Mitra V. (meechie2) - Reviews

1 to 14 of 14
Almost a Gentleman
Almost a Gentleman
Author: Pam Rosenthal
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 9/28/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Very good book- a little different than most in this genre. This book was riskier than most, having the heroine living as a man, her loss/abuse from her first marriage. Both H&H were likeable, enjoyable characters. A very good story with some nice twists. I would definitely recommend this book.


Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 3674
Review Date: 4/26/2007


Personally, I liked this even better than Da Vinci Code. I would definitely read Angels & Demons first, as it is the first introduction of the main character, Robert Langdon. It is packed with action and info, and never seems to stop until the very end. A great book!


Asking for Trouble
Asking for Trouble
Author: Elizabeth Young
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 243
Review Date: 2/1/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Great "romance" type book for the 30-something crowd, especially if you are an Anglophile.


The Burglar on the Prowl (Bernie Rhodenbarr, Bk 10)
The Burglar on the Prowl (Bernie Rhodenbarr, Bk 10)
Author: Lawrence Block
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 6/25/2006


Another great addition to the Bernie Rhodenbarr series, with all the great dialog and humor we expect.


Can You Keep a Secret?
Can You Keep a Secret?
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 683
Review Date: 3/11/2006


A very nice, fluffy addition to the pink "chick lit" from England. Well written.


Getting Rid Of Bradley
Getting Rid Of Bradley
Author: Jennifer Crusie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 452
Review Date: 4/17/2007


Nice, quick read. I really like Jennifer Crusie, this book was short but was very good.


The Kept Woman
The Kept Woman
Author: Susan Donovan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 339
Review Date: 4/14/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Great fun, I'm looking foward to reading more of her books.


Knit the Season (Friday Night Knitting Club, Bk 3)
Knit the Season (Friday Night Knitting Club, Bk 3)
Author: Kate Jacobs
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/19/2011


This is a Large Print edition.


Manhunting (Mira)
Manhunting (Mira)
Author: Jennifer Crusie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 278
Review Date: 4/17/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Definitely the worst Jennifer Crusie book I've read. Too short by far!! It was a nice story, but it really should have been longer, the ending just fell.


R is for Ricochet (Kinsey Millhone, Bk 18)
R is for Ricochet (Kinsey Millhone, Bk 18)
Author: Sue Grafton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 341
Review Date: 3/1/2006


Another great edition in the Kinsey Millhone series, even if, as Kinsey says at the end, she is "simply a minor character in someone else's play."


Red Lily (In the Garden, Bk 3) (Large Print)
Red Lily (In the Garden, Bk 3) (Large Print)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 7/3/2007


This is a LARGE PRINT book.


The Secret of Chimneys  (Superintendent Battle, Bk 1)
The Secret of Chimneys (Superintendent Battle, Bk 1)
Author: Agatha Christie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 1/22/2006


One of my favorite Christies (and I've read them all), as it combines the usual masterful intrigue with humor and romance- a perfect combination!


Uncertain Magic
Uncertain Magic
Author: Laura Kinsale
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 9/4/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I have enjoyed other books by Laura Kinsale, but this one was disappointing. It started out well, had an interesting premise, but got bogged down in some odd, vague, distracting "magic". The supernatural parts of this book were clumsy to me, and detracted from the book. It took a turn into a darker area that just wasn't as interesting as the beginning of the book. It wasn't terrible, but it wasn't what I had hoped for.


Wed Him Before You Bed Him (School for Heiresses, Bk 6)
Wed Him Before You Bed Him (School for Heiresses, Bk 6)
Author: Sabrina Jeffries
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 232
Review Date: 8/7/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Great book, better than I expected (I just didn't really like Mrs. Harris in the previous books, nor her correspondance with 'Cousin Michael'). A very good story all around.


1 to 14 of 14