Rhonda (pinkcypress) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 87 - Page:
The Adoration of Jenna Fox (Jenna Fox Chronicles, Bk 1)
The Adoration of Jenna Fox (Jenna Fox Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Mary E. Pearson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 8/20/2009
Helpful Score: 1


"How far would you go to save someone you love?"

As a teen novel, this book works on many levels. There's the usual teen angst (trying to fit in, self-discovery, dealing with parents, falling in love). But there's also deeper levels here - what it means to be a human, what is a soul, what is the mind.

Jenna Fox is a 17 year old girl who wakes from a year+ long coma and finds herself in a world that is foreign to her. As her memory slowly returns, and as she begins to uncover some secrets her parents are keeping, she finds that she has found more questions than answers.

Can Jenna accept that sometimes there aren't answers at all?


All Creatures Great and Small (All Creatures, Bk 1)
All Creatures Great and Small (All Creatures, Bk 1)
Author: James Herriot
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 9/11/2006


I love Herriot's novels. They are funny, warm, and totally entertaining.


All Things Bright and Beautiful
All Things Bright and Beautiful
Author: James Herriot
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 9/11/2006


As always, Herriot writes a funny and touching book.


Awaken Me Darkly (Alien Huntress, Bk 1)
Awaken Me Darkly (Alien Huntress, Bk 1)
Author: Gena Showalter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 199
Review Date: 7/31/2009


I've read Blacklisted and Red-handed, the two YA books in the series and liked them, so I went back to read this first book - and I loved it! I love the main character, Mia, who epitomizes the tough female, and later discovers her very feminine aspects as well.

Can't wait for the next one!!


Baal
Baal
Author: Robert McCammon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 7/31/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Great horror fiction!


Back to School Murder (Lucy Stone, Bk 4)
Back to School Murder (Lucy Stone, Bk 4)
Author: Leslie Meier
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 89
Review Date: 10/18/2006
Helpful Score: 1


4th book in Lucy Stone Mystery series


Better Read Than Dead (Psychic Eye, Bk 2)
Better Read Than Dead (Psychic Eye, Bk 2)
Author: Victoria Laurie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 420
Review Date: 2/18/2007
Helpful Score: 1


2nd book in the Psychic Eye series - and I LOVE this series!!! This book is just as good as the first and I can't wait to get to the next one!!


Beyond Jennifer & Jason, Madison & Montana
Beyond Jennifer & Jason, Madison & Montana
Author: Linda Rosenkrantz, Pamela Redmond Satran
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 8/17/2006


Great book of baby names! Encourages parents to be to look beyond the top 10 baby names for their child.


Blue Moon (Immortals, Bk 2)
Blue Moon (Immortals, Bk 2)
Author: Alyson Noel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 295
Review Date: 8/12/2009
Helpful Score: 6


I hate to say, but I didn't like this book. The first one (Evermore: The Immortals by Alyson Noel) showed a lot of promise. It was a great concept (combining immortality and reincarnation), and introduced some solid teen issues for the characters to deal with.

This one, however, was just confusing and rushed. It could have been an excellent book - I enjoy Ms. Noel's writing style and I like the characters - but sadly this one falls short.


The Book Thief
The Book Thief
Author: Markus Zusak
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 301
Review Date: 5/19/2007
Helpful Score: 10


This is one of the best books I've read in a very long time. Don't let the "Young Adult" genre categorization fool you - this is most definitely a book for all adults. It's beautifully written and will stay with you long after you finish.


The Clock Winder
The Clock Winder
Author: Anne Tyler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 7/31/2006


Love Anne Tyler, all her books give the reader such great insight into her characters.


Dance of the Gods (Circle, Bk 2)
Dance of the Gods (Circle, Bk 2)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 1072
Review Date: 12/25/2006


Loved this book! 2nd in the Circle Trilogy.


Dark Lover (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Bk 1)
Dark Lover (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Bk 1)
Author: J. R. Ward
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1422
Review Date: 8/12/2009
Helpful Score: 1


needed to read, I bought them new just so that I could read the next book in this series?!

Loved it!!!! Love Beth and Wrath. Love the concept. And I can't wait to read more about this world they live in.

This is one of the best vampire books written. It took a while to start this series, and I'm kicking myself about it - seriously!

Lots of romance, intrigue, and excitement. I give this one a 4 1/2!!! Can't wait to get really into the next one :)


Day After Night
Day After Night
Author: Anita Diamant
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 4/17/2010
Helpful Score: 4


I was disappointed in this book. I thought the premise was fascinating - Jews who were being detained after WWII by the British as they made their way to Israel. There was so much I didn't know about this period of time, and after reading this book I still don't! I think this book could have been much more in-depth, both in the history and in the characters. The characters were almost two-dimensional - I didn't feel connected to any of them - the backgrounds were only a few pages long and scattered around the book. Unlike The Red Tent, which was outstanding, this book just didn't do justice to the story.


Deeply, Desperately (Lucy Valentine, Bk 2)
Deeply, Desperately (Lucy Valentine, Bk 2)
Author: Heather Webber
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 133
Review Date: 7/29/2010
Helpful Score: 7


This book was an absolute joy to read! I was beyond excited after I finished the first one (Truly, Madly) and couldnt stop gushing about it. So of course Ive been just dying to get my hands on this one and YAY!!! I got an ARC from Heather (thank you thank you thank you!!) and within a day of getting it, I was devouring it.

And its terrific!! Lucy has two main cases in this book finding the lost love of one client through her company, and helping the police find the body of a missing woman. On top of that, Seans ex-fiancee makes an appearance, and Lucy and Marisol try to help Em and her love life.

I have to admit that there were times I had tears in my eyes while reading this and other times when I laughed out loud. Now, how many books can you say that about? Not to mention that I just hated to get to the end of the book and say goodbye to Lucy, Sean, and all the rest of the family and friends. So the countdown has begun the next book in this series is Absolutely, Positively and has a February 2011 publishing date! I cant wait!!!


The Deerslayer
The Deerslayer
Author: James Fenimore Cooper
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 8/1/2006


"This book is the last of the Leatherstocking books, though first in the chronology of the hero's life. The Deerslayer is Cooper's masterpiece."


Distant Blood (Jordan Poteet, Bk 4)
Distant Blood (Jordan Poteet, Bk 4)
Author: Jeff Abbott
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 8/6/2006


The fourth book in the Jordan Poteet mystery series.


Do Unto Others (Jordan Poteet, Bk 1)
Do Unto Others (Jordan Poteet, Bk 1)
Author: Jeff Abbott
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 8/6/2006


An Agatha Award Winner. The first book in the Jordan Poteet mystery series.


The Door to December
The Door to December
Author: Richard Paige
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 8/1/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Although listed as written by Richard Paige, this is actually written by Dean Koontz, and this edition is the original publication. He later revised it and it was published under his own name.


The Eight (Montglane Service, Bk 1)
The Eight (Montglane Service, Bk 1)
Author: Katherine Neville
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 229
Review Date: 7/31/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Thoroughly fascinating! This is a great suspense book, and brings something fresh to the genre. Highly recommend this book.


1 to 20 of 87 - Page: