Facebook

Dana W. (SouthWestZippy) - , - Reviews

21 to 40 of 252 - Page:
The Bear's Embrace: A Story of Survival
The Bear's Embrace: A Story of Survival
Author: Patricia Van Tighem
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/23/2009


It is amazing Patricia and her husband Trevor survived the bear attack. She is both strong and weak in her survival and dealing with the aftermath. With the way she has written this book you can feel the raw emotion of heartache and strength.
This is not a quick read due to the subject but a quick read because you just don't want to put it down. I highly recommend this tear-jerker.


Behind the Mask: A True Story of Obsession and a Savage Genius
Behind the Mask: A True Story of Obsession and a Savage Genius
Author: Stella Sands
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 2/11/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This book has some flaws. It was not a double murder. The Murders happen years apart not at the same time. The book is 90% trial. Has a little background information here and there about the victims and the killer but no real in-deep look of their history. It is a quick and smooth read and held my interest that is why it gets three stars.


The Best Seat in the House: How I Woke Up One Tuesday and Was Paralyzed for Life
Review Date: 4/3/2013


Allen Rucker does not hold back on what is like to wake up paralyzed. He contracted myelitis and his world was just about turned upside down. He shares what its like to make a living and get around with his wheelchair. Very open and at times too honest in his feelings and making peace with his new beginning.


Better Read Than Dead (Psychic Eye, Bk 2)
Better Read Than Dead (Psychic Eye, Bk 2)
Author: Victoria Laurie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 422
Review Date: 12/27/2010


Not as good as the first book of this series. Story line is interesting and did keep me guessing. Abby was a bit over the top and scatterbrained on how to deal with things which I did not like.


Beyond Tuesday Morning (9/11, Bk 2)
Beyond Tuesday Morning (9/11, Bk 2)
Author: Karen Kingsbury
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 222
Review Date: 3/8/2009


Beautifully written.This is the continuing story of One Tuesday Morning. WOW. I am giving this one 5 stars but truth be known I liked this one less then One Tuesday Morning. I felt the story was pushing a little to hard and some of characters were a little flat. I felt Kingsbury did a good job of telling a fiction story about a horrific time in all of our lives.


Beyond Uhura: Star Trek and Other Memories
Beyond Uhura: Star Trek and Other Memories
Author: Nichelle Nichols
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 1/16/2014


Nichelle Nichols is very open and honest about how she grew up, knew what she wanted and went after it. She is known for her role as Uhura on Star Trek but is so much more she is also a Singer, Dancer, educator, activist, futurist, friend and Mother.
The book at times does lose focus and becomes confusing but overall a four star book.


A Big Little Life : A Memoir of a Joyful Dog
A Big Little Life : A Memoir of a Joyful Dog
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 89
Review Date: 7/19/2017


Was not expecting and Memoir about Dean and wife was expecting it to be about Trixie. Now don't get me wrong, Trixie does get talked about just not as much as the Author talks about, well, lots of stuff. Oh well, it was a book to read while passing the time in the Hospice waiting room.
Not my type of book.


The Big Tiny: A Built-It-Myself Memoir
The Big Tiny: A Built-It-Myself Memoir
Author: Dee Williams
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 10/20/2018


I was not sure what to expect from this book but was a little disappointed with it. Dee Williams starts off with her life before she jumped in and built herself a Tiny House which is about half the book. Then she gives a peek into the build and how she must adjust to her new way of life. Not a whole lot of detail on the house building so if you are looking for that type of book you might want to skip this book, it is mostly a Memoir. Not a smooth read but fascinating story.


Bike Lust:  Harleys, Women, and American Society
Bike Lust: Harleys, Women, and American Society
Author: Barbara Joans
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/9/2015


Taken from the back of the book. "Bike Lust roars straight into the world of women bikers and offers us a ride." Yes it does and then some. The Author started off as a passenger but it did not take her long for her to learn to ride on her own. She tells stories about her fears, travels and the people she meets while learning about the new world of bikers. Overall a very book book but did tend to repeat herself on views and some stories left me wanting closer.


Black Cat Crossing (Bad Luck Cat, Bk 1)
Black Cat Crossing (Bad Luck Cat, Bk 1)
Author: Kay Finch
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 3/17/2020


Synopsis taken from the back of the book. "In the first in this cat-filled cozy series, aspiring mystery author Sabrina Tate is about to discover that when it comes to solving murders, her new feline friend Hitchcock is a master of sleuthingâ¦
"Sabrina has never been the superstitious type. Still, when she moves to Lavender, Texas, to write her first novel and help her Aunt Rowe manage her vacation rental business, Sabrina can't avoid listening to the rumors that a local black cat is a jinxâespecially after the stray in question leads her directly to the scene of a murder."
I have a like/dislike thing with Sabrina. She comes across as annoying and runs around with no clue on how to interact with people in most of the book. However, she is no quitter in trying to solve what happened to her cousin Bobby Joe Flowers who was found dead in a river. Sabrina's Aunt Rowe becomes the prime suspect because of the huge argument Bobby and her had the day before. The cat, Hitchcock, is the star of the book and he is just being a cat. The story line is good and moves along but at times it is boring. I am still giving it 4 stars because it did keep me guessing and was not over the top graphic with the murder scene.


