Facebook

Kim F. (fairfam5) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 41 - Page:
Always and Forever
Always and Forever
Author: Cathy Kelly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 3/10/2010


Enjoyed the book very much. It was a little different than the back cover stated since it told the story of the three women throughout most of the book. They don't really connect until almost the very end. Still quite good.


And the Shofar Blew
And the Shofar Blew
Author: Francine Rivers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 137
Review Date: 1/14/2010


Excellent book. Francine Rivers really can get to the real issues of the christian walk. Loved it!


Away
Away
Author: Amy Bloom
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 1/14/2010


Yuck! One of the worst books I read in 2009.


The Beach Street Knitting Society and Yarn Club (Jo Mackenzie, Bk 1)
The Beach Street Knitting Society and Yarn Club (Jo Mackenzie, Bk 1)
Author: Gil McNeil
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 5/19/2010


Pretty cute book. I found it entertaining and a good read. Similar to the Friday Night Knitting Club but different.


Belong to Me
Belong to Me
Author: Marisa De Los Santos
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 129
Review Date: 1/14/2010


Even though it took a few chapters to really get "into" this book I ended up really liking it! Such a great story.


Blue Like Jazz: Nonreligious Thoughts on Christian Spirituality
Blue Like Jazz: Nonreligious Thoughts on Christian Spirituality
Author: Donald Miller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 360
Review Date: 1/14/2010


This book will really make you think. I liked the fact that he didn't claim to have all the answers like many Christian authors.


The Breakdown Lane
The Breakdown Lane
Author: Jacquelyn Mitchard
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 1/14/2010


Jacquelyn Mitchard is one of my favorite authors. This was one of my favorite books she has written to date. Real and well written!


Cage of Stars
Cage of Stars
Author: Jacquelyn Mitchard
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 100
Review Date: 1/14/2010


Deals with a very hard subject but was an excellent book. How one pivotal event shapes the remainder of your life. If you haven't read this, you should.


Chasing Harry Winston
Chasing Harry Winston
Author: Lauren Weisberger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 131
Review Date: 4/27/2010


This was a quick easy read. I didn't enjoy it as much as "The Devil wears Prada" but it was still good.


East of the Sun
East of the Sun
Author: Julia Gregson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 77
Review Date: 3/1/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Really liked this book! Great descriptive writing of what it must have been like during this time in India. I can imagine this one will be on my top 10 reads for 2010!


Emily Hudson
Emily Hudson
Author: Melissa Jones
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 3/9/2011


I was actually surprised that I liked this book as much as I did. I thought the story fit the era of the time it was written. You wanted to hate some of the characters and love others. That worked for me.


Fire by Night (Refiner's Fire, Bk 2)
Fire by Night (Refiner's Fire, Bk 2)
Author: Lynn N. Austin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 75
Review Date: 2/18/2010


This was a good 2nd book in the series. I liked the corresponding stories of the two main characters. Lynn Austin is a great author!


The Folded World
The Folded World
Author: Amity Gaige
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/30/2010


I thought this was a good book. The author has a nice writing style and the story is believable and not too predictable. I felt myself rooting for and really liking the characters by the end of the story.


Fortune's Rocks
Fortune's Rocks
Author: Anita Shreve
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 265
Review Date: 5/11/2010


Did not like this book at all. Had to make myself finish it. I thought the whole premise rather creepy.


Good Grief
Good Grief
Author: Lolly Winston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 381
Review Date: 3/15/2010


I thought this book dealt really well with hard issues. It was realistic but not overly dramatic. It wasn't a downer but showed triumph through real-life issues. I thoroughly enjoyed it!


Good in Bed (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 1)
Good in Bed (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 1)
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 2862
Review Date: 2/4/2010


I think Jennifer Weiner is a great author. I loved In Her Shoes and this book was also very good. The story was interesting and unpredictable. Just a lot of fun!


Goodbye, Jimmy Choo
Goodbye, Jimmy Choo
Author: Annie Sanders
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 109
Review Date: 4/16/2010
Helpful Score: 2


This book was just so-so. I really had to struggle to finish it. Didn't seem to hold my attention much. Confusing names between the 2 main characters Maddie and Izzie. I was constantly wondering which one was which.


The Help
The Help
Author: Kathryn Stockett
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2467
Review Date: 4/21/2010
Helpful Score: 2


Excellent book. GREAT story, superb writing, terrific subject matter. I felt like I learned alot about the time of the story. Couldn't put it down!


Honolulu
Honolulu
Author: Alan Brennert
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 3/30/2010
Helpful Score: 2


This book was amazing! Such a wonderful novel intertwined with Hawaiian history during the 1920's and 1930's. Loved the authors style. His first book Moloka'i is also outstanding!


The Middle Place
The Middle Place
Author: Kelly Corrigan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 282
Review Date: 5/11/2010


Such a great book. I couldn't put it down. Heartwarming story.


1 to 20 of 41 - Page: