wins the lottery and his whole life changes. Perry is such a great character. His insights on life are great - he sees things just the way they are. Very uplifting story. Looking forward to Patricia's next book.


Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend
Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend
Author: Matthew Dicks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 8/20/2013


LOVED this book! Totally original premise. A young autistic boy's imaginary friend narrarates the story and makes you want to believe in imaginary friends and want one just like Budo!


Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children (Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children, Bk 1)
Review Date: 10/3/2013
Helpful Score: 7


I Loved this book! The cover definitely drew me in. It was geared towards YA, but it was a good storyline, different. The pictures were creepy which just added to the believability factor. Great read!


A Simple Plan
A Simple Plan
Author: Scott Smith
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 146
Review Date: 11/9/2006
Helpful Score: 6


this is one of my all time favorite books. it keeps you spellbound from page one. the suspense keeps you on the edge of your seat. i could not put it down!! hard to think that good people can get caught up in such bad things.


A Simple Plan
A Simple Plan
Author: Scott Smith
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 9/24/2009


This is one of my FAVORITE all time books. A simple plan gone horribly wrong. It shows what greed can do with even the most innocent of people. Highly recommended!


Tender at the Bone : Growing Up at the Table
Tender at the Bone : Growing Up at the Table
Author: Ruth Reichl
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 1/22/2007


i enjoyed the book


Wave
Wave
Author: Sonali Deraniyagala
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 9/22/2014


I was so looking forward to reading this. I was then so disappointed when I did. Although the author suffered a tragic loss, it was hard to connect with her. She seemed very selfish, cold and removed from the tragedy around her and I still can't get over the fact that she did not warn her parents.


The World I Made for Her
The World I Made for Her
Author: Thomas Moran
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/28/2007


loved the book but hated the ending


1 to 15 of 15