Donna C. (g-ma) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 2758 - Page:
13-Minute Murder
13-Minute Murder
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/30/2019


HEADS UP!!!!!

This is reprint in hardcover of 3 previous bookshots from 2016, 2017, 2018,
I thought when reading the second one that it sounded familiar so I looked at the copyright dates, I think this is a cheap shot at getting paid double for his books, once for each individual print and now this book combined the 3 into one hardback
The description on this website just gives the details of the last story and doesn't mention the fact that it is actually 3 stories


The 13th Hour
The 13th Hour
Author: Richard Doetsch
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 10/8/2010
Helpful Score: 2


Different than what I expected but very good. Nick is given the ablilty to go back in time by one hour increments to save the life of his wife but each hour puts a new twist on what is really happening until the very end. The end will shock you.

I never read anything from this author before and I might try another one.


17 Church Row: Your home should be a safe place, but what if it isn't?
Review Date: 7/23/2020


I'll give this one a 3* rating, wanted to give it more and someone might probably depends on how you perceive the storyline, for me?, When I hit the 'twist' I just thought 'unbelievable' and skimmed through the rest of the book


The 18th Abduction (Women's Murder Club, Bk 18)
The 18th Abduction (Women's Murder Club, Bk 18)
Author: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 5/24/2019


What is happening with Patterson? or maybe it's Paetro, but whoever it is this is a terrible book!

It takes places 5 years in the past, really?, I guess they couldn't come up with a more current storyline but had to go backwards and then bring in a person acquitted of war crimes and that is mostly what this book is dealing with, horrible war crimes committed on women and children in Bosnia, I didn't find the story very engaging at all and mostly just boring boring descriptions of food and clothes and interior design, really? There isn't any suspense or thriller about this book

I DON'T RECOMMEND THIS ONE TO ANYONE!


1st Case
1st Case
Author: James Patterson, Chris Tebbetts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/6/2020


I'm not sure what age group this is written for as it seems to be a little juvenile at times, the 'pet' names of 'pooh' and 'piglet' just made me want to puke, I just don't think friends in their 20's talk like that and if they do then they need to grow up!

The story revolves around computer/hackers, at times it was a little over my head but I pushed through, there are a lot of pages that have 'messages' that just take up about 3-5 pages because the spacing is so big and I didn't think that was necessary and I skipped over that

Patterson needs to take more control over what his co-writers are doing


2: James Patterson's Home Sweet Murder (James Patterson's Murder Is Forever)
Review Date: 2/9/2018


Read it in one day, easy read, very short quick chapters, guess it makes the book go faster

Stories are true crimes but written in a different way than other true crime writers, other authors have to go back to time the people were born and that is so boring, then they have to explain and explain everything, this is written more in the style of a fiction story but yet it's true and it deals only with the crime and not the entire life of everyone involved and I found that it made for an easier read


The 20th Victim (Women's Murder Club)
The 20th Victim (Women's Murder Club)
Author: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 6/27/2020


I'm a fan of this series but this one is just kind of dull, it is mostly just police investigation with nothing exciting or thrilling about it, then you have Claire with cancer now and an operation so there is a lot about that and I just didn't find that necessary at all

I read reviews and one main complaint was that Lindsay and Joe leave their 4 yr old daughter alone at night asleep while they walk the dog? really? is that sending a good message to anyone? don't think so!

The storylines are getting dull and boring and way too long to really enjoy Patterson books anymore, I think him and his co-writers need to take a lesson from Chris Carter and learn how to write a really good thriller!


29 Seconds
29 Seconds
Author: T. M. Logan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/5/2019


When you read the inside flap you know what this book is about--

I thought it was going to be much better but I stuck with it, it takes over half the book just to get to the main part of the 29 second call, it has a lot of repeat that could've been avoided, the chapters are short and I like that in a book, I got to just a little over half way into the story then I had to start skimming just to get to the parts I wanted to know and skipping the parts that just didn't matter in the telling of the story

I'll try Logan again and see what happens with the writing style.


40
40
Author: Travis Thrasher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 6/7/2011


first--the description says this book has 272 pages, wrong! it has almost 400 pages

second--in the first 50 pages it was so boring and I couldn't see it going anywhere

third--only the second book I've tried to read by Thrasher and now I have my doubts about trying another one


61 Hours (Reacher, Bk 14)
61 Hours (Reacher, Bk 14)
Author: Lee Child
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 199
Review Date: 5/29/2010
Helpful Score: 5


Reacher can really get into some situations, this time he gets on a tour bus with senior citizens just hitching a ride because it is winter time in the Dakotas and freezing, but he has no idea they would skid and get stranded in a town with biker trouble and he ends up in the middle of it----again---I really like Jack Reacher, he doesn't have a care in the world and travels with only what is on his back but his military training is always a huge help in every situation he gets in.


72 Hours
72 Hours
Author: Bella Jewel
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 9/30/2017
Helpful Score: 1


I can't give this a glowing review, however, it did keep my attention as to how they would get out of this mess

What I didn't like was all the very hot, very detailed, very explicit sex (not necessary unless you like that kind of reading, I skim over it quickly), and the main characters are very unlikable all the way through, they can't talk without using the f word every time they open their mouth, or shouting or yelling at each other all the way through

The main thing I didn't like was it does not tell you in the end the 'why', ok it was a serial killer but there should be more detail than that and it only gives you that 'he is a lunatic' on the loose, but from where etc.

I think another better author could've made a lot more of the storyline than Jewel does, for me it just wasn't the best writing attempt, I'm not a reader of romantic suspense but I don't really know what genre to call this it has a mixture of several


77 Shadow Street
77 Shadow Street
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 90
Review Date: 7/13/2012


I whole heartedly agree with Stef140 on her review on this latest by Koontz.

I was an avid fan in his early years but now he's not even in the top 10, his writing leaves a lot to be desired in the fact that his books are just descriptions page after page and it gets boring very quickly, and this is no exception--after 100 pages it was just boring trying to keep up and stay interested when each chapter offered not much in the way of a good ending that made you want to read more---1/2 star from me---boring!


99 Red Balloons: A chillingly clever psychological thriller with a stomach-flipping twist
Review Date: 12/10/2019
Helpful Score: 1


I had looked forward to this book BUT--

It starts right off with the abduction of an 8 yr old girl, okay from that point it just gets confusing with so many characters added and chapters going from one POV to someone else POV and on and on

This style of writing I find just annoying and irritating and it looses my attention quick, reading is my passion but when I get a book like this one I don't waste my time after 100 pages (if I get that far), some reviewers say it's the second half that is good but who wants to waste their time on the first half if isn't any good, such a waste of time

POORLY WRITTEN!


The A List (Ali Reynolds, Bk 14)
The A List (Ali Reynolds, Bk 14)
Author: J. A. Jance
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 4/11/2019


Pro--the story is a fairly good one

Con--too much detail repeated over and over and over, storyline takes place in the 1980's and drags into current day, lots and lots of explaining of Ali's past over and over


Abandon
Abandon
Author: Blake Crouch
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 6/29/2011


my expectation was high(too high) after waiting a long time to get this book it was a disappointment--it started out like a spooky ghost town mystery but about midway after the mystery has been solved it just takes on a boring descriptive(page after page) of the predictament they find themselves in and it gets tiresome of page after page of descriptions, and the mystery turned out to be not what you expect.


Abandoned Prayers: The Shocking True Story of Obsession, Murder and Little Boy Blue
Review Date: 5/11/2013


Well written, however, you must have a strong stomach to read it--Olsen goes into too much detail with gay relations that no one needs to know and the depravity of this man, makes you wonder why a person like that is born.


Abducted (Lizzy Gardner, Bk 1)
Abducted (Lizzy Gardner, Bk 1)
Author: T. R. Ragan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 1/30/2014
Helpful Score: 1


WOW! Along the same lines of Chris Carter's books this is a well written suspense/thriller to the T. One of the best books I've read in a long time and looking forward to the next one (if I can get it, had to get this one through the library).


The Abduction
The Abduction
Author: Mark Gimenez
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 9/29/2011


couldn't get into this one, too much repeat in just the first 100 pages, characters you can't like--a geeky Dad that acts more like a coward and a Mom that acts more like a shrew but the Grandpa is a hero and would be a more likable character even with his 'ghosts' he carries around, but I quit after a little over 100 pages because I just kept waiting and waiting for it to move on and I just lost interest


Aberration
Aberration
Author: Lisa Regan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 8/12/2014


WOW! This is an excellent thriller, very well written that it is hard to put down for any reason, the story flows smoothly without any draggy spots.

Regan is a newcomer for me but so far she is on my list of 'books most wanted'!!


Above
Above
Author: Roland Smith
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 1/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/5/2018


The first book 'Beneath' was a pretty good book, these are for ages 9-15, but this one? maybe because it took so long for it to come out that I have forgotten the main story so this one just didn't make any sense at all

so this is a case of you have to read the first one then you might want to read this one while it is fresh in your mind or you won't know what is going on

sorry to give it only 1* but I just don't think it deserves more unless you read these two books together


1 to 20 of 2758 - Page: