Judith L. (jlessl) - Reviews

1 to 12 of 12
The Angel of Darkness
The Angel of Darkness
Author: Caleb Carr
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 300
Review Date: 4/8/2010


I read the first book, The Alienist, and enjoyed it thoroughly. Thus, when I saw there was a sequel, this book, The Angel of Darkness, I was excited to read that as well. I was not disappointed. Both books are engaging. Mr. Carr does have a talent for these early century historical, crime thriller type stories.


Bitter Grounds
Bitter Grounds
Author: Sandra Benitez
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 7/15/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I absolutely adored this book. Unfortunately, because of that, I will not be reposting it as I plan to keep it and loan it out to my daughter and girlfriends.


The Calhouns: Suzanna and Megan (Suzanna's Surrender / Megan's Mate)
Review Date: 9/8/2009
Helpful Score: 1


For anyone who enjoys Nora Roberts, this book will not disappoint.


Come Closer
Come Closer
Author: Sara Gran, Sara Gran
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 4/8/2010


A good, fast read. I loaned it to my daughter and she enjoyed it as well. If you're into this genre, I think you'll enjoy it.


Desperation
Desperation
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 570
Review Date: 5/30/2009


Vintage King. If you are a fan, you will not be disappointed. I have to admit, as a fan who will criticise when warranted, there are a few slow spots, but he delilvers in the end. I do recall that this was made into a TV movie. In fact, I pictured the actor that played one of the primary characters in the beginning of the book. Weird. Because I pictured that actor before I rememebered the TV movie and went, AH-HA, yes, THAT'S why he was in my mind!

I just read a compilation of King's short stories that came out recently, Just After Sunset, which was overall engaging. And no, I can't post it on PaperBack Swap, it is my daughter's hard cover book that I had to return. Darn.


Evil at Heart (Archie and Gretchen, Bk 3)
Evil at Heart (Archie and Gretchen, Bk 3)
Author: Chelsea Cain
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 115
Review Date: 2/27/2012


This book was "okay", but it did not live up to the potential presented with her first book, Heart Sick and the follow-up Sweetheart ...which makes me think she should leave this series and move on to something else.


Exile in Guyville: How a Punk Rock Redneck Faggot Texan Moved to West Hollywood and Refused to Be Shiny and Happy
Review Date: 2/15/2012


Absolutely loved this book; so much that I checked the internet to see if he'd written any other books, but, alas, he has not. Very funny and engaging. Finished it in about two days and was sorry to no longer be in Dave's world.


Healing Back Pain : The Mind-Body Connection
Healing Back Pain : The Mind-Body Connection
Author: John E. Sarno
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 9/8/2009


This book was recommended to me. It deals with the psychology of back pain ... in other words, it's more than a physical problem.


The Mermaid Chair
The Mermaid Chair
Author: Sue Monk Kidd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 1001
Review Date: 9/8/2009


From the author of The Secret Life of Bees". Another tale set in the south ... you will enjoy it!


Rant
Rant
Author: Chuck Palahniuk
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 112
Review Date: 2/6/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Palahniuk doesn't write for tourists. He writes for hard-core devotees drawn to the wild, angry imagination and taboo-busting humor. My first exposure was with his novel, Haunted. Then I read Choke. He is not an author that everyone would appreciate, definitely. But I would suggest that you give him a try --- I recommend starting with Haunted.


The Upstairs Room
The Upstairs Room
Author: Johanna Reiss
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 9/8/2009


This book received numerous rewards and excellent reviews. I enjoyed it, but I would make one suggestion, I believe it is a book for very young readers. The narrative and wording is simple to the extreme. I guess I expected better and more engaging prose, similar to Anne Frank's diary.


Winter Garden
Winter Garden
Author: Kristin Hannah
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 204
Review Date: 1/8/2012


Excellent book. I liked it so much that I passed it along to my daughter to read ... once she's done, I will repost it for others to enjoy.


1 to 12 of 12