Facebook

Jessica K. (jckibling) - Reviews

1 to 9 of 9
Beguiled
Beguiled
Author: J. Mark Bertrand, Deeanne Gist
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 6/22/2010
Helpful Score: 3


Excellent collaborative novel! The other reviewers are right when they say this is not Deeanne Gist's typical writing style, however, her wonderful abilities to craft a realistic romantic story and to make you feel like you are standing there seeing what the characters are seeing coming shining through. If this is any indication of J Bertrand's work, he has a talent for crafting a well-thought out mystery with plenty of intrigue, twist and suspense.

Together, they did a great job on Beguiled. I have read some collaborative projects where you could tell who wrote which parts, but this book was seamless in its flow. A great read!


Behind Closed Doors
Behind Closed Doors
Author: B. A. Paris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 86
Review Date: 11/27/2017


This twisted tale of a marriage gone wrong is brilliantly written, but very disturbing. I read it in three days because I had to know what happened, and then I had trouble going to sleep.

The character development of Jack, the antagonist, is fantastic. I've never hated a character more. Grace was frequently frustrating, but you had to root for her and her sister. I enjoyed Millie's and that she was pivotal to the story

I wasn't sure about the chapters switching between the past and the present, but as the story progessed, the time frames became closer and linked up better. I would definitely read more from this author!


Freefall
Freefall
Author: Kristen Heitzmann
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 137
Review Date: 7/13/2010
Helpful Score: 1


A good story with lots of intrigue. The author does an excellent job of making the characters, especially Gentry and Kai, "real." Their emotions are vivid and you can feel them through the story- everything from joy to rage, fear, desire and sorrow. There is also a great cast of supporting characters- Nica, TJ, Rob, Allegra and Okelani. However, sometimes it seemed that the author got to wrapped up in telling their side stories.

While I enjoyed the book, it was far too long. It could have easily been edited down to 2/3 of its size or split into multiple books. But it is good one to take on a trip and not have to worry about packing an extra book.


Front Porch Princess (Pritchett, Bk 1)
Front Porch Princess (Pritchett, Bk 1)
Author: Kathryn Springer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 12/29/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Great book! Elise Penny always thought she was too big for a small town, but one summer changes everything. She is nominated for the "Proverbs 31" pagent, learns that dreams change over time, and grows in the Lord. This book weaves God's love into the story so gracefully-it is not preachy or awkward at all. It is a great story of trusting in God and being content. I could relate to Elise and learned a few things about myself along the way. I can't wait to read the next book in the series!


Petticoat Ranch (Lassoed in Texas, Bk 1)
Petticoat Ranch (Lassoed in Texas, Bk 1)
Author: Mary Connealy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 94
Review Date: 1/2/2010
Helpful Score: 2


Good book, easy read. Sophie is a great character- a strong, smart woman- who has raised four girls on her own. I just wish that her strength had not been marginalized by the repeated message to "obey." While wives are supposed to obey their husbands, there is nothing wrong with husbands and wives having mutual respect for one another and working together. Sophie and Clay working together would have made this story, and their marriage, even stronger.


Super Sad True Love Story: A Novel
Super Sad True Love Story: A Novel
Author: Gary Shteyngart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 7/14/2014
Helpful Score: 1


A self-absorbed older man becomes obsessed with a young, self-absorbed woman in this futuristic novel. I don't recommend it if you are looking for a love story. I stuck with it thinking that it would get better, but it never did. Highly disappointing for a book I selected from a "100 books you must read" list.


Taming Rafe (Noble Legacy, Bk 2)
Taming Rafe (Noble Legacy, Bk 2)
Author: Susan May Warren
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 6/22/2010


I can't believe there are not any reviews for Taming Rafe! This is a great read. Make sure to read the first book in the series- Reclaiming Nick- before you dive into this one. I love the family SMW created for this series- they are very real. And if you love the idea of being swept off of your feet by a cowboy, Rafe definitely does the trick. :)


Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail
Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail
Author: Cheryl Strayed
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 3/4/2015


Aside from the fact that this belongs in the fiction rather than non-fiction section, I only recommend reading it if you are looking for insight into the mind of a complete narcissist.

After losing her mother, the author loses her mind and cheats on her husband, uses drugs, gets pregnant, gets an abortion, murders a horse, eats cremated remains, and goes on hiking/hitchhiking adventure that she is extremely unprepared for.


The Witness
The Witness
Author: Dee Henderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 219
Review Date: 5/27/2010


Another excellent book from Henderson. The Witness is packed with intrigue, suspense and a dash of romance. A story with so many twist and turns, I couldn't wait to find out what happened next.


1 to 9 of 9