The Black Cat Knocks on Wood (Bad Luck Cat, Bk 2)
The Black Cat Knocks on Wood (Bad Luck Cat, Bk 2)
Author: Kay Finch
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 5/8/2020


A lot going on in this book. Sabrina is trying to write her second novel. Some of her friends want to compete in the upcoming Texas Hill Country Senior Pro Rodeo. Her new cat, Hitchcock, seems to be in places he should not be which gets him the nickname Bad Luck Cat. A local business owner is found dead. Sabrina finds herself helping solve yet another mystery on what happened to the dead business owner. The characters are little more rounded in this book and Sabrina has calmed down her approach with people but has not lost her sass and wit. I must say I did not have this one solved until it unfolded, I did have my suspicions on why it happened, which I was right, but was not sure who. Still a fun series.


Black Star, Bright Dawn
Black Star, Bright Dawn
Author: Scott O'Dell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 8/11/2015


Bright Dawn finds herself taking her Father place in the the Iditarod along with her dog Black Star. Great adventure story.


Blood Relations
Blood Relations
Author: Lonna Enox
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/19/2017


Sorrel Janes heads out for a week long birding festival at a wildlife refuge, where she hopes to take lots of pictures to sell at her gift shop and to meet up with an old friend. Instead, she finds herself in the middle of a murder scene with leads to a mystery, terror and a life altering discovery. Her boyfriend, Detective Chris Reed, joins her into trying to figure out what is going on. They find themselves going to Branson, Missouri with the clues found in New Mexico. WOW, nonstop mystery. Great story line with nice twist and turns. Keep me guessing on what going to happen next and who is the good/bad guy. Great squeal to The Last Dance. I do hope she keeps this series going.


Blood Rites (Dresden Files, Bk 6)
Blood Rites (Dresden Files, Bk 6)
Author: Jim Butcher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 498
Review Date: 5/5/2015


After a daring rescue of puppies chicago's only professional wizard Harry Dresden finds himself undercover in the adult film industry with Thomas, a self absorbed vampire acquaintance. The Women are dying but the film's producer thinks it is him that they are after. If that was not enough adventure Harry finds himself trying to figure out a bizarre mystery about Thomas and his vampire family. Action packed book but so easy to follow story line. This is my favorite book in the series, so far.


Body Count
Body Count
Author: Burl Barer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 3/13/2009


Very interesting story but I did not care for the way it was presented. Some parts were a little long winded and others were to short. I did read some things about the Spokane serial killer that I had not read in other books so this made it worth reading.
I just like my books to have a beginning, middle and end and this was not presented in that way.


Bold Spirit: Helga Estby's Forgotten Walk Across Victorian America
Review Date: 3/14/2014


In 1896 Helga Estby along with her Eldest daughter Clara walked 3500 miles across the American continent in order to win a $10,000 wager provided by a mysterious sponsor. Great story! Has you cheering them on but it also leaves you speechless at times on of how people can be so cruel. Not the best writing, it is choppy and dry. Author also leaves you hanging here and there but overall the story is so worth the read.


The Bone Garden
The Bone Garden
Author: William P. Wood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 4/9/2013


What a horrible crime. Dorothea Puente was suppose to be a caretaker for the elderly but instead murdered them for thier money. William Wood is the Deputy D.A. who prosecuted Puente for drugging and robbing elderly people in earlier time and case.
Way to many details in case and not enough details on some of the victims background.


The Boy in the Box: The Unsolved Case of America's Unknown Child
The Boy in the Box: The Unsolved Case of America's Unknown Child
Author: David Stout
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 5/17/2011


On February 25, 1957 a young boy was found in a cardboard box. Despite the efforts of detectives remains unsolved. In November 1998 the remains were exhumed for DNA testing. In June of 2002 a woman comes forward with a compelling and heartbreaking story. Leaving you with so many unanswerable questions.
The book does tend to jump around a bit and Author does a lot of speculation on the subject but does draw you in and keep you reading.


Boy: Tales of Childhood
Boy: Tales of Childhood
Author: Roald Dahl, Quentin Blake (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 9/20/2010


Boy: Tales of Childhood by Roald Dahl

Good young adult book. A collection of short stories about Roald Dahl's younger years. Some are very funny and others will make your heart ache. Very quick read.


The Boys of the Dark: A Story of Betrayal and Redemption in the Deep South
Review Date: 3/19/2015


In 2006 the death of a 14-year-old boy in a Florida youth boot camp forced Robert W. Straley to confront emotions and memories he had bottled up for decades. Robert W. Straley then contacted Michael O'McCarthy, a fellow victim of the school and they went on to expose the truth about the schools guards and administrators on how they acted as their jailers and tormentors. After fifty years Michael O'McCarthy and Robert W. Straley no longer held their secrets about what all happened to them and others at the Florida School for Boys in Marianna.
The book gives an eye opening and scary picture about the horrific things that went on at the school without going overboard with graphic details.


21 to 40 of 252 - Page: