Judith M. (jude35) - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
The Blood-Dimmed Tide
The Blood-Dimmed Tide
Author: Rennie Airth
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 9/10/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This is the second in the Inspector John Madden series. It is 1932, and Inspector Madden's retirement is brought to an abrupt end when he discovers the mutilated body of a young girl in the woods near his home in the English countryside. Rennie Airth is an excellent writer and the plot will hold your interest to the very last page!


The Bottoms (Vintage Crime/Black Lizard Original)
The Bottoms (Vintage Crime/Black Lizard Original)
Author: Joe R. Lansdale
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 5/30/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Mezmerizing. An East Texas take on how it was for race relations in the 1930s. We've come a long way since then, thank goodness.


The Enchanted April
The Enchanted April
Author: Elizabeth von Arnim
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/5/2009
Helpful Score: 1


If you've seen the movie, you'll love the book! If you've read the book, you'll love the movie! This is a wonderful story of a group of very different people who come together in a magical way and individually learn to follow their hearts. You'll feel more optimistic about the world after this great read!


The End of the Affair (Twentieth Century Classics)
The End of the Affair (Twentieth Century Classics)
Author: Graham Greene
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 2/10/2010
Helpful Score: 1


A great writer, Graham Greene keeps you turning the pages in this novel about a novelist's love affair with his friend's wife. It begins in London during the Blitz. One day, without warning, Sarah break it off. Two years later, driven by obsessive jealousy and grief, the novelist sends a private detective to follow Sarah and find out the truth.


The Famous DAR Murder Mystery (Borderville, Bk 1)
The Famous DAR Murder Mystery (Borderville, Bk 1)
Author: Graham Landrum
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 5/26/2011


A light, fun read, especially if you happen to belong to DAR.


Friends of the Family
Friends of the Family
Author: Camilla R. Bittle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/27/2013


Interesting and nostalgic story of a girl's perceptions of family members as she grew up in the 1940s. Those perceptions changed as she became an adult. This is a well-written page turner.


I Remember Nothing: and Other Reflections
I Remember Nothing: and Other Reflections
Author: Nora Ephron
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 5/26/2011


Much ado about nothing.


My Life, as I See It: An Autobiography
My Life, as I See It: An Autobiography
Author: Dionne Warwick
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 1.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 12/14/2014


This is a summary of a career in music but written in a very dull, boring manner. Did not finish it.


The Reason Why: The Story of the Fatal Charge of the Light Brigade
Review Date: 6/20/2009


A great factual read about the lead up to the charge of the Light Brigade. "Nothing in British campaign history has ever equalled the tragic farce..." If you like reading about British history, you love this book!


River of Darkness (John Madden, Bk 1)
River of Darkness (John Madden, Bk 1)
Author: Rennie Airth
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 9/10/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This is the first of the Inspector Madden mysteries and it's a great one! As rural England slowly emerges from World War I, a particularly vicious attack on a household in a small village leaves five butchered bodies and no explanation for the killings. Scotland Yard sends Inspector John Madden, still recovering from his own harrowing war experience and from the deaths of his wife and child, to investigate. You're sure to enjoy reading this very well written mystery.


1 to 10 of 10