Mary B. (chosen7stone) - - Reviews

1 to 14 of 14
Allez Viens - Holt French Level 2
Allez Viens - Holt French Level 2
Author: John DeMado, Emmanuel Rongieras d'Usseau
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/21/2007


Since it is the TEACHER'S ADDITION, it has a lot of extras, beyond what the regular text does. Great for someone who likes to learn on their own.


Cleave: A novel
Cleave: A novel
Author: Nikki Gemmell
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/20/2007


Very poetically written. Beautiful language despite sometimes-gritty content. The main character is very flawed and human, which is refreshing.


Evil: Inside Human Violence and Cruelty
Evil: Inside Human Violence and Cruelty
Author: Roy F. Baumeister
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/20/2007


I bought this book because it was an assigned reading for a class I took, and the professor was the author. Very insightful -- this guy knows what he's talking about. If you're interested in what drives people to do evil things, this is something you'll want to read.


First Meals (New Expanded Edition)
First Meals (New Expanded Edition)
Author: Annabel Karmel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 3/22/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Wow, wow, wow, is this the best cookbook for feeding young children EVER! The author really outdid herself on this one. Not only are there instructions and guidelines for you on how to prepare and offer food to your infants, toddlers, and children -- but there are healthy (yet tasty and appealing) recipes -- many. She even offers tips for making them appealing, like using cookie cutters to shape cheese slices, letting your child "play with his food" and make faces out of healthy ingredients, etc. Recipes progress from infant-appropriate to toddler-appropriate to child-appropriate...from the first bite of solid food until 12 years old! Mostly for the younger ones, though. 10 stars!


The Hard Questions: 100 Essential Questions to Ask Before You Say 'I Do'
Review Date: 3/20/2007


Great book. Short, to the point, something you and your fiance can sit down and spend 20 minutes a day going over together. Especially when all that wedding planning is stressing you out, it's nice to sit down together with a cup of mocha and juts talk to each other.


It
It
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 634
Review Date: 6/22/2009


**SPOILER ALERT**

It was well-written, thoroughly creepy, and very enjoyable.

Until the pre-adolescent orgy, which made me feel like a pedophile for reading.

I read the entire Dark Tower series - loved it. Thought I'd love all his other works. Picked up the most notable - this - and was horrified. And not in the way I'd hoped to be.

I'm never reading another Stephen King again.


Redeeming Love
Redeeming Love
Author: Francine Rivers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 289
Review Date: 8/10/2011
Helpful Score: 6


SHORT REVIEW:This was a fantastic book, but a word of caution: this book is not for teenagers, for anyone who struggles with lust, or for anyone who does not wish to be exposed to some very mature sexual concepts. While the book is not graphic, it is mature. Exercise discernment.
LONGER REVIEW:The book has been heralded as wonderful - as it is - but it contains some very mature subject matter, mostly sexual.
I would not recommend this book for a teenager, for someone who is unmarried, or who wouldn't wish to be exposed to mature sexual concepts. Like the actual book of Hosea, it does deal with prostitution - but becomes more descriptive. It deals with marriage - including the intimate aspects. And there is more than one instance of rape, pedophilia, etc. Evil and wickedness is not at all celebrated, and I wouldn't even say that it is gratuitous, but it isn't "glossed over" either.
This is a book that should be approached with discernment - and a thorough biblical understanding. It is not at all a replacement for the healing counsel of the Holy Spirit. There is also a risk of idolizing the main male protagonist, and feeling disappointed with "real men," just as many romance novels tend to create expectations near-perfection in our minds.
Again, this book is wonderful. The allegory for Christ's role as our kinsman-redeemer, as our faithful lover, is beautiful. The characters' thought processes are real, and familiar. But it should be approached with wisdom, and again, biblical understanding.


Son Of A Witch (Wicked Years, Bk 2)
Son Of A Witch (Wicked Years, Bk 2)
Author: Gregory Maguire
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 417
Review Date: 7/12/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I was really impressed with Son Of A Witch's predecessor, Wicked. Written a decade earlier, Wicked had a set purpose - beyond the art of storytelling (and the story WAS wonderful), Wicked had an underlying intention of exploring the possible many roots of evil.

Son of a Witch falls flat. It serves merely as a continuance of Wicked's story line, and altogether abandons the philosophical wonderings of Wicked. Like the younger sibling being asked by teachers, "Why can't you be more like your older sister?" -- the second in the series would have probably been fine as a standalone, but as a follow-up, it's disappointing.

I gave it three stars -- the story develops nicely, but it's just a nice story. There's nothing more to it.

I almost feel as if Maguire wrote the sequel as an answer to a decade of demand - his readership wanting to know "what happened next?" - instead of in answer to his own personal desire to create and write. It's lacking.


Song of Susannah (Dark Tower, Bk 6)
Song of Susannah (Dark Tower, Bk 6)
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 110
Review Date: 3/20/2007


WARNING: SLIGHT SPOILER

The illustrator for this one was one of my favorites, though I was really weirded out that King wrote himself (let alone his experience being run over) into this book.


The Stranger
The Stranger
Author: Albert Camus, Matthew Ward (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 304
Review Date: 6/21/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I hated, hated, hated this book. It came highly recommended and I voluntarily (and rather enthusiastically) picked it up. There has never been a main character I have been more disgusted by, a storyline that has been less interesting, and a writing style that has been more obnoxious. I would burn it if it were anything other than a book.

Thankfully, the beauty of books is that like people, you won't love every one you come across. So I hope you're one of the many who WILL enjoy this -- because I am vastly outnumbered! :)


Surprised By Peace
Surprised By Peace
Author: Mary Britton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/20/2007


Very different, very honest and real. Not a book you often see. Stories from people from all walks of life, but all with one thing in common: they're Christian, and most of them gay! Controversial, but regardless of how you feel on the matter, a worthy read.


Wicked (Wicked Years, Bk 1)
Wicked (Wicked Years, Bk 1)
Author: Gregory Maguire
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3589
Review Date: 6/12/2009


I really loved this book, and am so glad that the author has chosen to continue the story. He addressed the concept of evil from all perspectives and angles, through smart dialogue and an audience's view of the Witch's life and things that shaped her - outside influences, as well as personal decisions. There were some unanswered questions at the end, and I wasn't completely sure if were supposed to assume the answer, or if they are answered in the next books. I'm only a chapter or two into Son of a Witch as I write this, but am already enjoying it immensely.


Wizard and Glass (Dark Tower, Bk 4)
Wizard and Glass (Dark Tower, Bk 4)
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 388
Review Date: 3/20/2007


This was my favorite book in the saga. Readers get to learn of the young romance between Roland and Susan!


Wolves of the Calla (The Dark Tower, Book 5)
Wolves of the Calla (The Dark Tower, Book 5)
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 112
Review Date: 3/20/2007


I read the entire Dark Tower series, and this was definitely one more insteresting facet to add to the saga.


1 to 14 of 14