Mary Beth K. (Lizzie) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 26 - Page:
The 36-Hour Day (Revised & Updated Edition)
The 36-Hour Day (Revised & Updated Edition)
Author: Peter V. Rabins, Nancy L. Mace
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 8/2/2005
Helpful Score: 1


This book provides the basic facts about dementia and teches you how to cope with the problems that arise in daily care and with the impaired person's moods and behavior.


Amsterdam
Amsterdam
Author: Ian McEwan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 178
Review Date: 10/13/2009
Helpful Score: 4


A wry British tragedy. Brings to mind the Biblical quotation about "why do you see the speck in your brother's eye and yet ignore the beam in your own." Confronts the issues of morality and mortality, self-deception and deceit, ambition and loss in a quick and amusing read.


Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 3675
Review Date: 8/2/2005


A thriller that keeps you up at night turning the pages.


The Art of Talking With Your Teenager
The Art of Talking With Your Teenager
Author: Paul W. Swets
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/2/2005


A very helpful guide for those teen years. It keeps the communication open.


Blood of Victory (Night Soldiers, Bk 7)
Blood of Victory (Night Soldiers, Bk 7)
Author: Alan Furst
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 8/2/2005


An historical spy novel setin the Balkans in 1940s.


The Clan of the Cave Bear (Earth's Children, Bk 1)
The Clan of the Cave Bear (Earth's Children, Bk 1)
Author: Jean M. Auel
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 616
Review Date: 8/2/2005


First in the EArth Children's series. Discusses the dawn of modern humans in the Ice Age by relating the story of a young girl and the family who adopt her.


Detour (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Detour (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Author: James Siegel, Holter Graham (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 3/24/2007


Suspense novel about a couple who go to Columbia to adopt a baby. Kept me immersed while driving to and from work, and kept me driving around the block a few times to hear the next revelation. very good!


Disgrace
Disgrace
Author: J. M. Coetzee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 186
Review Date: 8/2/2005


Author is a Nobel prize winner in literature. Set in South Africa, this book explores the strained relationship between father and daughter and the racial complexities in the region.


A Fine Young Man: What Parents, Mentors, and Educators Can Do to Shape Adolescent Boys in Exceptional Men
Review Date: 8/2/2005


Very helpful guidance for parents, mentors, advisors of teenage boys.


Foundations of Western Thought (Portable Professor, Hebrews, Greek, and Romans)
Review Date: 3/24/2007


This is the Barnes and Noble Audio series -- like a university course with 7 CDs and short booklet. Gives a good inteesting background of Western Thought.


Founding Mothers: The Women Who Raised Our Nation (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 4/20/2007


For those of you who wonder what the women were during during the American revolution, this book provides many stories and insights. It shows the importance, bravery, and patriotism of women and how much responsibility they shouldered while their husbands were at war or involved in congressional activities. It broaden my perspective of the revolutionary period and told the human side of the struggle. I enjoyed it immensely. Additionally, the book is read by the author, Cokie Roberts. Her familiar, distinctive and clear voice enhanced the pleaure of listening to the book.


The Gate House (John Sutter, Bk 2) (MP3 CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 2/1/2014


Great book with the perfect narrator. Written in first person, such that the reader is privy not only to what the main character, John Sutter, is saying but also thinking. And he has a wry sense of humor, a sarcastic wit, but also a strong love for his ex- wife and kids. You have to like him, even though his humor is rather juvenile (and inappropriate) most times. Because the narrator portrays John Sutter so well, I think this book is probably better being listened to than read. I immensely enjoyed it. This was my first book by Demille so I had not read Gold Coast which was the prelude to this.. But I did not feel I was at a disadvantage. But this was so good, I will now read (listen to) Gold Coast and hope the experience is as satisfying..


In a Sunburned Country
In a Sunburned Country
Author: Bill Bryson
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 6/26/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This was an utterly delightful book. Since I could not afford to go to Australia, I decided to experience it vicariously. And I cannot imagine a more interesting, humorous, and charming guide than Bill Bryson. I would listen to the book as I drove back and forth to work every day, and would laugh aloud at his wry observations and entertaining stories. I was sad as the last tape ended, but came back and immediately ordered two more of his books on tape -- now off to England and the Appalachian trail


Ines of My Soul (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Ines of My Soul (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Isabel Allende, Blair Brown (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 1/10/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Very engaging historical fiction. Wonderful narration in a first person account. Paints a vivid picture of Peru and Chile in the mid-16th century.


The Kite Runner
The Kite Runner
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5712
Review Date: 5/29/2006


Very good and engrossing story line and good character development.


The Mermaid Chair
The Mermaid Chair
Author: Sue Monk Kidd
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 1471
Review Date: 4/29/2007


The story of a Southern woman's mid-life crisis and how it all is related to early events in her life. Great writing -- poetic and evocative. Characters are developed well.


On Beauty
On Beauty
Author: Zadie Smith
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 5/7/2009


Rich, involving book. Great for long rides and walks.


One for the Money (Stephanie Plum, Bk 1)
One for the Money (Stephanie Plum, Bk 1)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 2245
Review Date: 8/2/2005


First in the series of an adventurous woman who tries bounty hunting. A real hoot!


The Path to Power (The Years of Lyndon Johnson, Volume 1)
The Path to Power (The Years of Lyndon Johnson, Volume 1)
Author: Robert A. Caro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/24/2007


Engossing book about a colorful president. Great depth.


Pirate (Hawke)
Pirate (Hawke)
Author: Ted Bell, John Shea
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 9/11/2012
Helpful Score: 1


A modern day suspense novel about a US-France-China showdown with help being provided by a couple of very resourceful Brits. Very likable characters and a story line that keeps you involved through 14 CDS. A highlight is the narrator who brings each character to life through using different voices/accents. Very enjoyable to listen to.


1 to 20 of 26 - Page: