Dana W. (SouthWestZippy) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 226 - Page:
23 Minutes in Hell
23 Minutes in Hell
Author: Bill Weise
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 146
Review Date: 11/6/2008
Helpful Score: 8


I read this book to see what all the fuss was about. Wrong thing to do. The set up was just wrong. Where is the background of this man to show what kind of person he was before he spent his "23 Minutes In Hell". He says he was a Christian which I don't doubt but I would have loved to read more about him and his wife before this happen.It jumps around way to much for me. A story should have a beginning, middle and end. Could not wait for this book to end. I wanted so badly for this to all make sense but I just could not.


Ada Blackjack : A True Story of Survival in the Arctic
Ada Blackjack : A True Story of Survival in the Arctic
Author: Jennifer Niven
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 8/6/2010


In 1921 the age of 23 Ada Blackjack agreed to be the seamstress on an expedition with four men to the Wrangel Island. Newly divorced and in need of money she leaves behind her young son. This book is her story, taken from her diaries and oral stories. This book is both heartbreaking and uplifting. She is a woman of character and strength.


Aimee and Jaguar: A Love Story, Berlin 1943
Aimee and Jaguar: A Love Story, Berlin 1943
Author: Erica Fischer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/8/2009
Helpful Score: 1


If their love was not forbidden enough add on that fact that Elisabeth is the mother of four and a Nazi Officers wife, Felice is young and "submarine" a underground Jew. At the age of 80 Elisabeth breaks her years of silence telling stories, sharing poems, pictures and love letters to and from each other. All from diaries/journals. This book gives you much more than a love story but also gives you a very real history lesson. If you interested in the holocaust then this is a good book. It is very open, honest and has a harsh message.

At times writing was choppy and not a smooth read. Some stories were half told and then picked up later on in the book. Would have liked for the stories to stay together.


Alanis Morissette: You oughta know
Alanis Morissette: You oughta know
Author: Paul Cantin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/16/2014


I knew very little about Alanis Morissette, just knew I liked her music, until I read this book. WOW what an impressive woman. Stories come from herself, parents, friends, managers and band members. She starts off her career as a pop princess in Canada then has some bad years and then bam, triumphant return with Jagged Little Pill. Talks about her struggles with getting her own voice, dealing with being a star and down time. Very eye opening.


Always Been There: Rosanne Cash, "The List", and the Spirit of Southern Music
Review Date: 8/16/2010


I made it to page 74. Way over my head on what was going on. Started off with a sad but good story and then lost me.


The American Cowboy: A Photographic History
The American Cowboy: A Photographic History
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/5/2017


A wonderful collection of Cowboys. I happy they keep them in black and white. I keep looking for my Grandpa, I keep thinking, one day I will find him a book.


And Never Let Her Go: Thomas Capano: The Deadly Seducer
And Never Let Her Go: Thomas Capano: The Deadly Seducer
Author: Ann Rule
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 1/28/2009


Started off a little slow but picked up and became very intense. Not a easy read due to subject but a story that needed to be told. A little heavy on details at times but Rule did a good job.


Angel Cats : Divine Messengers of Comfort
Angel Cats : Divine Messengers of Comfort
Author: Allen Anderson, Linda Anderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 4/9/2013


A collection of short stories about human and thier loving cats. Some are uplifting, some very sad. Not a easy read and if you can't handle the death of a animal then I would skip this book. I am giving it three stars because I did enjoy a few of the stores. It is to much heartache in one book to give it more stars. I would have like a few more funny or happy stories to balance the book.


Angels in Disguise
Angels in Disguise
Author: Lou Dean
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 2/9/2015


On June 22, 1993 Lou Dean has a life threatening accident and her Dog Jake become her hero angel.. After much refection on her life she decided to wright about her life growing up in Oklahoma during the 50's. The book starts off with a story about her family and her first Dog Shorty. Shorty becomes her first Angel. Over all the book is a wonderful touching story but does have a few couple stomach turning stories. Because of her smooth and straight forward story telling could be a quick read. I don't recommend this book to anyone who can't handle wrongful deaths of animals.


Angels in the Wilderness: The True Story of One Woman's Survival Against All Odds
Review Date: 4/9/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Amy Racina falls sixty feet onto solid granite while hiking solo in the California's Sierra Nevada mountains. This is a first person account of her four days and nights surviving with two shattered legs,the people who rescued her and the ones who saved her.

The story is amazing but does get lost among her personal philosophies that she repeats every other page. Not a well written book either it lacks closer on those who helped her and way to many details. I still gave it four stars because it is a quick read and is a good guide for what not to do and to do for hikers.


Angel's Rest
Angel's Rest
Author: Charles Davis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 9/7/2012


I could not put this book down. Set in the late 1960's in the Virginia's Allegheny Mountains at the foot of an endless peak called Angel's Rest. Charlie York age eleven lives with his Mom and Dad until one day his life takes a ugly turn by the death of his Father. His Mother is put on trial and he is put into the care of Lacy Coe.
Charles Davis pulls you in on the first page and does not let you go until the last page. Story telling is simple and story captivating. Highly recommend.


As Nature Made Him : The Boy Who Was Raised as a Girl
As Nature Made Him : The Boy Who Was Raised as a Girl
Author: John Colapinto
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 7/24/2009


This is about a healthy baby born a boy. On the morning of April 27, 1966 a circumcision goes horribly wrong. Adults and Doctors make a decision to change the boy into a girl. This book is both fascinating and heartbreaking.


The Autobiography of Donovan : The Hurdy Gurdy Man
The Autobiography of Donovan : The Hurdy Gurdy Man
Author: Donovan Leitch
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/3/2013


Donovan Leitch was born in 1946 and at the age of sixteen he ran away from home to follow his dream of being a musician. He made memorable music but the book lacked something. Very dry matter of fact story telling. I also felt like he skip parts of his life which left me wondering what the rest of the story and why. I just could not get into this book at all.


The Baby Thief: The Untold Story of Georgia Tann, the Baby Seller Who Corrupted Adoption
Review Date: 9/7/2012


Four thirty years Georgia Tann used her dominating personalty to corrupt the already horrific adoption practice even further. Using her Children's home in Memphis, Tennessee she was able to profit off the poor and uneducated by stealing thier children and selling them to the rich.

The story is heartbreaking and disturbing. The book is not the best written book but it does hold your attention.


Babyface Killers
Babyface Killers
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/15/2015


Clifford L.Linedecker puts together a collection of children that have killed. The book was published in 1999 and sad but true lots more killings have happen. Linedecker is a great job researching and giving a unbiased real look at the crimes.


Backstage with the Original Hollywood Square
Review Date: 4/2/2013


I don't like tell all or gossip books about celebrities. Peter Marshall does a wonderful job and not taking things to far when talking about all of the celebrities he worked with on the popular game show Hollywood Squares. I found his stories to be interesting and funny. I enjoyed all the great pictures throughout the whole book, that was a nice touch and help me put a face to the name. Hollywood squares debuted in 1966 and lasted until 1980. That is a lot of memories.


Bad Cat: 244 Not-So-Pretty Kitties and Cats Gone Bad
Bad Cat: 244 Not-So-Pretty Kitties and Cats Gone Bad
Author: Jim Edgar
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 242
Review Date: 5/29/2009


Has some very funny pictures and captions. Has a few stupid ones as well. WELL worth the read.


Bad Dogs Have More Fun
Bad Dogs Have More Fun
Author: John Grogan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 9/7/2012


Collection of short stories from his newspaper articles. Some are good and some not. It is not about dogs but it does have a few new stories about Marley and about what happen after the book came out. It is about what the title has in it family, animals and life. Not a great book, just ok.


The Bear's Embrace: A Story of Survival
The Bear's Embrace: A Story of Survival
Author: Patricia Van Tighem
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/23/2009


It is amazing Patricia and her husband Trevor survived the bear attack. She is both strong and weak in her survival and dealing with the aftermath. With the way she has written this book you can feel the raw emotion of heartache and strength.
This is not a quick read due to the subject but a quick read because you just don't want to put it down. I highly recommend this tear-jerker.


Behind the Mask: A True Story of Obsession and a Savage Genius
Behind the Mask: A True Story of Obsession and a Savage Genius
Author: Stella Sands
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 2/11/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This book has some flaws. It was not a double murder. The Murders happen years apart not at the same time. The book is 90% trial. Has a little background information here and there about the victims and the killer but no real in-deep look of their history. It is a quick and smooth read and held my interest that is why it gets three stars.


1 to 20 of 226 - Page: